We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best lodging in our visit to Australia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Free wifi in the rooms (the only hotel on our Australia trip where we found free wifi). David at the front desk greeted us by name daily and was able to get us discounts on tours, beach towels, and a shopping cart to use to get groceries. The room was large and well equipped. And the kitchen in the apartment allowed us to cook a few meals which saved us a lot of money.

And I loved the Flying Foxes (large fruit bats) flying overhead in downtown Cairns at sunset.

Room Tip: View of the marina is great.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

The free WiFi is very popular. As we have individual WiFi connections in each room there is normally a really good speed.The full kitchen in every apartment certainly offers a good oportunity to save some money by self catering and why not. With such magnificent views from the balcony no better place to eat. Thanks so much for leaving a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 470 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at these apartments for 7 nights during October, our apartment was well catered for and extremely clean.Dave and Joelette the managers were really friendly,knowledgeable in regards to trips and local areas of interest and very helpful when it came to assisting us with car hire.The car hire firm picked us up from the apartment and also collected the car when we had finished with it, really good service and reasonably priced. The facitilities were all close to hand and within reasonable walking distances, shops,pubs,restaurants, lagoon etc made it an easy and enjoyable stay. I agree with the other reviewers though that the noise from the building works opposite made it difficult to sleep in.When it is completed though the boardwalk and terminal will be a good attraction. Overall a great place to stay and I have already recommended it to friends and work colleagues.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernadetteC701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay. The car companies we use provide a great service delivering a car to you here and then picking it up when you are done. It is a great convenience. The park construction is now finished and adds a great aspect to the magnificent views. Thanks for taking the time to leave you thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the 11th floor in October 2012.
2x adults and 1x 6 year old.
David & Joelette were wonderful hosts. They were very friendly and helpful and also have a cupboard full of toys, games, books and dvd's which my daughter loved and swapped daily.
The apartment was spotless. Everything you could possibly need and more and to a very high standard. Much larger than expected and the spa bath was a lovely surprise. We also made use of the pool, gym and secure parking.
We had a fantastic view and although they was some construction over the road it wasn't a problem as we were out during the day and they had always finished for the day before we returned. Also when that area is finished it will be a fantastic public space especially for guests with children.
The location is perfect, a short walk to the city, restaurants, bars, casino, waterfront etc.
We will definately stay again when we next visit Cairns

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you so much for the great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The views are great and now that the construction is finished the park is open for use and the playground is fantastic for the kids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent 12 nights here in a well appointed and spotless apartment overlooking the harbour and handily located close to shops, marina, Esplanade, Lagoon, Casino and eateries. We were in a three bedroom, 11th floor apartment and although externally it can be occasionally noisy (you are in a large town) the view was fantastic and we spent many evenings dining on the balcony. If you are looking at doing any excursions I would recommend contacting Dave (manager) prior to booking as he has some great local knowledge and didn't steer us wrong on any occasion. Our apartment was fully air conditioned and had ceiling fans in all rooms while the complex has a private pool and gym facilities.

Room Tip: the higher the better to enjoy the view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cairns2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

It is very satisfying to us to see guests immerse themselves in their holiday and really enjoy and experience it. The balance between relaxation and tours/sightseeing is sometimes difficult to achieve and we enjoy being able to assist with this. It was great to see you have an enjoyable holiday and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

During October 2012, our family (2 adults/2 children) stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the 5th floor facing Wharf St. The Terminal in front of our apartment is undergoing construction, at least until the end of October, and the noise from the construction site can be distracting if you want to spend time during the day on the balcony. The construction site extends and affects several apartments blocks and Hotels along Wharf St. The apartment we stayed in was very spacious, well maintained and equipped. It is very central and an easy walk to facilities and places of interest, David, the Resident manager, was more than helpful during our trip - his advice on things to do and places to see was always given with our best interests in mind and made our trip very enjoyable and memorable. Based on our experience we would recommend the Jack & Newell apartments to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMac1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to help achieve that. We look forward to being able to accommodate you next time you visit Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just had a great week with the family in Cairns staying at the Jack and Newell apartments. The rooms were clean and the manger (Dave) very helpful with his recommendations and advice. The location is excellent as the town centre, marina and Lagoon are only a short walk away.

The only reason I have marked it down to "average" (I would have put "good" but it's not an option) is because of the building site opposite (see photo). For us it wasn't a big deal as we were out most of the day visiting the many attractions. However, if you want a quiet holiday sitting on the balcony the noise would certainly be a factor. I'm not sure when the work will finish but the development will certainly enhance the area especially given the planned kids playground. The rubbish is also collected very early by a garbage truck that tends to wake you up at about 06:15. Perhaps not a bad thing given the amount of things to do in Cairns.

The only "issue" we had with the apartment itself was the lack of block out curtains in the bedrooms. The sun rises directly through the bedroom windows in the morning and this may be a problem for those with young kids. There were a couple of maintenance issues involving the ceiling fans that have been reported and will no doubt be fixed. .

As others have mentioned the pool area is basic and the BBQ area comprises of a paved courtyard. You probably won't be spending a lot of time here given the close proximety to the Lagoon and beautiful beaches.

In summary, a great place to stay for an active family. For those wanting to spend time reading on the balcony perhaps they should look elsewhere until the building works are completed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and we appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The construction over the road is nearing completion and expected date was end of October. This area will be a real bonus for guests at Jack and Newell as it will encompass a fantastic children's playground (with a tree house), BBQ's and park. It is really exciting to be able to offer such a magnificent area for guests right on our doorstep. Best regards and thanks again for taking the time to share your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We rented a one bedroom for a week. The apartments are large and comfy - I could easily envision living there as a permanent resident. The furniture was in good shape, the kitchen large well appropriated with white goods. There were a number of tiny ants, but difficult to keep these completely out in the tropics and never found any in the food.
The location is also superb. Being just east of the Reef Casino, at the east end of the esplanade, two small city blocks to shopping and dining. Quiet and secure. I see a reviewer who gave a poor rating for the ongoing construction across the street as being very noisy. there was some heavy machinery, and trucks, but nothing ever started before 7am, and the noise level was of very little consequence - we sat out on the deck and enjoyed the views every day.
Highly recommend for the traveling family of couple.

Room Tip: at the high end for travelers. More for those looking for an apartment, not someone wanting room ser...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjbrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newell2729, Manager at Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Glad to see you enjoyed your stay. One attraction of the apartments is that it does feel like you live here when you stay. The perfect location and magnificent views are a bonus! Thanks for the review we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
3.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Address: 27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland 4970, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $228 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the CBD just a short stroll to the Marina, Lagoon and esplanade, convention center, casino, shopping, dining and children's playgrounds. Our 17 Self Contained Spacious Apartments contain,full kitchen and laundry facilities. Most have large balconies with magnificent water views. Your home away from home, this very secure residential apartment complex is quiet and ideal for a holiday break. Stock the fridge and kick back on the balcony and watch the boats sail by. Free WiFi, cable TV and car parking for all units. The complex also has a well equipped gymnasium and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing