We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, OISHI DESU! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ganbaranba

Ganbaranba
Ranked #18 of 595 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic, OISHI DESU! :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a fantastic little restaurant! Run by the sweetest of sweet women, Kyoko-san, the food, service and ambiance is fantastic! All the soups are delicious, particularly the Ikemen (my favourite). Highly recommended for those looking for a quick, filling and traditional Japanese lunch or dinner!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoUng19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    125
    41
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Genuine and affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The choice of locals as well as all Asian tourists. Food is genuine, cheap, yum and quick. It's a noodle church <3 Staff are always lovely too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The-Junk-Wave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Locals love It for fast, yummy and value for money lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I'm a local and eat at Ganbaranba at least once a week for lunch. Always a wonderful experience. Some other Cairns restaurants could learn about service and value for money from here.. recommend the Tan Tan Men.. special with Tiger image if you like a little spice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neon_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

My partner and I stumbled across this place walking back from the train station and needed a quick meal before our flight. We were both very impressed and felt this was the best ramen we'd had outside of japan. Everything about the experience took us back to the little ramen shops we'd love din Japan. The broth is great, rich and full of garlic. As any connoisseur of ramen will tell you, it's all about the broth. There isn't much meat which may be an issue for some but this is traditional and if you want extra you can order it. The gyoza were nice as well. I liked it so much that I returned when I was in Cairns for work last week.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not good at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We did not like it. Both the soup nor the ramen did not taste good. The gyozas were only ok. The price was quite high given that quality and also quantity. Had no idea why all the good reviews on tripadvisor. Any ramen shops in Japan can beat this one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3pig-moto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganbaranba also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Ganbaranba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing