We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always the service and friendliness of all staff was great!!”
Review of Cairns Sharehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cairns
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cairns Sharehouse
Ranked #28 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Redhill, United Kingdom
1 review
“As always the service and friendliness of all staff was great!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I have stayed with Cairns Sharedhouse on numerous visits to Cairns and can not fault them. The relaxed feeling of have own room and space can not be beaten, and much out weighs the hostel route..
The price is also very attractive for an extended stay. The amount of discounts that can be found by using the members card are amazing and I challenge anyone to use them ALL.
The staff and management are all very helpfully with local knowledge and idea whatever you are into. If any problems arise a quick call to Phil in the office is all it takes to sort it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxCAIRNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
26
62
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I’m not sure where to start, but all I can say is that the Cairns Sharehouse is and will remain one of my biggest and best memories during my travels. I met some fantastic people through the Cairns Sharehouse and enjoyed every second there. I first stayed at the Cairns Sharehouse back in September 2010 for 3 months and could not believe what you could get for your money. The staff are so friendly, the houses are clean, well looked after and you have the luxury of having your own room, tv, dvd player - its great! There is plenty of activities to take part in while your in Cairns including a trip to the Great Barrier Reef, visit one of the islands (Fitzroy Island is my favourite), Rafting, Rainforests, Waterfalls, Beaches, Lagoon, Camping, Bungee jumps and the rest! There is so much to see and do I returned to Cairns in February/March 2011 and of course stayed at the Cairns Sharehouse again :). I would highly recommend the Cairns Sharehouse to all travellers, it beats a hostel any day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckyg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Great clean rooms and apartment. Not too far walk from town. Staff were very helpful and great value for money would highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfcfcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Cairns sharehouse for two and a half months in July wilst we worked for a couple of months in Cairns during a seven months travel trip. The sharehouse was good value and we got to meet some lovely people whilst living with in one of the complexes. I would definitely reccommend the apartments to other travellers looking for cheap but comfortable accomodation. The room we had was basic but with TV, but there are many different options available depending on what your budget is.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysareheaven29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Totally worth it if you are planning to stay in Cairns more than one week. Clean SINGLE rooms, good location, few roommates. It's a home, not a hostel. You get your own space, and you share with a max of 8 people at a time. It's an awesome way to live while in Cairns. Never found a better or cheaper alternative. Cairns sharehouse gives you your money's worth. The staff is super friendly and they have great deals on bars, restaurants and tours around town. 100% recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joker656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed in a Cairns Sharehouse for 2 months over the Aussie Winter and we had an amazing stay. We met some great friends from all over the world and had some awesome parties (in our hottub). Cairns Sharehouse were very helpful with sorting out not only accomodation but employment, travel needs and even social events (football every week). We would definitely recommend it to couples or singles who are staying longish term in Cairns. 100% better than Gillingans.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinCoulthurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Cairns sharehouse is the perfect place for working travellers who want to meet new people but also want the opportunity of privacy as well. The staff are really friendly and are always there to help make your stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky09_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Corona Backpackers
Corona Backpackers
#40 of 85 in Cairns
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#22 of 85 in Cairns
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gecko's Backpackers
Gecko's Backpackers
#12 of 85 in Cairns
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ryan's Rest
Ryan's Rest
#51 of 85 in Cairns
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#10 of 85 in Cairns
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairns Sharehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairns Sharehouse

Property: Cairns Sharehouse
Address: 17 Scott St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cairns Sharehouse are booking agents for a range of short or long term accommodation options in private or share apartments and houses in Cairns City. Rooms are available to rent from 1 week up to several months and is the perfect way to live in Cairns like a local at a reasonable price. From budget to luxury, all the homes are fully furnished and central. Small, family run business with fantastic staff and you will always be met by a smile! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing