We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cheese platters”
Review of Gallo DairyLand

Gallo DairyLand
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.33*
and up
Brett's Outback Tasting Adventures from Cairns
Ranked #14 of 123 things to do in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely cheese platters”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We turned up around lunchtime and bypassed the tastings and got a cheese platter which had about 4 or 5 cheeses and biscuits, fruit etc. We got the small one (approx $17) which was quite reasonable and perfect for 2 people. Very tasty cheeses and the kids loved their toasted sandwiches. The chocolates looked great but didn't buy any as they were expensive - like any handmade chocolates. Lovely setting for lunch, staff were friendly too. Unfortunately we didn't stay long as the place smelt of the cows way too much - was difficult to enjoy lunch when the smell wafted in everytime someone opened the door.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    204
    57
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Rock, NSW, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Cheese, Tempting Chocolates and Good Food”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

You can always tell the quality of a place by whether it's patronised by the locals and this establishment fills the bill. We purchased some excellent cheeses and were given a generous tasting of the local fair...same with the chocolates. Stopped by on another day and enjoyed a fine lunch. Cheery efficient service. Recommended.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Alphwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“World Class Chesse”
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Went on NYE 2010 as it was our last day in Queensland, This place is awesome we didnt have lunch there but we wanted to go for the chesse!

Took a little time to get a chesse taste as there were a few people in front of us but all the chesse was great, I think i ended buying 30 dollars worth to take back to Sydney, The place isnt huge and i don't think they were making any chesse but the girls serving everyone were nice fast and polite.

And then the best part was it was on a FARM! Me being born and bred in the city thought this was great seeing all the pigs and cows and sheep and things you could even go up and pat them and stuff....Good times.

(To The previous reviewer...Its on a farm? Of course its gonna smell like poo!)

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank KaneTheUndertaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1 review
“Family friendly, but don't go out of your way.”
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We visited Gallo Dairyland as part of a self-drive tour of the Tablelands region. It’s set amongst rolling green hills. You know you’re at a dairy as soon as you open the car door and can’t help but to breathe in the pungent aroma of cow poo. The shopfront is a fairly modern looking building with what seems to be a rather out of place Cassowary statue out the front. Fortunately, the cow poo smell does not follow you inside.

Inside there are display cases of cheese, ice cream and chocolate, all available for purchase. In addition, there is a souvenir corner with dairy and Tablelands related products. You can watch the chocolates being hand made. A few kids were watching when we first arrived. I went and checked out the cheese making viewing room. Unfortunately, no cheese was being made at the time; a man was cleaning out the vat. At 3pm every day, visitors can watch the cows being milked. We didn’t stay for this.

The kitchen offers a range of hot foods, in addition to cheese platters. We ordered basic ham, cheese and tomato toasted sandwiches. These were $7.50 each, which I thought was a little steep. They arrived with 4 wedges on the side (at the time, this reminded me about Verdant’s comment that everything comes with chips). I had a bottle of water, which I think was about $3. Mum had a milkshake – can’t remember the cost. There are other drinks available for purchase. The dining area has somewhat of a cafeteria quality about it. It wasn’t very busy while we were there as it was a little late, but it was very noisy nevertheless.

Gallo offers an interesting variety of handmade chocolates. Being a chocoholic, I decided to buy a few. They’re not cheap and I must say I was rather disappointed with the quality of them considering the price. They were not a patch on Haigh’s (an Adelaide icon).

Helpful?
Thank Penelope_Keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cheese”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We did a ticky tour of the Cairns surrounds and was hoping to save the best for last with Gallo Dairyland. It was just so,so. The cheese maker had the day off so we didn't see him in action. When we walked and and asked to look at the menu one lady rudely informed us we had 10 minutes to order as the kitchen was closing, so we didn't bother. As well as the fact you could get a cheese platter but not wine to go with it wasn't what we were hoping for. The lady behind the cheese counter was lovely however and let us try every cheese we desired. The stand outs were the camenbert and the chedder, we bought a round of the camenbert for later on which tasted even better on a water cracker with a glass of Pinot Gris. We also bought some chocolates which were beautiful albiet expensive - a taste test would have inticed us to buy more.

Helpful?
Thank Spottete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo DairyLand also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Gallo DairyLand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing