We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adventure North Australia Tours

Adventure North Australia Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$178.39*
and up
Aboriginal Cultural Daintree Rainforest Tour from Cairns or Port Douglas
Ranked #46 of 129 Outdoor Activities in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you are into history, botany, adventure, getting away from it all, seeing the rainforest and the outback, or 4 wheel driving then a tour to Cooktown is the trip for you. Choose from 1, 2 or 3 day tours departing from Cairns and Port Douglas. For those interested in learning about our regions rich Aboriginal culture, Adventure North Australia is proud to be part of the Bama Way Aboriginal Journeys which is an innovative partnership with three Aboriginal owned and operated tours. Join us on the Bama Way Aboriginal Journeys, learn traditional hunting skills on the Daintree Dreaming Day Tour, or listen to the stories behind the rock art with Aboriginal Elder, Willie Gordon from Cooktown.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Scotty, our guide, was fun and knowledgeable. We loved Branden, the Aboriginal guide- he knocked mangoes from trees, taught us to find clams and even cook up a fresh turtle for us to try! The rainforest was beautiful! Loved the fresh water swim. It is all day and pricey, but we thought it was worth every penny.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jane49beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    21
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Two day cook town explorer trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

First day of the tour was all that was advertised. We saw lots of interesting places and morning tea was lovely in the forest, lions den pub was a unique experience. Daryle our tour guide was full of interesting facts and information. Arrived in cook town to be told a crocodile was cruising under the jetty, mangos abundant on the ground and generally a friendly Australian outback town. Scenery was amazing. Accomodation was great. Glad we did the trip.
HOWEVER we would not recommend the two day tour. Second day was a rush job...driver was tired and in a hurry to get home. Did not follow the advertised trip in the brochure, was basically a fast expensive bus ride back from cook town.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryanne J, Owner at Adventure North Australia Tours, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate all feedback.
Adventure North has been operating 9 years with very few unhappy customers as you can see by the other reviews. All our guides are undergoing a thorough advanced training programme this month. Being a very small company we pride ourselves on our tours and service.

Regards Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“COOKTOWN 4WD ADVENTURE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were picked up on time from our Port Douglas accommodation.
This was an excellent well planned day out which gave everything that was promised.
Our guide Gary was knowledgeable & interesting.
The included morning tea stop was delightful. Lunch at the Lion’s Den was spot on.
I was amazed that some of our fellow travellers had room for dinner at Mt Carbine!
Cooktown is lovely, having visited the excellent museum on our last visit, we had a little wander found a shaded spot in the foreshore park and watched the antics of the local birds.
This was a long day out, but well worth the time & money.
We would not hesitate to recommend this superb tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryanne J, Owner at Adventure North Australia Tours, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, I was actually on this tour myself as far as Wujal Wujal
where I met with the local Walker Family Tours who we work with closely with.
It always amazes me our beautiful region and this is why we want to share it with you, even though it is a long day but a great day with amazing diverse scenery

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review

Regards Maryanne, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cooktown adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Can highly recommend this full day trip, our guide Scotty was very informative and knowledgable. Morning tea at a fantastic setting in the daintree, lunch at Lions Den with a nice cold 'beverage' and on to Cooktown, where Scotty took the initiative to switch the order of our visit to Grassy Hill to ensure we got the best view before the rain came in. A cold ale at Cooktown pub before the journey home with a few well timed stops for refreshments at an evening meal. All in all a great day out!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KandJ1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryanne J, Owner at Adventure North Australia Tours, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your day with us.
Cooktown is such a beautiful Australian township and like yourself always have a refreshing ale when visiting, it's a must do. I will pass on your review to Scotty

Regards Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent all day tour to cooktown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We took this tour in September 2013. After a small glitch in getting picked up for the wrong tour initially, the tour owner made an immediate accommodation so that we could enjoy the full tour on a different day. This tour goes through sugar cane fields and then the Daintree rainforest via the Bloomfield Track to Cooktown. We saw a lot of wildlife, including crocodiles. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, and there were sufficient stops for food and snacks. We highly recommend this tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Foreranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryanne J, Owner at Adventure North Australia Tours, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, it was my pleasure to make sure we delivered your tour
Regards Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure North Australia Tours also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Adventure North Australia Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing