We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry Lousy Pizza”
Review of Cairns Courthouse Hotel - CLOSED

Cairns Courthouse Hotel
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We arrived here after a full day at Kuranda and we were starving , ordered 2 large pizzas . They were very ordinary , tasted to me like the bases were straight out of a frozen pizza box from Coles , couldn't taste the pizza sauce at all .Let's face it a good pizza relies on its base and it's sauce unfortunately lacking of both . Nice atmosphere for a drink but eat elsewhere or order something else .

Thank Flatwhitejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courthousecairns, Public Relations Manager at Cairns Courthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are very sorry to hear your pizzas were not enjoyable. We have used this information to improve our pizzas. We now have an Italian Chef who has brought his extensive knowledge on pizza making to The Courthouse. Now serving delicious homemade bases with generous fresh toppings. We hope you can return one day to try our new pizzas. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 181 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a few drinks here on a Sunday afternoon. The ambience was really nice and it seemed quite popular. We sat out on the lawn and enjoyed the live music. A nice interlude for a Sunday afternoon in the tropics.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank 123free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courthousecairns, Public Relations Manager at Cairns Courthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hi and thank you for your positive review. We are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable experience on your Sunday afternoon visit. Yes our live music in the outdoor beergarden is very popular and a great way to complete the weekend. Hope you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Cairns Courthouse Hotel is in the heart of Cairns, near the Esplanade and the Casino.

They have a large outdoor area, as well as an indoor area and a bar.

The menu is wide, and there are several "value" meals and daily specials. You could have a schnitzel or a curry for AUD 18, and they offer a burger and beverage lunch for AUD 10.

You order at the counter, and they bring the food to your table.

The servers are mainly backpackers from overseas- they're cheerful and friendly.

The food is typical pub style- a generous serving of tasty fare, without being fancy.

The atmosphere is what you would expect of a busy pub in a tourist area.

I was recommended to dine here by several locals- they gave me a good recommendation!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courthousecairns, Public Relations Manager at Cairns Courthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear your visit to the Courthouse was an enjoyable experience. We look forward to your return, hopefully in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We have been here for drinks and it was great. I had lasagna for lunch though and it was terrible. D

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jojobarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courthousecairns, Public Relations Manager at Cairns Courthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hi and thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear your lasagne was not enjoyable. Very recently we have appointed a new chef who is Italian and he has recreated our lasagne and pizzas and they are now delicious. We hope you can return one day and try them out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Had a 4 night stay in Cairns, staying right near The Courthouse. Great value drinks, roomy and spacious, and nice beer garden. Didn't eat here though

Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courthousecairns, Public Relations Manager at Cairns Courthouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Hi and thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable time and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairns Courthouse Hotel also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing