We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
Review of The Hanuman Restaurant - CLOSED

The Hanuman Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Situated inside the Hilton Cairns Hotel and overlooking the Trinity Inlet, Hanuman Cairns is the latest addition to the Hanuman stable.Gently undulating panels cast curves of light and shade across the restaurant's entrance, creating an exotic and luxuriant mood. The rich, dark tones in the furnishings combine with intriguing artworks and ceramics that Jimmy has collected throughout south-east Asia.A visit to Hanuman Cairns will tantalise all the senses before wowing the taste buds as only Hanuman can.
Brisbane, Qld
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The food at this restaurant is amazing - absolutely delicious, with an excellent menu that includes a large range of gluten free and vegetarian choices. A must do when in Cairns

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CCAlderley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanCairns1, Manager at The Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear CC Alderley
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal the service and the atmosphere at Hanuman Cairns and hope we can welcome you back on your next trip to Far North Queensland.
Regards
Marcus Kerschbaumer
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    51
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average dining”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were really looking forward to this supposed fine dining experience that others had recommended to us. WE were extremely disappointed. We could have got the same meal, or better, at the chinese shop down the road for about quarter of the price! Nice setting, but budget furnishings, good service but average food. Twice we had staff come out to tell us the dishes we had ordered weren't available....disappointing. And whatever you do,DON"T order the liqueur coffees! Absolutely undrinkable, and we noticed we weren't the only ones in the restaurant with the same reaction to them! To finish off, we paid a bill that was far overpriced from anywhere else we've ever dined! Will not return again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda5674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanCairns1, Manager at The Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Amanda5674
Thank you for taking the time to review us via tripadvisor, please be assured that your comments have been well communicated with the owner and the head chef of Hanuman Cairns, i have written you a personal message regarding your review.
regards
Marcus Kerschbaumer
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Yum!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Amazing food - Great selection - fresh tasty and modern. We also received great service with a table of 10 or so people all receiving our meals together and in a timely manner. Fantastic. Highly Recommend,

Helpful?
Thank Traveller_kw90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanCairns1, Manager at The Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear traveller_kw90
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass your comments onto Jimmy Shu and the Hanuman team. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Marcus Kerschbaumer
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion Food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice evening meal with good choice of Asian fusion food.

Excellent breakfast with fantastic choice which would set you up for the day.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanCairns1, Manager at The Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Bridget C
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us via tripadvisor, your positiv comments are greatly appreciated and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

regards
Marcus Kerschbaumer
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ALWAYS TEN out of TEN”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We are locals and have dined at Hanuman too many times to count; it is our all time favourite and one we save for the very specialist of occasions as a couple and take friends and visitors as a loophole to our rule...
5/3/13 was our 8th wedding anniversary and once again Hanuman excelled in every area...tasting plate is a must and too the special creme brûlée with hidden black rice pudding is too die for...exceptional discrete service and elegant romantic atmosphere_ love it...thanks again Hanuman - you never disappoint !!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyandLexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanumanCairns1, Manager at The Hanuman Restaurant, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Andi and Lexi
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us via tripadvisor, i am delighted to read that you enjoyed your meals the service and the atmoshere at hanuman cairns,your positive feedback is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to pass your comments onto Jimmy Shu and the Hanuman team. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
regards
Marcus Kerschbaumer
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hanuman Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing