We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to spend the evening.”

Cairns Harbour Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.34*
and up
Green Island Day Trip from Cairns
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alongside Cairns is a magnificent tidal estuary that is rarely seen, except by fishermen. Only accessible by boat, M.V. Crocodile Explorer is a comfortable, air-conditioned vessel taking small numbers of visitors along Trinity Inlet on this scenic nature cruise. With waterways winding through a 300 square kilometre maze of mangroves, expect rich diverse wildlife, stunning scenery and a relaxing cruise with informative commentary from our crew. This is the saltwater crocodile’s natural habitat – with a chance to spot them basking on the muddy banks particularly in the cooler months. Cairns Harbour Cruises depart daily at 11.00am and 1.30pm for a 2 hour cruise.We also offer an evening cruise departing at 5.30pm daily.Picture yourself drinking sparkling wine while watching the tropical sunset from Trinity Inlet. A sunset cruise aboard the MV Crocodile Explorer sets the tone for an unforgettable evening. As our friendly crew greet you on board you will be offered a welcome drink to enjoy on deck prior to departure. The Sunset Cruise allows passengers to soak in beautiful views of the waterways, mangroves and mountains in the magical early evening sun. The 90 minute cruise includes a sparkling wine, standard beer, wine or soft drink and savoury nibbles on arrival.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend the evening.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Did the Cairns Sunset River Cruise, including dinner. This was a nice way to spend the night, with an enjoyable ride on the boat, seeing some good sights in the harbour. Dinner afterwards is at Dundee's. The food was very nice, the only downside is that its typical restaurant food, where the portions were very small. All in all a great experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    82
    33
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant boat cruise on Trinity Inlet”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

OK, not the best choice if you're in a group of young lads as I happened to be, but nonetheless a pleasant enough experience. Weather was dreadful so saw no wildlife/crocs whatsoever, but the guide was exceptionally well informed and regailed plenty of delightful facts. Enjoyed a chocolate ice cream and a coffee on board. Would have been great to see some crocs, but totally out of our control so can't really complain. The guide was really enthusiastic and considering how often he must give these tours, that's not to be scoffed at.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank shoegazer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing time”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We went on the sunset cruise on Trinity Inlet and as new residents in Cairns we found it very enlightening. The welcome drink and nibbles were good and the scenery was interesting. Love the views of the mountains. It was not overbooked being at the end of the wet season and so we had room to move on the top deck. Coupled with the dinner at Dundees it is great value and would love to do it again

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TBKit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doveton, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cruises”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The day before we left to come back home to Melbourne we went on a eveing cruises around the harbour it was a sunset dinner cruise we had a good tine doing it & the next time we do it in the day time as it was quite exciting at night & in the day time it will be a lot better....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenda845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing way to spend two hours”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Not massively expensive and a nice way to spend a spare couple of hours. Crew were nice and ship in good shape. Complementary teas and coffees on board which was welcome as it was raining.

Due to the weather we didn't see any wildlife to speak of but nothing they could do about that. Crew had good local knowledge and worth asking them about other things to do that they recommend.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cairns Harbour Cruises also viewed

Queensland, Australia
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Cairns Harbour Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing