We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overwhelmingly great service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairns Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cairns Holiday Park
Ranked #14 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Overwhelmingly great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the park in September as well as in December, both times a supererb experience! The extras and the service attitude are just outstanding! From a free herbal garden to food swap (great when you return your campervan and don't want good food, spices etc go to waste), free borrowing of a scale to weigh your luggage and free donating of clothes you don't want any longer! Just great! Standard amenities are well maintained.

If you like to socialise the campkitchen and the (un)powered sites around is the place to be. If not, the internet connection is better near the entrance and reception anyway.

Pool is cool and great for hot days!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CayeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    94
    21
    3
    5
See reviews for
60
166
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Top Tourist Cairns Holiday Park in Manunda, pre-booked by phone for one night at $32 (£21.12), but decided to stay for 2.
- Nice cheery lady in reception gave us maps and told us all we needed to know, about the park, and getting into town, and where to shop..
- We were allocated Powered Site 45, in Sunbird Street, one street away from reception : a grass site with concrete area for table and chairs, opposite the laundry - which is next to the Ladies’. - Beautiful colourful and perfumed flowerbeds by the loos.
- Laundry : $4 for the washer and $3 for each 45 min drier cycle. Hanging area.
- TV area glassed off next to the laundry.
- Nice grounds, laid out with 9 named cross-streets. Lots of lovely trees –nicer at our end than up at the camping end. Camp kitchen at far end (4 double BBQ, and 2 double hotplates, I think
- Quite nice pool, next to the Ablutions, but we didn’t have time to use it.
- Ablutions block has 8 toilets, 4 wash basins, and 8 good individual shower/ changing cubicles and no nasty curtain. (There may be a duplicate block on the other side of the building, but I didn’t look.)
- 3hrs / 50MB of free Ezi-Web internet per day, but I only used 13 mins on first day and couldn’t get on again. Then used 38 mins on Day 2, and when I tried again later, it said i had used all my allowance. Not a great success.
- 10mins drive to Raintree Shopping Centre, with a big Woolworths.
- 15 mins walk to bus stop on Sheridan St, and 10 min bus ride into town ($2.70 each way).

Room Tip: Nicer towards the front of the park, than up at the far end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Not only is this the closest caravan park to all of the main parts of Cairns, but the staff were some of the friendliest we've encountered! We had a fabulous stay, although we had to cut it short as we sold our van.

On the outside of the camp kitchen is a small herb garden which you can help yourself to which was a nice bonus! Additionally, although we stayed in an unpowered site (we didn't have the facility to power our van) there was a 'recharge station' in the camp kitchen for phones & laptops!

Would really recommend staying here, everyone was lovely - including the other guests!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingisawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nomad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in the park on and off for nearly 2 months leading up to November 2012 and would like to thank the staff at the Cairns Holiday park for making my stay so easy and enjoyable, they always had a smile on there faces and were willing to help with even the smallest inquires.
The park itself is perfect for cairns whether with heaps of shade from large established trees, the amenity were clean and tidy and the camp kitchen was well established. I had a great time staying here and look forward to my next trip to Cairns and to the holiday park.
Thanks again "The Ferret Man"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lsdjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at the Cairns Holiday Park for a little over a month while exploring the Cairns region and Great Barrier Reef. The most notable attribute are the staff, having travelled all over Australia in our motor home and experienced some rather obnoxious and rude caravan park owners it was so refreshing to deal with the helpful and attentive employees and owners here. Nothing is to much trouble for them and they strive to accommodate anything you ask of them. The park itself is kept clean and tidy with regular maintenance to the grounds. The amenities were always clean and tidy - even during an influx of travellers in tents during the solar eclipse. The location is perfect with easy access to the main street shopping area. Although just off the main road we heard no traffic noise what so ever during our stay. 5 stars and 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12345Somewheresunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our first holiday park on our 2 month adventure and I'll rate it right at the top. Rob and Ros were really friendly, honest and more than helpful, amenities were above what we expected and the place had a great vibe (we especially liked and made use of the free herb garden for our van cookups). They booked us 3 great tours too - white water rafting, the reef experience scuba tour on the Great Barrier Reef and the Skyrail and Kuranda train day pass - all excellent.

Will definitely be back here again someday.

Room Tip: If travelling in a van, ask to be near some of the large trees around the park and you will get some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richiewato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

There's a reason we choose to stay at Cairns Holiday Park every time we visit Cairns. Actually, there's more than one reason! The staff are amazing - always incredibly friendly and will go out of their way to help you. The park has excellent facilities - heaps of showers and washing machines, a great big kitchen and even a herb garden!!
It's also within walking distance to town (20 mins), and the birdlife is phenomenal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
4.0 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
0.4 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
6.0 mi away
Lake Placid Tourist Park
Lake Placid Tourist Park
#21 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cairns Sunland Leisure Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Holiday Park

Property: Cairns Holiday Park
Address: 12-30 Little St | Manunda, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cairns Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for cheap holiday accommodation in Cairns that offers a fantastic range of great value options then Cairns Holiday Park is the place to stay. When it comes to Cairns holiday accommodation, no one can match the flexibility offered by Cairns Holiday Park! Cairns Holiday Park offers a fantastic range of accommodation options to suit any budget, from budget backpacker accommodation to modern studios, we are Cairns' best! We are also able to provide shady caravan and camping sites, anything from budget unpowered campsites right through to private ensuite sites that add a little comfort to your Far North Queensland getaway. Situated less than 3km from the CBD also makes Cairns Holiday Park the closest holiday park to the city centre. There is so much to do in and around Cairns, and our on-site tour desk is the perfect place to book all of your adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Cairns Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing