We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleepless in Cairns”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Adobe Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adobe Motel
Ranked #5 of 13 Cairns B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sleepless in Cairns”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

The motel room is an average motel room. I think we were perhaps unlucky with our particular room though. The first night we were awake until 4am due to the creaking in the bed upstairs. Constantly. For 2 hours. And it wasn't even 'that' type of creaking, it just sounded like somebody jumping as fast as they could on it. Either that, or somebody's got stamina.

In another room, there was the lovely sound of a TV blaring until perhaps 5am, and either the inhabitants were hard of hearing or the walls are so hollow that even I could hear the 2am news updates, which were very informative. To add an extra bit of fun, we then had another group of people in the place with music blasting out and running up and down the stairs when they came back drunk. They did sing very nicely though.

This was on a Thursday night. It would have been more acceptable in a weekend I guess. Friday was of a similar vein, minus the drunks singing but TV noise ran until 6am this time. The telltale beer cans left on the tables outside give you a clue as to why it's so noisy here.

Aside from this, the wireless Internet is expensive and there was a cigarette burn in a pillowcase. The towels are also threadbare.

If you're wanting a place to crash after a night out, this is probably a good place for you. If you're getting up at 6am for a flight, don't bother.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph S, Owner at Adobe Motel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello, We are sorry to hear about your bad experience at our motel. We are happy to offer you a free nights accommodation to apologise for the experience. Also in future if you experience a noisy neighbour please let us know as we do live on site and will have the matter dealt with immediately as we want a good night sleep as much as you do. Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
7
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

this place was a bargain we looked at comparable accom and nothing came close to the room standard for the price clean new flat screen tvs firm and comfy beds we had a good nights sleep also dinned at the italian restaurant attached food was tops will stay here again

Room Tip: book early small complex fills quickly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

For the amount I paid I was please with the motel. Short walk to the city centre which made it very convenient. Short walk to local supermarket and a variety of restaurants in the neighbouring hotels as well as this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisRoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

For cheap accomodation, you can't really go past this place. Excellent facilities, top service, and one of the best restaurants I've come across - food was actually amazing. Have stayed twice already, will definitely be staying there again when I go back to Cairns. Top notch bang for your buck.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

often stay at this little joint when need a room to close to the city for a quick stay over, becoming one of the regulars now it has all the basics, is clean, and close to everything. staff are friendly and for the price, the place is great! doesn't have cooking facilities but i just usually have dinner at the onsite restaurant, which is usually the reef and beef!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This place is located on a very busy main road, in between a hospital and a cemetery with about 20 units but only 5 parking spaces in full sun, no shade. The guy at reception was rude, terribly rude! Minimal facilities, i.e. en-suite, bar fridge and kettle. They advertise tea and coffee facilities but there was only enough coffee for 1 person for 1 day, not 3 people for 7 days. When asked for more got told we could only get more every 3 days! Also rooms are not serviced during the stay. Supposedly they are serviced every 3 days, but had to ask and during 7 day booking it was only serviced once and according to their logic it should've been serviced twice.

Swimming pool is ok, but with limited hours because it's attached to the restaurant.

Restaurant attached is EXTREMELY over priced! I'm not exaggerating!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank funtravellingfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Cairns
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

Cheap and cheerful, great location and has a restaurant attached. What more could you need, the bed was comfortable I slept really well, bathroom was more than adequate.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.5 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.4 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#18 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cairns Queens Court
Cairns Queens Court
#25 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#62 of 64 in Cairns
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aspect Central Motel
Aspect Central Motel
#33 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Motel

Property: Adobe Motel
Address: 191 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adobe Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Adobe Motel is a family owned and operated motel situated in the Cairns CBD. Adobe Motel offers clean, affordable accomodation for the weary traveller.Convieniently Located within easy walking distance of Cairns city centre and just a 5 minute cab ride from the airport. Comfortable and spacious air-conditioned rooms. Ensuite bathroom, phone, refrigerator, cable TV, tea & coffee making facilities, saltwater pool, tourdesk, guest laundry facilities, car hire, Wireless internet in all rooms, licenced restaurant and plenty more.The friendly staff look forward to welcoming you to the Adobe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adobe Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing