We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream Getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Master Bedroom with Balcony Award winning salt water infinity pool by night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Master Bedroom with Balcony
Award winning salt water infinity pool by night
Master bedroom
Luxury spa bath
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Freshwater swimming a short walk from the front door
Beautiful walking trails abound
Barbecue
Pool area
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Bedroom with Queen Size bed
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Living room with Asian fusion design furnitures.
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Master Bedroom with 2 single beds.
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Cairns, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bernardos...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dream Getaway”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Had an absolutely fantastic getaway with 2 other couples for 7 nights in an amazing holiday house with all the luxuries one would expect from this magnificent property. It is as advertised, surrounded by rainforest and tranquil settings. Quite peacful nights spent sitting outdoors relaxing with friends around the pool eating freshly caught Coral Trout cooked on the the BBQ, drinking a cold beer. What more could one ask for. Thank you Wanggulay. A trully magnificent tropical adventure. Highly recommended. Ben, Milda & Friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2013
Hi Ben and Milda,
Thank you for your review. The local fish, including the coral trout, is a real treat here in the far north. Thanks for the information and we have now included some of our favourite sea food retailers in our Wanggulay guest guide
Kind regards
Brett Bet and Belinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewed August 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2008

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2013
Hi Bill
Thank you for your review. We came across a very good bush walking guide for the local area and we have now placed that in our library here at Wanggulay for all our guests to use. Look forward to seeing you again
Kind regards
Belinda and Brett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2013
Hi Chris

Thank you for your review. Wanggulay in the rain is magical, other guests have made comments also about how much they love the sound of the Barron river in full flow. Swimming in the heated tropical plunge pool in the rain is a favorite along with and reading on the day beds and listening to the rain on the roof. Its a cosy place with lots of living area to be very comfortable in too.

Thanks
The Wanggulay team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OK
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2013
Hi Dave and Kelly,
Thank you for the feedback. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you to Wanggulay again.
kind regards
Brett and Belinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Northport USA
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2013
Hi Rich and Bern,
Thank you for your comments.
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay and we really look forward to welcoming you back again.
kind regards
Brett, Bet and Belinda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gold Coast
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2013
Hi Kaz,

Thank you for your response. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Wanggulay.

kind regards
Brett, Belinda and Bet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carolyn W
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just stunning! everything you coud possibly want in one house”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for a week at the start of Jan and loved it! On the second day we invited family to come back with us next year!
The house is spacious, relaxing, stunning and fully equipt.
The pool is amazing and even has hydro bubbles for a light spa feel if wanted. We were in it every day without fail, we had wonderful weather so didnt need to use the heater function but was nice to know it was there.
Each room has air con for comfort and the beds and pillows are simply divine!.
Gary met us at the property and made some excellent suggestions on what to do during our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the stunning decks
Liked least: our time went too soon!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2013
Hi Carolyn,

Thanks very much for your kind review. We appreciate the feedback. Wanggulay is now celebrating its 10 year open for business and we have now installed our new gas heater which just makes it toasty warm in the cooler months. We are so happy you enjoyed it, we love it too.

We look forward to seeing you back for this New Year!

kind regards
Brett Belinda and Bet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$479
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing