We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUM, YUM, YUM” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ganbaranba

Ganbaranba
Ranked #17 of 592 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington
Level Contributor
316 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“YUM, YUM, YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a great find in Cairns, so happy we chose this place. Excellent service, food was extremely reasonably priced and it came out in no time at all. The kids could not get enough of the raman or gyozas. We left with full bellies and a big smile on our face. This will definitely be on the cards to visit next time we are in Cairns.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fnqfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    123
    40
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Ramen, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We spent 4 days in Cairns and thought the food scene was quite poor - expensive for overall quality. We stumbled upon this place for dinner one evening as it was much more affordable than other restaurants in the area. $10-13 AUD for a bowl of ramen + $6 for 8 gyozas. Specializes in ramen + gyoza. Good quality noodles and meats, enjoyed the gyoza as well. The ramen soup had a bit too much oil for my taste though. Great value/quality for Cairns. Service was attentive and helpful. Unfortunately, one of the staff member accidentally tripped and spilled some ramen - some of which got on a customer. It wasn't much, but staff was immediately apologetic and cleaned it up immediately. Woman didn't have any problem as it wasn't much of a spill, but staff was overly gracious in apologizing and I believe even offered to dry-clean her clothes (or gave her a certificate/coupon of some sort). Great to see great service is still intact in a very touristy area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best in Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Loved this place! Came here two nights out of four as we couldn't get enough of the ramen and gyoza! I've been to hundreds of ramen places and this place is definitely up there as one of the best, and amazing value for money! You won't be disappointed. Much more character than many of the restaurants in Cairns, and way better standard of food, too. Don't be put off by the queues - you won't have to wait long.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracie_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good to be in Cairns”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

Very busy and popular Noodle bar in town, good service and fast presentation. Not much to be said about this place, would be more reasonable if the price is lowered for a dollar or two, but good in all.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ryba9vg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
“Friendly, Fast, Good Ramen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I happened upon this place on a sleepy Tuesday night in Cairns. The city was sleepy, but not Ganbaranba. Despite a full house, the staff found us a table quickly and served house green tea on ice (much needed as it can get warm in there). The menu showed a variety of ramen choices. The Sunrise (spicy pork) and #15 (Chicken Broth based) made it to our table and were delicious. If you're up for noodles, this place is worth a try.

Helpful?
Thank AFpetrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganbaranba also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Ganbaranba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing