We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Globetrotters International

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Globetrotters International
Ranked #14 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Very good hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed at this hostel for just over a week and it was great. We stayed in a dorm and a double room and both was nice and clean. The staff at the hostel are friendly. The kitchens and chill out area are big and a nice place to relax with also the option of outdoor space (including pool). Would recommend to people. Go and enjoy

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    56
    31
    25
    12
See reviews for
8
60
69
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I originally booked in for one week I enjoyed my stay so much I extended this for another
Week. Despite reading reviews about how dirty it is I decided to give it a go as it looks amazing in the photos online. I was not dissapointed the hostel was lovely the rooms were cleaned everyday there were plenty of facilities, the showers were nice toilets were kept clean I never had a problem! The staff were very friendly and always willing to help they even gave me a discount on my extension as a gesture of good will because I was already staying there. The only thing I could complain about was done noisy backpackers that woje me up in the early hours but when the owners found out they gave them a warning and it never happened again! Overall this place was everything I wanted great value for money, lovely staff, clean with plenty of facilities!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe-O92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Clean and quiet. Really nice place with free WIFI. Bedroom and bed just perfect with a big mastress. Common areas are clean, warm, spacious and recent.
The price is cheap compared to other hotels that are in Cairns. I highly recommend it ! Go !

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Doll98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend booked this hostel through hostel bookers are having a good look of the pictures agreed it seemed like a nice play to stay. Boy were we wrong! The rooms are extremely dirty we felt like our room hadnt been properley cleaned upon arrival, the bed sheets had brown marks on and didnt even fit our bed, their was rubbish in the draws next to the bed disqusting used tissues and papers! We had to constantly spray mosquito repellent and sprays on the constant army of ants coming out the walls next to the bed!!! They were literally everywhere.. on the walls in the kitchen and toilet and all over the rooms! We constantly woke up with bites all over our feet and legs and spoke to people who suffered the same. This has never happend to us in other hostels in cairns.
One night we had a disqusting cockroach in our room and had too chase it round the room to kill it! It ran all over our pillows and bed! Are cockroaches not a sign of dirty conditions!? The couches in the lounge area had these worm like creatures behind the pillows, the place was so unclean and old. I would not recommend a stay here, much better hostels in cairns and for better value!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a 3 night visit to cairns which turned into 6 nights due to our plans being cancelled elsewhere due to the cyclone, staff were very helpful in getting us and 4 friends in for an extra 3 nights, and were very concious about everyones safety during the cyclone, keeping us informed on everything.
We had never stayed in a hostel before but globetrotters was clean and better than we thought it would be, the location was great.
Would recommend to anyone who wants a good place to stay if on a budget
Thanks-Kelly and Jay

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Thanks again for a great stay - this was the second time we've stayed here. The hostel is more than good enough for the price you pay per night, and the owners could not do more to help you out. A home away from home and I will definitely stay here again when back in Cairns. Thanks! Katie & Sam

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie3736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed In this hostel 2 times and enjoyed both stays. Helpful staff especially the owners. Kitchens pretty good and thier is enough of them not to be waiting around. Nice pool and outside lounge. 10minute walk to the centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 68 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 874 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#4 of 68 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Caravella Backpackers
Caravella Backpackers
#5 of 88 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travellers Oasis Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters International

Property: Globetrotters International
Address: 154 - 156 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 88 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Globetrotters International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing