We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best View and Layout” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best View and Layout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

As everyone else mentions its the service from the front desk and position which is the stand out from these apartments, very helpful from booking, advising which room and helpful when you are there and happy to have a chat. Position is great with a short easy walk to everything especially the marina for day trips and a quiet location with great natural views.

The 2 bed are really well laid out with the bed rooms+ensuite either side of the living area for privacy, the balcony is also very private so no need to hear or see the apartment next door. Furnishings are good standard, some stains on the carpets but expected otherwise great condition.

Only bad marks are the really tiny ants which were always on the dining table and kitchen bench (unexpected on 11th floor), we used the supplied bug spray but they kept coming back. Also had some mixups with a booked tour from the front desk: 10% discount was actually 5%, we noticed this immediately but didn't argue as it was still a discount and the return times didn't match what the operator wanted (2pm & 3pm return was actually 3:45pm only), can put this down to casual nature of the tour operator.

Haven't stayed anywhere else in Cairns but I doubt we would find better, be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: just tell them what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shortripeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a good time. Sorry about the ants. We call them ghost ants. Little tiny invaders. These and other "bugs" unfortunately are part of life in the tropics. They seem to come and go and always a good idea to keep food stuff away.
Thanks for sharing your experiences and the great location with us we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    59
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
263
65
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had a perfect stay in a three bed apartment, We have been here before and no hesitation in booking again. Only difference this time was the excellent care we received from David and Joelette (on site managers). Prior to arrival we informed David that Dad was a bit frail, what a great surprise when we found out David had arranged for a mobility scooter for Dad. The recently upgraded park opposite the apartments is a great place to begin your walk past the marina, esplanade swimming pool and to the northern end of the esplanade, excellent access for mobility scooters and wheelchairs. David booked "catch a crab'trip for us, made sure they were aware of dads mobility problems.Great views from the balcony, there is always something going on in Trinity Inlet , ships leaving, tug boats doing their thing, opposite the cruise liner terminal. Great location, a good place for locals to stay if a group are having night out in Cairns or a family get together. Thank you David and Joelette, couldn't do enough for us. Will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathyrose100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you Cathyrose100 for your wonderful feedback. So glad that you all enjoyed the time here and that our mobility scooter was helpful to you. The foreshore with the park and childrens playground is a real asset for guests staying here. Wonderful to look over from the balconies but also enjoyable. Best regards from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had a short holiday in Cairns in January, and booked a two bedroom apartment at the last minute. We managed to get quite a good deal via the Jack & Newell website. The apartment was great, exceeded expectations, as did the service by David, who gave us some great tips on where to eat locally (and where to avoid) and what to see in our short stay, and also tips on hire car, all worked out to be great advice and made for a really relaxing holiday with no hassles at all. Rooms were very clean, wifi was great and we had no problem with noise, although there was some kind of construction work during the day back in January (nothing to do with the hotel). I would highly recommend. Also, the views if you can get them, were gorgeous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks for the feedback and the time taken to submit it it is very much appreciated. The views are great...probably the best available in Cairns, being able to look across Trinity Inlet to the rain forests beyond and watch the boats coming and going up the inlet. Glad you enjoyed them and thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Rented a 2 bed apartment for myself, my girl friend and my brother and cousin.

Was very impressed by the attentive service David gave at the front desk, he was friendly and knowledgeable about the local area and helped us plan our stay. They even offer a 10% discount on local tour packages.

We were all impressed by the apartment, I had the master bedroom with master onsuite. There was a walk in wardrobe connecting our bathroom to the bedroom which the missus loved.

Bathroom had a separate shower + spa bath. All the main rooms had ceiling fans + air conditioning throughout. The guys took the twin room and had their own shower bath room.

The living room was spacious with a large dining table, 2x sofas, flat screen tv and a large balcony overlooking the port.

Location was fab- we were only a stones throw away from all the nightlife and from where the reef tours would leave from. However i do have to point out that we were far enough away that it wasn't noisy and we didn't get any drunken back packer/ student traffic.

Kitchen was fitted with all mod cons and an enormous fridge / freezer .

There is a little swimming pool / outside area which is nice enough.

My only slight gripe is that the gym is in bad need of an update. When we went - a lot of the weights machines were pretty dated and a few were non functional.

This was hardly a deal breaker and would definitely stay here again if the chance arises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_Three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello Red_Three. It was great to have you here. Glad you enjoyed our apartments and your stay with us. We have since bought a few new pieces of gym equipment and its looking good. Really appreciate the feedback. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Two couples shared a 2 bdrm 2 bath apt here. It was outstanding! The apt was huge with a better kitchen than many homes. The balcony (water view) was lovely. It came with everything travelers needed. And if not in the apt, then the onsite managers (David & Joelette) provided everything else from umbrellas to coolers to beach towels. They also had good suggestions for excursions and tours. We would highly recommend it-great location for restaurants, reef excursions and CBD.

Room Tip: If possible get a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you Robyn A for the feedback. Always more comfortable to have a bit of space when you are on holidays. Glad you enjoyed your stay in Cairns and that we were able to play a part in that. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My brother and I stayed at Jack and Newell Luxury appartments for a few days before and after a GBR diving trip. The experience was excellent, definitely luxurious! Very clean, quiet, easy walking distance to entertainment, balcony overlooking the water, and cheaper then 2 hotel rooms we would have otherwise booked. We also got great recommendations on local trips from the manager.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Hello Sege362 glad you and your brother enjoyed your time in Cairns. It is often cheaper to stay in a self contained apartment than a hotel but on top of that you get so much more comfort and space. Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyangula
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Members of our family booked 4 apartments, for a family gathering to celebrate a significant birthday. All apartments were of a high standard, were extrememly well equipped and very clean. There were many extras, like plunger coffee, insect repellant, shopping buggy for a trip to the supermarket, just to mention a few.The managers, David and Joelette gave outstanding service and were friendly and professional. They even had a box of goodies delivered for my Mum's birthday! The apartments are very conveniently located. We were all impressed and I would highly recommend these apartments.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more extensive views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie57_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thanks for choosing us for your mothers special occasion. So glad you all enjoyed your stay here and that you were all able to get together in the one place and celebrate such a milestone. Thanks for the feedback we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
3.8 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Property: Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Address: 27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the CBD just a short stroll to the Marina, Lagoon and esplanade, convention center, casino, shopping, dining and children's playgrounds. Our 17 Self Contained Spacious Apartments contain,full kitchen and laundry facilities. Most have large balconies with magnificent water views. Your home away from home, this very secure residential apartment complex is quiet and ideal for a holiday break. Stock the fridge and kick back on the balcony and watch the boats sail by. Free WiFi, cable TV and car parking for all units. The complex also has a well equipped gymnasium and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing