We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cairns
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Sunlover Reef Cruises
from $160.03
More Info
from $375.45
More Info
from $56.76
More Info
Reviews (744)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveler rating
433
179
63
30
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
433
179
63
30
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marine biologist fitzroy island glass bottom boat fish buffet lunch guided snorkel tour sea walk prawns sick bags sea sickness helicopter ride semi sub helmet dive chinese tourists snorkelling area submersible boat reef cruises
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 744 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing day on the barrier reef. It was a little hectic upon arrival with everyone crowding to get their gear and begin snorkeling. With so many people I think the fish scattered, as few to see. Nice having a cover on the platform to stay out of the sun and escape the humidity. Fun day on the reef.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Connie525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

It was a smooth transfer. The ferry has plenty of seats for everyone, they also sell drinks and some snacks. We were drop at fitzroy Island and then pick up on time at the same spot. I thought the ferry is bit pricey, but all ferries have about the same price, so not much to about it. I was there is high season and was lucky to get a spot the night before but I suggested you book ahead of time. Everyone at the boat were super friendly.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Adriana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

This was an unbelievable experience. All the staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The equipment was free and in great condition! The boat and pontoon were large and comfortable. There was a lot of room for snorkelling on the reef and so much to see.
The only down side was the price of the professional photos these were for expensive! $50 for the first 2 photos. They were nice so we still purchased them could be made for affordable after the initial cost for the tour.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 92Samantha3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

We rang to check on weather before leaving home and the tourist reservation clerk at Hides in Cairns told me they had been having great weather there and assured me the best idea was to book and not miss out we later found out it had been rough for days many seasick she advised us to be picked up the 2nd day of our 3 day stay on Fitzroy reef to go out to the outer reef a trip that was to be a special birthday surprize turned out to be a disaster no viewing coral from the sub or glass bottom boats $280 per ticket wasted the lunch was adequate but loads of people scrambling pushing and shoving couldnt even get flippers on or a mask and snorkel before being washed of the platform far to many desparate people mainly from Japan and China and Malaysia <no predijuce> trying to see something in rough and choppy conditions when you dont get a break from the farm with the droughts this was a very big let down if the woman who booked us was honest it would of been better we could of gone another time so prebooking you may miss out if you dont book now a word of warning wait till you get local and ask the question when you are on the spot moneyI couldnt afford to waste I wanted to show my birthday friend the coral !

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Keryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

All day tour to Great Barrier Reef. Left in morning for 1:45 trip to platform on reef. Rough ride once in open ocean with nearly half the boat being seasick. Once at platform there were activities such as snorkeling, diving boat tours. We did semi sub tour which was ok with views of reef and fish but glass was dirty so everything looked green not the vibrant colours the coral and fish really are. Buffet lunch was served and was fine. Snorkeling was great with a large roped off area to explore. Hundreds of fish and corals to see.
Trip back was not as rough as trip out but again many were sick.
Was ok if you like water sports but I would recommend a short 1/2 day excursion to Green or Frazier islands. Nearly 4 hours of boat trips was quite long.

Thank NorthernguyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews