We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal, Highly recommended”
other traveler has booked this property
Exterior of house .  Carport  for one car with additional park space in driveway. Fenced garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of house .  Carport  for one car with additional park space in driveway. Fenced garden
Front Verandah screened from the street by palms Back garden  Private with lots of space for Children to play
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Exterior of house .  Carport  for one car with additional park space in driveway. Fenced garden
Front Verandah screened from the street by palms
Back garden  Private with lots of space for Children to play
Master bedroom - Queen bed, air conditioned, ceiling fan, TV.
Ensuite to master bedroom - shower , basin and toilet
Bedroom 2 - twin singles (king size) Air conditioned, ceiling fan.
Bedroom 3 - twin singles, air conditioned, ceiling fan
Bathroom - 2 basins, bath with shower (separate W.C)
Bedroom 4 - lower ground floor beside the back patio - Queen bed, Air conditioned, ceiling fan
Kitchen - dishwasher, microwave, gas cook top electric oven  open plan to dining and living area
Living room - comfy leather sofa, TV, Foxtel and wifi
second sitting room with TV and small bar fridge
Back patio with dining , BBQ and access to garden.
Private tropical garden with large lychee tree
Cairns Esplanade
Cairns Seniors enjoying a game of boules on the Esplanade
Large Swimming Lagoon on the Esplanade (no entry charge)
Net casting for Prawns, northern end of Esplanade
The Pier and Marina  Cairns
Centenary Lakes water-lilies
Centenary Lakes Livingstonia palm
Copperlode dam - Cairns water supply
Davies Creek - Atherton Tablelands
Clancy\'s Lagoon - Mareeba wetlands
Skyrail gondola on the way to Kuranda over Rainforest
Kuranda Tourist Train
View along the coast road, Cairns to Port Douglas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cairns, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tre24
Warrnambool, Australia
2 reviews
“Ideal, Highly recommended”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our first visit to Cairns. The house was perfect for our needs and convenient for just about everything!. Our host Lizzie could not have been more helpful. We have already recommended the house to others. Thank you :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everyone felt like it was a real home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Perfect Family Holiday House”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Have stayed at Wilks House 3 times now & will definitely be back. The house is v comfortable & tastefully furnished. Beds comfortable, well equipped kitchen, BBQ & dishwasher so lots of options for easy self catering for large group. Large garden for kids to play, easy & quick to get to city, to local shops & to beaches. Lizzie & Nick could not be more helpful or welcoming. Bond always returned quickly & no fuss. Much more fun than staying at an impersonal motel & with a large group, is also cheaper! V highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely, welcoming hosts - v accommodating & flexible.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing to complain about.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 28, 2014
Always a pleasure to welcome you back! I hope we will see you all again in the not too distant future. Lizzie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodie P
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location with everything you need & dog friendly.”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Wilks House with our 2 kelpies for work purposes. There are rooms for other guests and plenty of space to spread out all our work equipment.
The kitchen is well stocked, even has a coffee maker and muffin trays and plenty of new pots and pans. There is a new BBQ and off street undercover parking. The location is great with good shopping and walking tracks close by. Everything is clean and in good working order and perfect for our extended stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog friendly and location.
Liked least: Small cane toads in the garden at night but we got rid of them!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules0255
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A big thank you to Nick & Lizzie for providing such wonderful hospitality on such short notice. The place was immaculate and could have easily catered for a family of 6. Close to the bus and not far from the city by car. It felt like a home away from home. Thank you.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 19, 2014
We enjoyed meeting you all and hope that if you come to Cairns again, you will keep us in mind at Wilks House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Poitiers ( France)
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blackheath
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing