We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wontulp-Bi-Buya College training” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cairns Tropical Garden Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cairns Tropical Garden Motel to your Saves list
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   314 Mulgrave Road, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
Yarrabah Aboriginal Community, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wontulp-Bi-Buya College training”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The management and staff at the Cairns Tropical Gardens motel have an excellent attitude and provide an excellent service to me and my students they make us feel at home away from home and provide extra support to meet all of our needs

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked into this motel because it was close to a friends gym in Cairns, on booking we requested a travel cot for our 15 month old. We got to the motel and went to our room to put out daughter down as we had timed our travel for her sleep. There was no travel cot so we went back to reception. The receptionist then looked at me blankly, and then said that housekeeping couldn't find the cot. This was a major as my wife and I were both tired and stressed from travelling and our daughter was having a melt down. The owner then came out and was equally as unhelpful and gave a number of excuses and offered no help to our situation. My wife was quite relieved as the room was nasty, the hob top was rusty, the bed looked really worn out. The type of place you'd expect an hourly rate!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SamVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The arrival was friendly but the room was ordinary. The air-conditioning was noisy, cupboard doors were cracked from moisture and there was mold around the wall above the shower. The bed was saggy. The sign out the front indicated there was a sauna but I couldn't find one. It also indicated a spa but I couldn't find that either. There may have been one at some time but the controls have been removed. When arriving back after a night out, we were accosted (by one of the people that checked us in, it appeared that he was under the influence) for a cigarette.

In saying all that, it is within walking distance to Cazalys and there is a medical centre next door with a chemist. Would I stay again, probably not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night over a busy weekend and found the staff very helpful and the location great for what we needed, but the rooms are quite dated and pretty basic, nothing to write home about here, very average. In the end it was good for an overnight stay, but I wouldn't want to be here for much longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Only stayed here overnight for the Eclipse. Agree with the previous review. Rooms are a little dated but spacious.
Loved the quiet nook in the garden adjacent to RM 205!
However must make special mention of friendly check in on 13th. Arrived there early, and was advised that check-in is 1Pm. Staff member (unfortunately did not get her name) offered to look after baggage, wile so I could spend the intervening 3 hours looking around town.
For some the location may be a bit far from all the action in the City Centre. For those that prefer a quiet stay this may be an advantage, as there are frequent buses to and from the city.
A tip, if planning to take the airport shuttle book it online. Was informed that they do not take "Walk ups" to this location. Luckily I had an online booking and was also picked up promptly at 6am for departure.

Room Tip: Room 205 is non-smoking an tucked away in the corner. However washbasin tap was loose
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had a 2 week stay in this hotel. The rooms are a little dated but the staff are keen to help. Top marks to Steve & Trish. Very close to a mall, sports club & bus route. A comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevehe159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed for a few days, the staff were great and rooms were good value, much friendlier than the flash big hotels, this place is run by nice, genuine people

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane_Warne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
1.8 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
0.8 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#44 of 67 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Tropical Queenslander Hotel Cairns
2.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#7 of 67 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Tropical Garden Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Tropical Garden Motel

Address: 314 Mulgrave Road, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairns Tropical Garden Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
airns Tropical Gardens Motel and Conference Venue is the affordable choice for your travel or business accommodation, catering, entertainment or group gathering requirements. We also cater to our large north Queensland regional areas as the choice place for locals and company reps to visit during their shopping, educational and general city and industry access needs. So we have some delightful 'local chats' happening on the verandahs on many balmy evenings. We have 53 suites which include both motel and self contained apartment style accommodations, all of which lead onto Queensland style wrap around verandahs where you can relax, unwind and experience the Queensland tropics during your stay. Off street parking for cars, trailers and larger vehicles is freely available on site. Our function and conference rooms cater for a range of events from company and local meetings, training courses, trade displays to private dining and social or group events. Our poolside breakfast patio is also a great alfresco style venue for small groups to meet and discuss business matters to kick start the week's targets over a freshly cooked Australian breakfast. Cairns Tropical Gardens Motel is conveniently located approx 2km south of the hustle and bustle of Cairns central. A short stroll to the new DFO shopping plaza (approx. 140 Direct Factory shopping Outlets) and the Cazaly Football Club for your sports and entertainment pleasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cairns Tropical Garden Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing