We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian. Really great!”
Review of Bellocale

Bellocale
Ranked #76 of 606 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian. Really great!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I went here a while ago with a Sydney friend who used to work in Italy who was very skeptical of dining in an Italian restaurant in Cairns... She was blown away. The food was absolutely sensational and although I went with a steak, it was cooked to perfection and the sauce and accompaniments (along with succulent mash beneath) matched beautifully and my friend had the seafood pasta and left nothing on the plate. The wines were a bit hard on the hip pocket but magnificent. The service was very cordial but efficient. The best Italian I have had in Cairns.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kojak_CNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    55
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Finally we have tried Bellocale. Sorry we waited so long. We have walked past many times, and checked out the menu, but the price for "Italian" was just a bit much, and we were reluctant to get stung with high price for not so great food. But everything was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the antipasto which we shared, then a main of Coral Trout, and one Seafood pasta, followed by a delicious Tiramisu, and choc moose. The espresso coffee we finished with, was short strong and delicious. The staff were just lovely, and helpful. The atmosphere was simple and easy. So all in all a great place to eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aussienomadAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very high quality restaurant”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

An excellent restaurant. Food very high standard. Effortless, attentive service, and a good wine list. An attractive space, with options to eat either within the restaurant or on the pavement immediately outside (it is a quiet tree-lined street).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Molto benne”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Was looking for a great pasta/Italian restaurant in Cairns and found it.

A nice walk up from the Esplanade in a very nicely decorated restaurant.

I had a super lasagna and my wife had pasta with prawns (forgot the name on the menu). We were oth very satisfied with our meals. We skipped on the bread and some other extras with only a Verde salad on the side so we could enjoy some gelato after dinner.

The service was good and prompt. We arrived a little early (7-ish) and missed out on the busy time which was great as we were hungry and our meals arrived quite quickly.

Would go again if had more time this trip or next time in Cairns.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal in Cairns.”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Definately our best meal in Cairns.One of the things we loved was they cooked a special meal for our daughter,no unhealthy kids menu,the food for us was the food for our daughter.We had three courses and every one was great.My calamari was the best I have ever had.We only wish we had found this restaurant ealier.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Safetysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellocale also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Bellocale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing