We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality food in a great location”
Review of Mecca Bah - CLOSED

Mecca Bah
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good quality food in a great location”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This restaurant is situated on the marina at Trinity Inlet. It has a good menu of turkish cuisine at very reasonable prices. The staff are always friendly and the food is of good quality. It has normal seating or private booths. Highly recommend the tagine lamb dish. Given the location the food prices are great value.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    32
    24
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed the food here at lunch. It was presented with rich aromas and intense colours. Great! Value is not too bad given it has marina views. Not as atmospheric as when I have been for dinner and sat in a private booth with organza curtains. At lunch it was kind of bare. Hopefully that was a one off. Music was atmospheric though some points there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Funkychick145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely evening all round.”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

From the moment we walked in it was great! The tagine lamb and lemon was superb! The dessert to die for. The service quick and personal. The price - great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyclonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Location; mediocre food.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was hoping for good middle eastern food but what we got was pretty boring and uninspired. The kabob comes on a suspended skewer that is very hot and makes it very difficult to get the meat off without burning fingers. I did burn myself and when i asked for ice the server completely ignored the problem. I thought that was really strange. The real issue was that the food was just mediocre. Not bad but unmemorable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank camillekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A delicious surprise”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Unexpectedly different! We both went for tangine dishes - one vegetarian & one lamb. We thoroughly enjoyed the complex and complementary flavours.& textures. The service was excellent and the waterfront location was stunning. We'll be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tropicaltraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mecca Bah also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing