We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pies in Cairns”

Meldrum's Pies In Paradise
Ranked #1 of 6 Bakeries in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best pies in Cairns”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Meldrum's has, in our opinion, the best pies in Cairns! They're big, full of flavour, big chunks of steak and great pastry. You're best off getting here early though, as your options can be limited if you arrive after 1 or 2pm. If you're eating in, try a pie with the works - mashed potato, peas and gravy. Delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neatleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    63
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pies!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

On a business trip to Cairns recently, I noticed Meldrum's pie shop walking to work and went back there for some lunch. They have a very good selection of pies. Pastry is just right, not too flakey, fillings have good quality meat and other ingredients.I wish this shop was located where I live!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cooroorakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Flavourful, well-seasoned meat pies”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Bought a few pies here to have as a picnic lunch on the beach, and they did not disappoint. We got the macademia nut chicken (my fave), curry steak, and the moroccan lamb (partner's fave). All had unique seasonings that were spot on, filling us up after a morning of hiking. Only disappointment was that there is only one veggie pie on offer daily and today was unfortunately not the day they make the very yummy sounding pumpkin gnocchi pie.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Ar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pie Paradise”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

A very large selection of meat/ vegetable pies; pastries, bakery and sandwiches. We tried the beef with mushrooms pie. A flaky, golden crust , a fair amount of filling, but I felt it was a bit on the salty side. Unfortunate that we were not able to try more of their wares that looked delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank eyes76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Award Winning Pies!!!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I love Meldrum's Pies and a trip to Cairns is never complete without having one. The pastry is exceptional with a million different fillings to pick from.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RenaeG76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meldrum's Pies In Paradise also viewed

 
Freshwater, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Malanda, Queensland
 

Been to Meldrum's Pies In Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing