We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cairns Sharehouse is awesome!!”
Review of Cairns Sharehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cairns Sharehouse
Ranked #29 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Baralaba
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cairns Sharehouse is awesome!!”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at the Carins Sharehouse for three months and had the best time ever! We only planned to stay for one month but loved it so much we had to stay. The staff in the office (Tammy, Phil and Cathy) couldnt be more freindly or more helpful and made our time in Cairns really special.
The sharehouse apartments are clean, tidy and modern and way better than any hostel we have been in. You get to meet loads of new people who become good mates and the office staff make sure you are placed with like minded people.
We couldnt reccommend the sharehouse enough and have told every backpacker on our travels that if heading to cairns they HAVE to stay with the Cairns Sharehouse.
It is great value for money- hostels are about the same price but without any of the benefits offered by the sharehouse.
Dont think twice, definitely stay here!!

Room Tip: If you are a backpacker ask to stay at 300 Draper street
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alix W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
25
62
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The Cairns Share house was an amazing stay, we stayed for three months and met some awesome people and our Cairns experience was made by this accommodation. The staff are really friendly and will help you with anything. The flat we stayed in was modern, clean and had everything you needed.

Room Tip: Go for 80 Martyn st, its one of there newest properties and has a pool out the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I have stayed with Cairns Sharedhouse on numerous visits to Cairns and can not fault them. The relaxed feeling of have own room and space can not be beaten, and much out weighs the hostel route..
The price is also very attractive for an extended stay. The amount of discounts that can be found by using the members card are amazing and I challenge anyone to use them ALL.
The staff and management are all very helpfully with local knowledge and idea whatever you are into. If any problems arise a quick call to Phil in the office is all it takes to sort it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxCAIRNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I’m not sure where to start, but all I can say is that the Cairns Sharehouse is and will remain one of my biggest and best memories during my travels. I met some fantastic people through the Cairns Sharehouse and enjoyed every second there. I first stayed at the Cairns Sharehouse back in September 2010 for 3 months and could not believe what you could get for your money. The staff are so friendly, the houses are clean, well looked after and you have the luxury of having your own room, tv, dvd player - its great! There is plenty of activities to take part in while your in Cairns including a trip to the Great Barrier Reef, visit one of the islands (Fitzroy Island is my favourite), Rafting, Rainforests, Waterfalls, Beaches, Lagoon, Camping, Bungee jumps and the rest! There is so much to see and do I returned to Cairns in February/March 2011 and of course stayed at the Cairns Sharehouse again :). I would highly recommend the Cairns Sharehouse to all travellers, it beats a hostel any day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Great clean rooms and apartment. Not too far walk from town. Staff were very helpful and great value for money would highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfcfcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Cairns sharehouse for two and a half months in July wilst we worked for a couple of months in Cairns during a seven months travel trip. The sharehouse was good value and we got to meet some lovely people whilst living with in one of the complexes. I would definitely reccommend the apartments to other travellers looking for cheap but comfortable accomodation. The room we had was basic but with TV, but there are many different options available depending on what your budget is.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysareheaven29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Totally worth it if you are planning to stay in Cairns more than one week. Clean SINGLE rooms, good location, few roommates. It's a home, not a hostel. You get your own space, and you share with a max of 8 people at a time. It's an awesome way to live while in Cairns. Never found a better or cheaper alternative. Cairns sharehouse gives you your money's worth. The staff is super friendly and they have great deals on bars, restaurants and tours around town. 100% recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joker656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
0.1 mi away
Ryan's Rest
Ryan's Rest
#49 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#24 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.1 mi away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#13 of 85 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#38 of 85 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sharehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sharehouse

Property: Cairns Sharehouse
Address: 17 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Sharehouse are booking agents for a range of short or long term accommodation options in private or share apartments and houses in Cairns City. Rooms are available to rent from 1 week up to several months and is the perfect way to live in Cairns like a local at a reasonable price. From budget to luxury, all the homes are fully furnished and central. Small, family run business with fantastic staff and you will always be met by a smile! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing