We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
$126
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$155
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$243
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$187
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$114
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$151
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$93
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$105
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveler rating
402
61
12
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
402
61
12
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentthese apartmentstrinity inletgreat apartmentlarge balconyshort walkwithin walking distanceexcellent staya great place to staystayed for nightsfull kitchenwashing powderwasher and dryerperfect locationfree wifithe great barrier reefbeach towels
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 483 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The real deal was even better than we had hoped! The two apartments we had booked were very spacious and very comfortable, and the kitchen was well stocked with utensils, pots and pans. The views from the apartments were wonderful - especially the sunrise over the mountains. Jack & Newell is located pretty much close to everything, which made it super easy to get around as we we could walk to most things.

David, the resident manager, was amazingly friendly and helpful, booking trips, organising discounts and regularly checking that we were having a good time and everything was running smoothly. He was more than obliging in organising a wheelchair for us and on our last day loaned us towels to use when we went to Josephine Falls (David's excellent recommendation for a half-day trip) so we didn't have to travel home with our wet towels :-).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Fantastic that you enjoyed your visit. Josephine Falls is really magical and great swimming. Great that you were able to fill in that 1/2 day with a visit to such a beautiful natural attraction. Thanks so much Sarah P. for your feedback we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A really great place to stay at within Cairns. David, the Manager, made it just that little bit extra with all the help and guidance he gave. From sorting out car hire, giving us a touring route to do, bringing us a shopping trolly, beach towels and a Cool Box.
The Apartment was really great, clean and all the facilities you need.
Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimTitleyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and thanks for taking the time to provide it. Glad you enjoyed your stay. There are some great self drive tours in the local area that are truly spectacular and also they offer a more affordable option than some of the organized tours and we are glad you enjoyed our recommend route. Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Not just saying that, it realy was the best. Arrived just before 5am, with good instructions (and a follow up call and email to make sure) on how to check-in.
The appartment was well furnished, not the usual cheap stuff, but good quality gear which makes the stay very comfortable. They views of Trinity Inlet are spectacular especially taking breakfast on the balcony.
I have to say the best feature is the guys running the place. Dave and Joelette did everything they could to make our stay memorable. They did so much more than they needed to which is definitely what you don't get with the bigger companies. After spening as much time as we wanted explaining the trips, Dave booked them, hired us a car and got us a discount, all we had to do is turn up.
We can't recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the Trinity Inlet views
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkOldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hello MarkOldfield and thanks so much for your feedback. It is very rewarding for us to receive it and we appreciate you taking the time to do it. We enjoy helping people make the most of their holidays and your comments are our job satisfaction. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

WOW!! What can I say??? This property totally exceeded my expectations......Not too many holiday rentals can live up to their own "hype"........It was immaculately clean. It was fully appointed with all the amenities you could want. It was spacious and airy. Our unit had a water/harbor view. It had a very large lanai with a large table for six, which allowed for "al fresco" dining........It was in immediate proximity to all the best restaurants on the harbor and the city center.The service is what REALLY sets this property apart from it's competitors. David and his wife were delightful. Nothing, but nothing was too much trouble for them. We were greeted with a lovely holiday "goodie bag" with all kinds of munchies and a lovely bottle of sparkling wine!! We booked ALL our activities through David. This included our Reef trip and our rental car (which was not an easy feat for David, due to the Christmas holidays!!) Our vehicle was delivered to the door and picked up at the door. A seamless transaction.....WOW! We accepted David's recommendations on what to see and where to go. It made our holiday very, very special. It was old fashioned, personal service.These days, this kind of service is normally reserved for only the best five star hotels. Well, I can tell you it IS available the Jack and Newell Apartments. This was an exceptional experience. I travel for business, so I know of which I speak. I would not hesitate to recommend this to business associates or friends. I will be back. I encourage anyone with business or pleasure plans in the Cairns area to stay here. You will not be sorry............KUDOS to them!! Sincerely, R. McQuade

Room Tip: If you can, get a suite on the harbor side. The views at sunrise/sunset are memorable. You can also see the cruise ships dock.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robertam187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hello Robertatam187 and thanks for your feedback. It is very satisfying to us to read your comments and we are so glad you enjoyed our Cairns hospitality. We appreciate the feedback and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Fantastic location, within walking distance to tours, shopping and restaurants. The apartments have everything you need with good quality appliances and utensils. Beds are comfortable and I slept well every night. The apartment complex has a pool and bbq area, it just doesn't get any better. Now the best part of it all was the manager, David was funny and a great help with everything,.bookings and general knowledge and advice on tours. I can't say enough about the place you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thanks Mark S for taking the time to leave a review. There are a multitude of tour options in Cairns and we are always happy to help guests choose the best options for them. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews