We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mother India

Mother India
Ranked #96 of 595 Restaurants in Cairns
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: www.motherindiacairns.com.au
Lae, Papua New Guinea
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Good Indian grub and friendly service. We had fish and chicken dishes with a nice spicy dal. The garlic nan and cucumber raita were also tasty. Good value for money and would recommend others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WizInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    45
    16
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sugar-free Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely food, great host, excellent prices! Food tasted fresh, we didn't have to wait long and it was authentic Indian cuisine. It is great to see a restaurant not use any sugar in their cooking, so refreshing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
730 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,152 helpful votes
“Good meals at good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visited this restaurant a couple of times in 2013, firstly with a group of friends and then later with the partner. I have always found the food to be of reasonable value (a thing of rarity in the overpriced cairns market) and always quite tasty and well prepared. The owner appears to take a particular interest in his customers and food, which is probably why this has been around since I was a youngster in this city. Overall I would definitely recommend it to others

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stingy on meat!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Service is always good at Mother India but...

Waited 40 minutes for our food which is fine but when it arrived I counted how many pieces of meat in my entire dish and there 5 small pieces!

I ordered it medium spicy and it was more like watered down milk.

Usually when we come here the food is much nicer. Was like they had run out of meat so they watered it down and gave out tiny potions of meat to compensate.

Very disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiko85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“terrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The service was ok but the food was so bad we did not finish it and will not go back. We have been to many indian restaurants and this is by far the worst. i am so disapponted.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother India also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Mother India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing