We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid - Huge disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Globetrotters International
Ranked #4 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Booked the private room, it was dirty, dark, no opening window, located between kitchen, bathroom, corridor and entrance : very noisy. People could see inside our room through a small stabile window without curtain. We felt horribly itchy during the first night and asked to change room. We got a large one (for 5 people) yet still not clean.
Buildings are not in good condition, air-condition is only on after 6pm.
Internet wifi signal was very weak in both rooms, inducing lots of disconnection.
One washing machine was broken.
Complimentary breakfast = light cereal and milk.
Located next to a big hotel where many coaches start their journey => additional noise.
Overall stay was horrible and would definitely not recommand this place. I am used to staying at backpackers but this one is really not worth the positive comments. Located 15 min walk from harbour/esplanade swimming pool.
We were happy to leave! Really hesitated to change but were actually to lazy for 5 days

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 327 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

I had a great time at Globetrotters. The rooms were clean, staff was nice, free meal voucher at a local resto when you check in. Common areas were good... everything was clean. Overalls a great experience. It's not really near that much, but it's within walking distance to the bars. More ideal if you're looking for a quieter hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdnvanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I stayed here for a few nights. The staff were nice and I booked a few tours through them. The rooms are good and the shared bath rooms were clean. I stayed in a twin room. Walk to cairns cbd does take around 15min which is a bad point. Common areas are nice to relax in.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahenchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We stayed at Globetrotters last week and really had a wonderful stay. It was the perfect place if you want a relaxed, great value for money hostel. We were looking for something with easy walking access to the town,quiet, chilled and away from all the busy nightclubs and bars in the center. The hostel was clean and quiet. We could chill out and refresh in their pool on return from a day out. The staff were very friendly and helpful - and accomodating of us to also leave our luggage with them when we had a change of plans to go further up North for 2 days. It was great value for money with breakfast and a dinner voucher included. As a backpackers it has a few seperate shared kitchen and bathrooms, giving a more relaxed private feel which was great. I would highly recommend this place - definately a great place to stay with alot of effort put in by the owners to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as they can. I'll be back! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justine_rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We were 3 people travelling in Australia and staying 3 nights in total in this hostel (2 days at first and another night some days later) and we found it very unconfortable, dirty and the last night we stayed there there was a mistake in the booking. We discovered that at night when we had to enter the room. The staff proposed us another solution 'cause was not the one we booked previously trying to let us understand it was a solution similar to our request.Finally instead of being in a 3 bedroom room we stayed in two different mixed rooms with 4 beds each. And the staff wanted us to pay the same price for that!We didn't agree abt that and at this point they made a 20%discount.After going back home, we left a comment on hostelworld website and they contacted us to apologize and to propose a reimbursement but only if we had cancelled our negative comment on the website!!!!BE AWARE OF THAT and DON'T CHOOSE THIS HOSTEL AS ACCOMODATION IN CAIRNS!It's full of cochroaches!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sapestac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Surprisingly quiet even though our room was by the road, & bed was surprisingly comfortably soft. I slept really well. We didn't get to watch much tv programs as the signal was weak, but the free internet kept us occupied. Room was generally clean except for a few ants. Size was just good enough.

I was quite disappointed with the shared bathroom. It's not really the hostel's fault, as the cleanliness depends very much on the people using it. It was wet most of the time, & there was hair all over. Shower door couldn't be closed fully.

Staff was helpful & hostelites were friendly. Hostel is a couple mins drive away from Cairns Esplanade, where some shops & eating places are still open at night. There are only 4 parking lots outside it. We were given vouchers for a free dinner at Woolshed, but there was a super long queue, so we skipped it & ate at the night market nearby instead.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broadshouldersgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Globetrotters hostel has some of the friendliest staff around. The hostel is very quiet and the rooms are pretty cheap, I had a single room with shared shower for $42 a night which was a bargain. The hostel was very happy to help you book tours, and help you with your travel plans. They even helped me when my plans changed and I had to leave early. The pool is a good size, and the communal area is great. Cairns is hot so the air con is good, although it does only come on between 6pm and 9:30am which can be annoying if you go back at lunch to escape from the heat. This is only done for environmental reasons, and if your only in cairns for a few days you won't notice as you will be out on trips!

Thanks for a great stay, and especial thanks to the owners for sorting my problem and the young lady who works behind the desk in the evenings ;)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashley-sayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.7 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
1.2 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
0.4 mi away
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
0.7 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globetrotters International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globetrotters International

Address: 154 - 156 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 83 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $37 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Globetrotters International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing