We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quality in spades...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Master Bedroom with Balcony Award winning salt water infinity pool by night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Master Bedroom with Balcony
Award winning salt water infinity pool by night
Master bedroom
Luxury spa bath
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Freshwater swimming a short walk from the front door
Beautiful walking trails abound
Barbecue
Pool area
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Bedroom with Queen Size bed
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Living room with Asian fusion design furnitures.
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Master Bedroom with 2 single beds.
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Cairns, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
William M...
Yackandandah, Australia
1 review
“Quality in spades...”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I have traveled extensively around the world, and have been lucky to stay at some of the best premium hotels and B&Bs, so we're a bit sensitive to quality gaps -- between what's advertised and what's delivered. When we booked Wanggulay for a week in June, we expected a lot, and we got a lot.

Simply put, this is probably the best place we've stayed in Australia -- we were struck by incredible attention to detail -- from the preparation, to the architecture, the furnishings, the private grounds, and the lighting. It was like we were staying in someone's home, not a rental.

For 3 of the nights we were there, we had our three adult children and their partners stay with us. The house allowed for large meals as well as enough private spaces to let everyone do their own thing if they wanted to.

I would highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the furnishings
Liked least: Too much to do!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Truly gratified by your review. Thank you! We aim to help you have a holiday of a lifetime and it feels like you lovely family reunion was just that.

We can't wait to have you stay with us again.
Warmly, the Wanggulay Team, Belinda, Brett, Bet and Attila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellaway1...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Retreat in the rainforest”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

A beutifully appointed property with privacy and access to nature; walking trails, creek and decks overlooking canpies of trees. luxury bathrooms and spacious accomodation with group areas and get away spaces abundant. Suitable for smaller to larger groups. A trully relaxing getaway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: retreat -like
Liked least: not sure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Hello, It's great you felt so at ease with the space and comfort of Wanggulay as there are plenty of options for quiet retreat as well as gathering in larger groups on the balcony for entertaining.
Hope to have you back soon.
Warmly, The Wanggulay Team, Brett, Belinda, Bet and Attila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russ J
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing stay in Wanggulay”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Stunning property! Very large, spacious and decorated with an amazing sense of style.
My family, who visited from overseas, claimed that they had no idea such beautiful places even exist!
We would love to be back as soon as we can! Thank you for having us :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor, surrounding nature, comfort of stay
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
So glad your family from overseas were so impressed with Wanggulay and it's rainforest setting. You definitely get the feeling you are suspended in the treetops with all the sights and sounds of the rainforest.
Love to have you stay again for your next family reunion.
Warmly, the Wanggulay Team, Belinda, Brett, Bet and Attila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jadeles22
1 review
“Amazing Family Holiday”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

For a busy Sydney living family Wanggulay was a much needed holiday for our family of 5.
With such a big Holiday house there a lot of happy holiday lovers our 16 yr old Daughter likes to have her own space and is usually on Facebook etc but managed to spend some time with us as a family.
Then our other Daughter 11yr old and our son 9yr old both love to explore so having the rainforest at your back door was great we had some great times exploring with the kids.
And with all cairns attractions we were central to everything.
We would recommend Wanggulay to anyone and can't wait for our next visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Hello and great to hear your kids found plenty to keep them amused in the rainforest; trips to local waterholes, exploring Cairns or at home at Wanggulay relaxing on the balcony, swimming in the heated infinity edge pool or a round of table tennis.
Look forward to having you stay again.
Warmly, the Wanggulay Team, Belinda, Brett, Bet and Attila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktdid1974
Santa Maria, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“We did not want to leave.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I have to admit that I was skeptical looking at the fantastic photos on the internet, no telling when they were taken and if they were a true representation of the property. But from the time we walked in the door to the time we reluctantly drug out suitcases back out to the car we were exactly where we wanted to be for a vacation of a life time. The home is beautifully appointed and feels like a warm and welcoming home. We did not get in as much sightseeing as as we had planned because we wanted to stay at the house. When I woke up the first morning and could see the rain forest out my window and hear the creek running down the side of the house I knew we had made the right choice. The parrot that sat in the tree outside the kitchen window welcomed us each morning. The pool was very relaxing. It was the best accommodations I have had the pleasure to stay in. Our hosts were very helpful and accommodating with our special requests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing feel of the home and the special requests that the host provided.
Liked least: That we had to leave.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
Wow! We are blown away by your review. We loved hosting your group from the US; we feel like we have achieved our mission of giving you the holiday of a lifetime in world heritage rainforest right outside your window complete with butterflies and birdlife. Maybe next time you come you will try out new property Wanggulay Too Treetops and enjoy the unique experience of bathing on a river platform. Warmly, the Wanggulay Team, Belinda Brett, Bet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochi23
Geelong, Australia
1 review
“Amazing property, a slice of NQ paradise”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our family had the pleasure of staying at both Wanggulay an Wanggulay too, recently for my mothers 60th birthday. Both houses were beautiful than we could have imagined and the facilities are exceptional. I would thoroughly recommend this property if you wanted to experience the best that far north QLD has to offer. Views of the river, spacious bedrooms, a homely atmosphere and facilities to keep the entire family amused. Enjoy :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views of the river, spectacular
Liked least: That we could not live here permanently :-)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
Thanks for your glowing review. You're the first guests that have experienced a large family gathering across the two properties with Wanggulay Too Treetops providing an outstanding rainforest experience. We can now accommodate large groups across both properties situated next door to each other with their own unique experiences - bathe outdoors on a river platform, cocktails around the pool and dinner on the balcony perched in the rainforest... We look forward to welcoming you back. Warmly, the Wanggulay Team, Belinda, Brett, Bet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann W
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Cairns Hidden Secret”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Secluded in the tree tops over looking the Baron River is an excellent way to relax and unwind, and yet not far from the city. The owner has not left any detail untouched.
From the sounds of the rain forest to the relaxing and welcoming decor you will never want to leave.
It is obvious why the property has won so many awards, thank you Brett we cannot wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing on the deck listening to the rain forest animals
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2014
Hello, We are so delighted you had a relaxing holiday and enjoyed the little details that helps Wanggulay stand out as an extraordinary place to holiday.

We would love to have you back!
Warmly, the Wanggulay Team, Belinda, Brett, Bet and Attila
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing