We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must be better in Cairns”
Review of Reef Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Backpackers
Ranked #11 of 14 Cairns B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Another east coast dive.

Aircon broke, staff disinterested, room extremely basic and dirty. There were bugs and that isn't acceptable whatever price you paid for a room.

Communal areas poor maintained and dirty. I wouldn't throw my worst enemy in the "pool"

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hostelhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 19, 2013

Hello friends,
We are glad to hear your stay was nice, i would love to offer you a free nights worth of accommodation at the reef again in a private room for you and a friend/partner to come back and give us a second chance. We are proud of our lovely little hostel and would love it if you could experience this too. Have a great day, and happy travels.
Our contact is 0740415255.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 115 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2013

This hotel is very bad, you need to avoid it! The room when we arrived was dirty (beer bottles, hairs, papers, food, etc.) There was a big hole in the wall. Some of the showers did not work. The kitchen was dirty and messy. Our room (and the entire hotel) is very noisy. We decided to leave after one night, but we had paid for more, and the owner did not want to give us back our money. Owner very unfriendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 6, 2013

To our wonderful past, present and future guests:

A deep apology from myself and fellow team mates if you were unhappy with your stay, we strive to make improvements by the minute, i can personally promise you that!

Reef backpackers of Cairns is under new management as of recently and i wish to take the time too address our unsatisfied customers and welcome new interested guests.

Our promise to you our lovely guests.....

We aim to have the property...
* cleaned daily, with the kitchen attended to twice daily, bathrooms scrubbed clean and washed down daily,
*all dorms/rooms cleaned and attended too, steam cleaned mattresses in every room, fresh linen and safe friendly room mates,
*the common rooms attended too throughout the day for your relaxation time and enjoyment in the tropical garden at the courtyard or in the chill out zone upstairs by the couches.

We love our hostel and have many benefits to our name such as free breakfast, free wifi, dinner vouchers, nightly events, tourist information and tour booking just to name a few. Everyone here is like a family and we welcome new guests with open arms. Look forward to seeing you soon and thank you for your support.
Reef backpackers- Good people, Good vibes, Good times. Have an awesome day!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We didn't expect much for 50 dollars a night for a double. But we didn't expect this. In our first room the a/c didn't work. In the next room we actually got a quite nice queen size bed. The problem turned out to be BEDBUGS. And a lot of them. The next day we switched to our third room. Bit better this time, but still BEDBUGS.

The whole place is run down, extremely dirty, and seems to only attract backpackers with no money or that are far out there anyway.

The only positive thing was the WIFI which was quite good if you were close to the reception.

Can't recommend this place to ANYONE!

Room Tip: It is no good room here. Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fuzzfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 6, 2013

To our wonderful past, present and future guests:

A deep apology from myself and fellow team mates if you were unhappy with your stay, we strive to make improvements by the minute, i can personally promise you that!

Reef backpackers of Cairns is under new management as of recently and i wish to take the time too address our unsatisfied customers and welcome new interested guests.

Our promise to you our lovely guests.....

We aim to have the property...
* cleaned daily, with the kitchen attended to twice daily, bathrooms scrubbed clean and washed down daily,
*all dorms/rooms cleaned and attended too, steam cleaned mattresses in every room, fresh linen and safe friendly room mates,
*the common rooms attended too throughout the day for your relaxation time and enjoyment in the tropical garden at the courtyard or in the chill out zone upstairs by the couches.

We love our hostel and have many benefits to our name such as free breakfast, free wifi, dinner vouchers, nightly events, tourist information and tour booking just to name a few. Everyone here is like a family and we welcome new guests with open arms. Look forward to seeing you soon and thank you for your support.
Reef backpackers- Good people, Good vibes, Good times. Have an awesome day!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed in this hostel for 4 nights (booked in front). It has great staff, very friendly and hard working. They arrange some nice nights out to meet new people, good thought!

Against that the hostel itself is for my opinion pretty dirty. The bathroom had the first two days zero toiletpaper, blood on the floor stayed there pretty long. The bathroom/toilets were old and showers not working properly. I have to say that on the last day I was there, they did something about that.
Upstair was a bathroom were I did'nt like to come, very filty. The bedroom was in size ok, but the window could'nt close at all, there was only half a curtain and airco only turns on in the night. The floors were dirty and dusty, sheets for the bed the same, they need a good cookingtemp wash. I had almost no sleep and although a backpacker is used to it, if you do daytrips or diving a few days in a row, you're broken. So much noise, from the garden en in the hallways, very deep in the night, sometimes till mornings. The biggest noises came especially from the neighbours (Woodduck) and the 'veto' between those two hostels.
They liked put the music against eachother, throw waterballoons to eachother, that made that a few time they almost hit a camera or laptop, childish and enoying.
The laundrycorner was full of wet, dirty sheets, very messy.
The kitchen is big, had a lot in it, but the fridges smell bad. Kitchen was cleaned a lot by staff, 'cause visiters were very slobby here.
There's free wifi, pretty good downstairs and the free dinner vouchers were handy too..
You see this hostel tries hard, but has a few discusting visiters and noisy neighbours and sometimes a few not-so-good cleaning staff. It just really needs a clean up and renovation. I did move to another backpacker..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meggiemee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The staff is great and do their best to make the most out of your stay. Some of them really make an effort to make certain you are happy. That being said, the room I stayed in was dirty and housekeeping was close to non-existent. In general, the place need an overhaul. It is great with free internet, but the internet connectivity was limited to certain areas and the connection was not always stabile.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank MrBanister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hostel is one of the worst places I've ever stayed! Room was horrible with a hole in the window which meant that anything could get in! Wi Fi was not not available in room which was very annoying!

I will definately not be returning!

On a brighter note the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bov21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Even if the location is not the best, it's still close to everything, no need to have a car or to take a bus. The staff is great, fun and very helpful. I had a very good time as it is easy to meet new people and book tours at the reception. Great hostel don't hesitate to book there !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbloemenkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.1 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.0 mi away
Koala Beach Resort
Koala Beach Resort
#61 of 64 in Cairns
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairns Waterfront Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Lazy Duck Hostel
Lazy Duck Hostel
#60 of 82 in Cairns
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Backpackers

Address: 140 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Cairns
Price Range: $12 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Reef Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Reef Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing