We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines disaster”
Review of Tha Fish

Tha Fish
Ranked #14 of 595 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $49
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Seafood restaurant on the marina in Cairns overlooking the mountains, water and boats. Tha Fish is a local family owned business who love to give great service, food and drinks to all of our customers. Tha Fish specialises with its fish list with your choice of 5 fish with 5 different cooking styles that you can choose from. There is also the a la carte menu with a variety of seafood, meat and vegetarian options available.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Valentines disaster”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had the Valentines dinner at Tha Fish 14/02/13 and went home disappointed. We decided to order the Valentines special which was $120 for 2 and a 6 course meal that sounded fantastic. The first and seconds courses were great and all went down hill from there. The waiters tried to tell us that we had a course which we did not receive and they had to check with the kitchen if we were correct. Courses were smaller then normal, we went home hungry and purchased another meal on the way home after spending $132 and leaving hungry and disappointed. When our dessert came out the ice cream was melted and sliding around the plate but the waiter still served us this course. 5/10 service 5/10 tasting meals 1/10 for being satisfied, overall we will not dine again here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    277
    77
    43
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sometimes Good”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ate there twice and both times ate inside as it was very hot outside.But the resaurant inside is not very appealing and the air con not so good either.As for the food, The first time we ate there the food was brilliant.The second time it was not so good.The staff are good and friendly but you do seem to get left out on a limb if eating inside.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colinpennyfu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
690 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Fully priced, but delicious meals”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Enjoyed looking out over boats in marina but does get warm in the evenings outside so chose air con inside this time. Meals are a smaller portion but very delicate and filling. I choose the most expensive dessert but was very disappointed. Staff were friendly but lacks atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn-and-Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Monster Mud Crabs are a must”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Being a brit travelling in Australia you have just got to try the mud crab. These things are enormous!!! and this restaurant knows how to serve them up. You get to pick the one you want straight out of the tank and the cost depends on the weight. My wife and I travelled the whole of the east coast from Sydney to Cook Town and we was recommended to this restaurant by another restaurant owner in Cairns who visits Tha Fish every week with his wife (you know it's got to be good when another restaurant owner visits on a regular basis). He wasn't wrong, the food was great and the views out to the ocean were just as spectacular.

The restaurant was busy and buzzing but both the owner and his staff were very attentive. The restaurant is a little on the pricey side but we was happy to splurge on that night, especially as the food and service was so good. However we did find another seafood restaurant a little further up the coast in Port Douglas that was even better and served the best seafood platter you will ever have along with yabbies which are delicious.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Hamish was awesome - friendly service. Beautiful food. Highly recommended.
Would happily come back again and bring our friends!!
Thank you :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tha Fish also viewed

 

Been to Tha Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing