We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise”
other travelers have booked this property
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Master Bedroom with Balcony Award winning salt water infinity pool by night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Master Bedroom with Balcony
Award winning salt water infinity pool by night
Master bedroom
Luxury spa bath
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Freshwater swimming a short walk from the front door
Beautiful walking trails abound
Barbecue
Pool area
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Bedroom with Queen Size bed
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Living room with Asian fusion design furnitures.
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Master Bedroom with 2 single beds.
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Cairns, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Leanne117...
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what it seems!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Booked this for a weeks stay in beginning of Jan 16, very disappointed certainly in my opinion not 5 star accommodation, we arrived at the house at 3pm it was still being cleaned had to wait outside for an hour, the lady showed us around told us the 2 inside door blinds were broken, the air con was not working properly (38 degree heat), the sink was blocked in the one bathroom, the kitchen was old needs updating and the oven was black had to clean it ourselves as smoke came out the oven when we tried to cook a pizza on our first night, and also there was a curfew at 10pm and you couldn't go out on the balcony after this time as the neighbours complain, was told this on arrival not at booking stage. Also the next morning the so called infinity pool was half empty and the surrounding patio was dirty needed a jet wash and spider webs covering the pool entrance. Only stayed the one night, left and found alternative accommodation in Palm Cove which was only 4 star accommodation half the price of this and much better and cleaner. I told the lady the following morning we were leaving as not happy with accommodation and she said the owner Brett would call me but still waiting for the call. No refund given, Not good service at all. Maybe this property was 5 star accommodation 10 years ago but not now and certainly needs an upgrade.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2016
Dear Leane,

Thank you for your review.

It was certainly a shock to receive your review. For anyone that has stayed in the last few months, you will see that your review is in contrast to every review we have received.

Interestingly, we received a five-star ranking from the visitors that checked out the day you checked in (it was our 50th 5 star ranking) they wrote a review titled

"Paradise- and that They would return in a heartbeat"...

They did report a fault on the air-conditioning and we arranged to have that repaired immediately. The repair people visited and inspected the unit and came back to repair the problem.

Regarding the quality of the house, we have recently completed an upgrade to the furnishings as follows: three brand new leather lounges two x2 seater, 1 x 7 seater, new dishwasher, new washing machine, new pool pump, filter, heater, TV, Apple computer and Apple TV. We have spent over $50,000. And are at a loss to understand what appliance needs upgrading as they are nearly all new or near new!

I am sorry that you could not check in at 3 pm. We had guests that just checked out and as you would have noticed in your check in information the time is it 4pm. We do this so we can properly prepare the property. We find it curious that you chose to complain about as you advised, well before you arrived about the check in time.

Bet our manager was cleaning when you arrived and politely advised you that you were welcome to leave your bags inside, and it would be best to come back after the cleaning was completed in one more hour.

On every turn around we conduct a maintenance check and read the previous guest reports. What your review did not mention is Bet advised you that the previous guests who checked out just hours before, had reported a problem with the air conditioning, and we had arranged for that to be repaired immediately. The same applied to the oven and the pool. It is most unusual to have three problems at once but none the less Bet organized immediately, without delay, for all three problems to be rectified. They were all fixed promptly, again the terms and conditions mention the requirement with appliance breakdowns and we fully abide by those conditions; they were repaired promptly.

Regarding the spider webs, Wanggulay is located in a tropical rainforest environment, and you have visited in the wet season. We clean all pathways and pool areas however spiders can build the web in the afternoon. I am sorry that you found that disruptive, other guests marvel at the wildlife around Wanggulay. Had you stayed longer than you would have seen Ulysses butterflies, cockatoos, and even the odd Goanna climbing a tree.

In respect to the refund, as we explained, we had arranged for the prompt repair of all items, we are happy to report that they were immediately repaired, and we were disappointed that you chose to check out without notice. I do find it curious that you have mentioned that Brett did not call. Bet is the manager and explained all the matters to you. Perhaps you were disappointed that we would not offer you a full refund, even though there were no grounds to ask for one and we fully complied with the terms and conditions agreed.

The terms and conditions do state that we live in a quiet community in the Rainforest and by the body corporate rules residents must maintain a quiet environment after 10 pm. Again we are at a loss to understand why you chose to stay if this was a problem for your group.

In summary, we pride ourselves on dealing with all problems promptly, keeping Wanggulay in five-star condition for guests.

Finally, we would be delighted to welcome you back for a complimentary stay, and hope you may see Wanggulay as those of our 50+ five-star reviewers have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
momof3inr...
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed January 22, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were traveling with a group of extended family and the spacious house worked very well for our group. Absolutely lovely house with a lovely outdoor living area. We had a lot of rain during our visit so we were happy to have a large house to hang out with family and play games. Wifi was great and they even have a computer for guests to use. It's only about 20 min to get into Cairns and like 5 min away from Kuranda Rail station. Just a 1/2 mile from the house is a trail head to Stoney Creek which was a lovely walk. The only problem we had was the A/C had problems in the main living area the last couple days. Bedrooms were fine though. Would stay again in a heartbeat!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2016
Thanks, Momo

It was wonderful having you stay at Wanggulay. Our desktop Apple computer has been quite a hit, along with the Netflix and over 50 movies and television series from Apple TV, it's the perfect rainy day wind down after a swim at our local waterfall!

Many guests love that we are so well located, our favourite French Cafe is right beside the Railways station five mins one-way from Wanggulay, five mins the other way we have Skyrail, Tjapukai Cultural park, Cable ski, and the museum!

we look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trac0
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wanggulay, its Balinese for "Heaven"”
Reviewed December 22, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

When you are stressed at work and you drift away daydreaming about a holiday, Wanggulay is probably the imagine you have in your head. The accommodation is picturesque. Sitting nicely within the rain forest canopy. Its like a giant tree house for adults, with all the modern luxuries you would expect from a 5 star resort. Wanggulay is a fantastic place for a family holiday as everything you want for yourself and the kids can be found at the accommodation and its all free!
Brett and Bet and their team have great customer services skills. Any issues are resolved immediately and follow-up the next day to ensure continuity.
My only complaint is that we couldn't stay for longer as my family could have easily stayed another week there.
We will definitely be back here next time we are in Cairns.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2016
Thank you!

One or our guests referred to Wanggulay as
Heaven on a stick!
thanks for the comments that we have "all the modern luxuries you would expect from a 5-star resort." We modelled ourselves on the beautiful Four Season Resorts of Bali and hence the name and the Asian fusion theme throughout, including the infinity edge pool!
We take pride in immediately following up. We have been welcoming guests to our luxury retreats for 14 years, so we know what makes that stay so special!
We look forward to welcoming you back
all the best
Belinda Bet and Brett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackiieta...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful house, fabulous area.”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in Wanggulay Bali for a week in August. It was wonderful. We were a family of 10, with children ranging from 10 up to teenagers, 5 of us are adults. The house did not at any time feel cramped or overcrowded. It is beautifully decorated and very clean. We really enjoyed the spa pool and deck area and it was lovely to be able to sit together as a family and eat outside. There is plenty to do in the area and the downloadable guide was very useful as was Brett's recommendation for diving with silver sonic at Port Douglas. I can fully recommend staying here and would not hesitate to come back if I had the opportunity.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to stay in one house with a big family and not feel cramped.
Liked least: Slow wifi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2016
Thanks Jackie,
It was an honour having you and your family stay with us. We love the Silversonic trip to Port Douglas and now because we have sent so many guests out we can reserve places for our guests without a deposit!!
the spa pool and outdoor dining are great and we also hosted the Australian swim team, so we know they loved the pool and relaxing beside it as well!
we look forward to welcoming you back
kind regards
Belinda, Bet and Brett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nad H
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wish we had stayed longer”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here as a couple (yep we had the whole place to ourselves) and it was wonderful! we relaxed on the balcony surrounded by trees - it was so private, quiet and peaceful and the temperature and climate were perfect (we were there in July). The pool was fantastic and we loved playing table tennis and going for walks to explore the local area. The owners were so lovely and even ordered in groceries for us so we had snacks waiting when we arrived. This place looks exactly like the photos and it is very clean and tidy. Definitely check out the local restaurants/cafes and activities recommended in the guidebook. We will be back and wish we had stayed longer! Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2015
Hi Nad

Thank you for teh review.

We now offer a free online shopping service and tour booking at no charge, so our guests can save time and holiday. We have had a guest tell us that they did not want to leave, ironically we had a cancellation and they stayed for another week, and before they left after the econd week they asked if they could extend their stay further. Alas cancellations are rare and we have welcomed them back many times.
We would love to welcome you back!

Have a great day
Belinda Bet and Brett
The Wanggulay Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaevon F
1 review
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had such a wonderful stay. We definitely would recommend this place to anyone who would like to unwind and just relax. Peaceful and quiet street.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very spacious.
Liked least: It was difficult for my Mother inlaw to hop in and out of the tub upstairs. She's elderly and uses a wheelchair.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2015
Hi Jaevon

Thank you very much for coming back to stay with us again.

We love the peace and tranquility of the rainforest yet being so close to so many great restaurants, attractions and being able to walk from the front door to a waterfall in the National park in just over 10 minutes

Have a great day, we look forward to welcoming you back again.
kind regards
Belinda Bet and brett
The Wanggulay Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful accomodation with lovely "Balinese" decor”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The promotional ad lived up to our experience. I liked the "Balinese" theme. Large bedrooms rooms for three couples, upstairs and downstairs, good balconies, kitchen very good with all mod cons, wonderful heated pool and spa, all amenities games, Apple TV etc Location superb amongst the rainforest and above the River. very costly but then...
Minor issues only in that elderly gentleman slipped in the pool, so can have a handrail installed; small repairs to be done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall decor and ambience
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 29, 2015
Hi Chris,

Thank you for your review. We have undertaken those small repairs and had teh pool inspected and attended to.

Wanggulay is spacious with those large bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen amenities and games. It won't surprise you to know that we regularly host large groups. The most recent wa photography group from the USA and the National Swim team. There is room for all with those 2 22 metre balconies and undercover areas. One our favourite things at the house is reading on the daybeds, playing table tennis and relaxing in the hot tub and the pool and quality coffee available when you want it!

We would love to welcome you again sometime

kind regards
Belinda Bet and Brett
The Wanggulay team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing