We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From a local - consistently the best food in Cairns, not service though”
Review of The Hanuman Restaurant - CLOSED

The Hanuman Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Situated inside the Hilton Cairns Hotel and overlooking the Trinity Inlet, Hanuman Cairns is the latest addition to the Hanuman stable.Gently undulating panels cast curves of light and shade across the restaurant's entrance, creating an exotic and luxuriant mood. The rich, dark tones in the furnishings combine with intriguing artworks and ceramics that Jimmy has collected throughout south-east Asia.A visit to Hanuman Cairns will tantalise all the senses before wowing the taste buds as only Hanuman can.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“From a local - consistently the best food in Cairns, not service though”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Love the food here. Absolutely every dish is dynamite. Hanuman oysters are to die for. Also love red ducky curry and thai crispy whole fish. Beautiful setting looking out to the palm trees, water and gardens, good air-con. Shocking service and unfortunately this has always let this place down. It would be our favourite restaurant in Cairns except for the uncoordinated service. Not really rude, just not switched-on. Trying to make a reservation is a challenge in itself. Do the chefs a favour and make the service as brilliant as the food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jane_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    51
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Went to Hanuman awhile ago with my husband and friends. I was restricted a bit in my choices as I was pregnant (could not eat oysters etc) but aside from that the food was excellent. It certainly lives up to its reputation. I loved that paneer dumplings and their prawn curry. I just wish I could have eaten more :)

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee_Nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food good ambience”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Very interesting menu, short of a fusion place with Indian, Nonya and Thai mixed. Good ambience. Located inside Cairns Hilton Hotel. I will give overall 5 star if service was as good.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampton_Lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

best indian we've ever had, tasting plate was a treat! service was ok, although our pappadums never came, and even came up on the bill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pennypoopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A lucky find for our favourite meal in Cairns!”
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We found Hanuman on Tripadvisor and gave it a try based on a few good reviews here.

Hanuman is situated in the Hilton Hotel and you can find it by entering the main entrance and walking through the foyer.

When we arrived there was a large group of around 10-12 waiting to be seated and the only complaint of the night was that it did take a while for the large table ahead of us to be seated and then we waited a few minutes to be seen to.

Once our table of 5 was seated we were provided with prompt, courteous and efficient service despite the restaurant being quite busy with a large birthday table and another table of around 20 people.

Our favourite meals of the night were the tasting plate entree, chicken tikka masala, lamb madras, kapitan prawns and the crème brulee with sticky rice.

All of our meals were fresh, flavoursome and delicious and we all left very full and satisfied.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ocahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hanuman Restaurant also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing