We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chris Frost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We had a great stay. The facilities were good and the staff extremely helpful re helping us with what to do and how to go about it. The apartments are in a great locality, close to CBD and resturaunts. We would definitely choose Jack & Newell Cairns again. This was my second stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 25, 2011

Thanks Chris. Great that it was such a short stroll to the convention center...shame you had to work. See you next time hopefully for a 100% leisure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 474 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

this would have to be the most pleasant place in the whole of Cairns
exceptional apartments that are close to everything

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank damianmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 7, 2011

It is a great spot isn't it? Thanks for staying and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had a wonderful time- the apartment was perfect for our whole family: Mum, Dad, 2 kids and Nan and Grandad. We had plenty of room for everyone and the view from the balcony was spectacular! We enjoyed being able to walk to the Lagoon pool for a swim, and plenty of dining options nearby too.
The staff were friendly and helpful and the unit was great. Thank you for a great week in Cairns!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 7, 2011

There are a lot of restaurants near here aren't there. With that and the shopping it can be dangerous to the wallet!. So glad you enjoyed your time here and thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Jack and Newell apartments is in the right part of Cairns. Just a short walk to the terrific Cairns lagoon, shops, supermarkets and the wharf that takes you on all the boating tours to the islands and reef. The apartment managers were outstanding, providing terrific service. David came to talk to us about everything we could do in Cairns, on the day we arrived. He took our luggage to our apartment while we were out which I'm sure he didn't have to do, and they always had friendly smiles whenever we came and went. The only drawback was the pool area which needs a few plants/landscaping, a new bbq and a bit more life, but the pool is very clean, useable and big enough. It just felt a bit barren and uninviting. The whole place is spotless and presents very well. Our apartment was very spacious and light and we had a beautiful view of the water and the wharf from our large balcony. We loved that we could walk everywhere. The building is very secure, provides secure undercover parking, and the free wifi was great. I would recommend the apartments as a great place to stay in Cairns, for those who expect fantastic service, prefer an apartment to a hotel and are happy to go to the close-by lagoon to swim.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 7, 2011

Glad you enjoyed your stay. Its great that the location is so close to everything especially when you have children. Regards to the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Excellent stay, David was helpful and friendly. Great size apartments, well kitted out kitchen, and all the equipment we needed. Great views from the 11th floor balcony. The apartment was friendly for our crawling 11month old, and the comfy couch suitable for our almost 4 year old!! (Pity there was not more kids channels on the austar network- nick jr would have been helpful!). The location of these apartments is fantastic, at the quiet end of the Cairns city hub, yet only a couple of minutes walk to the esplanade. We were easily able to walk to the lagoon and Muddys water playground to entertain the kids. Only suggestion was the pool area could do with some 'softening' a few umbrellas, large pots, screens and landscaping would make it much more inviting. But that is only grasping at straws! (and you dont need the pool with the lagoon so close)
Would not hesitate to stay here again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 7, 2011

Great that you had those nearby activities for the kids. Thanks for choosing us and we are looking forward to your return. (just think of the view and the holiday you want/need!!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Great location, wonderful view, comfortable beds, more spacious than a hotel room (unless you pay much more than we wanted to). The manager, David, was always friendly and helpful. The little touch I liked most was that the windows had been opened before we arrived so the apartment smelt fresh and was beautifully cool. Would definitely stay here again if we return to Cairns.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catriona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at Jack & Newell to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. The apartment was fabulous! Beautiful view over the inlet and mountains, lovely furnishings, clean, comfortable, excellent value and very roomy. Great location, close to everything - I would definitely stay again and bring the whole family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaz2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
3.8 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,333 reviews
1.6 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 63 in Cairns
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments

Address: 27 Wharf Street, Cairns, Queensland 4970, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range: $203 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the CBD just a short stroll to the Marina, Lagoon and esplanade, convention center, casino, shopping, dining and children's playgrounds. Our 17 Self Contained Spacious Apartments contain,full kitchen and laundry facilities. Most have large balconies with magnificent water views. Your home away from home, this very secure residential apartment complex is quiet and ideal for a holiday break. Stock the fridge and kick back on the balcony and watch the boats sail by. Free WiFi, cable TV and car parking for all units. The complex also has a well equipped gymnasium and an outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing