We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can believe the hype!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at Jack and Newell Appartments for 7 nights in April 2014 with our family of 2+2. When you see a property with ratings this good, you can sometimes be sceptical, but Jack and Newell lived up to the hype we had read as the basis for our booking.
We had an 11th floor appartment and couldn't have been happier with it. The quality of the furnishings and appliances was excellent, the rooms spacious, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The appartment had a fully functioning kitchen with dishwasher, a seperate laundy with washer and dryer and also housed a 3rd toilet! Ceiling fans have been provided in each bedroom, the lounge and dining and also the balcony, and each bedroom also has its own A/C unit. Fast wireless internet was provided at no additional cost.
Location wise, within walking distance to the Esplanade and Marina front dining, great views of the marina and Trinity Inlet. We also had a hire car which we were able to park in the underground carpark in our designated park at no additional cost.
The staff are friendly and more than willing to provide advice on tours, eateries and activities.
All in all it was a great stay, and I would hapilly reccommend this property to other families.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poops_Au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Poops_Au. Really appreciate the feedback on your stay and are happy you enjoyed our apartments. We try to provide a homely stay with our decor and finishes and of course you can't beat the location. Thanks again for providing your positive feedback which I will pass along to the staff. Best regards from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 470 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We arrived at cairns to be welcomed by Chris with a big smile at the airport.Chris helped with our bags and drove us back to the apartments.We found David at reception also smiling and after introductions and the key ceremony we opened the door of our 3 bedroom apartment and the first words were 'very clean'.One of our group had a special request regarding bedding which was honoured without hesitation. Very happy with the location and would certainly book again.

Room Tip: Just ask David.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hello Neil F F and thanks for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed your time here. We will share your thoughts with the cleaning staff as they work very hard to provide a high level of cleanliness for guests. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your thought, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our first trip to Cairns and we were very happy with the apartment. We had chosen a 3 bedroom as we were travelling with children.The apartment was very nicely furnished and had a big balcony overlooking the harbour. David and Chris went out of their way to help us book the trips we wanted to go on and they even had a shopping trolley handy for the short walk to the supermarket. Even though we were on the quiet side of town, shops and restaurants are nearby (and David will guide you to the best ones).
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeidiKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thanks HeidiKG for your positive feedback. Our location is ideal with everything just a short stroll from us and glad you found it convenient. The balconies are very large so ideal to relax and have a meal overlooking the Marina and Trinity Inlet. Glad you enjoyed them. Best wishes from us all at Jack & Newell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked this place because of what we'd read on Trip Advisor and we weren't disappointed. It's the attention to detail that makes it so special, and the personal touch of the owners. David was on reception when we arrived and couldn't have been more helpful in advising us on how to get the best out of our trip.
We had a two bed apartment (Unit 501) which overlooked the front and was HUGE. Two bedrooms, each with their own bathroom, and a vast lunge and kitchen. There is also free Wifi which, believe me, isn't a given with a lot of hotels in this area.
There is a pool which is very nice and a small gym, and every guest is issued with a swipe fob which you need to get in to every single area - so the security is very good.
You can either go to the supermarket and cook your own food, or nearby there are literally hundreds of great places to eat, with a wide range of pricing.
The owners are on reception from 8am to 6pm, and after that you let yourself in and out of the building with your fob. There is a secure underground car park too and you don't get charged extra for using it.
Fabulous place, can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Unit 501 was our room and overlooked the harbour/sea
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graceface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hi Graceface
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our apartments really are large and comfortable just perfect for relaxing. We have increased our service and are now running a 24/7 help desk which will provide extra service to our guests.
Thanks so much for your review we really appreciate it and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

David (the manager) was great. His recommendations were excellent. He was very accommodating with all the tours, he set up everything for us. In our opinion, that help in and of itself was worth it. The apartment was great, no problem with ants. Beautiful view of the water and mountains across. If you book through Orbitz or another online website I recommend contacting David to let him know when your flight arrives. We showed up almost at midnight and assumed David had the flight information from Orbitz, but he doesn't get that info. We checked the box for a late arrival but he didn't know how late we were getting in. He doesn't man the desk 24 hrs so when the taxi dropped us off we didn't know what to do at first. We rang the manager phone from the outside intercom box and he came down, but we were nervous at the start. After that everything went well. I did have a problem with the washing machine, you can't open a front load washer machine after a load is started until it completes the wash cycle and releases the door. I wish I had known that. We highly recommend staying here. There are so many things to do in Cairns, it can be overwhelming, but David makes it easy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisaRay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hello ElisaRay M
Thanks so much for posting your thoughts on your stay. Cairns has so much to offer with activities and sightseeing and you certainly had some great adventures.
We are now running 24/7 which will help out our guests with late arrivals.
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and again thanks for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I found this hotel/apartment on Trip Advisor, and I am so happy. Stayed in a very clean & spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath with my adult sons and husband. We were on the 7th floor and had a beautiful view of the harbor and waterway. Walking distance to everything. Hats off to the most incredible hotel manager, David, he went out of his way to make sure we had a great experience. He helped us set up an amazing tour of the rain forest and also a tour to the Great Barrier Reef. Both tours were top notch! Prior to our stay I emailed David several times asking him for advise, he got back to me right away. Highly recommend Jack & Newells!

Room Tip: Deluxe 2 bedroom, upper floor with view!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizzy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thanks Dizzy5 for your feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your tours. Cairns has some amazing sights and it is very rewarding to be able to recommend the best options for our guests. Best wishes and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

6 adults stayed for 3 nights in an Oceanview apartment. The apartment had everything we needed and close to grocery stores. Actually, it was close to everything! We loved our stay and would definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rascoolbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hello Rascoolbreeze
We think the location is perfect with just a short stroll to everything and glad you found it to be so.
Thanks so much for providing your feedback, we appreciate it.
Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
3.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Address: 27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland 4970, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $228 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the CBD just a short stroll to the Marina, Lagoon and esplanade, convention center, casino, shopping, dining and children's playgrounds. Our 17 Self Contained Spacious Apartments contain,full kitchen and laundry facilities. Most have large balconies with magnificent water views. Your home away from home, this very secure residential apartment complex is quiet and ideal for a holiday break. Stock the fridge and kick back on the balcony and watch the boats sail by. Free WiFi, cable TV and car parking for all units. The complex also has a well equipped gymnasium and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing