We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A quiet and comfortable stay"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Ranked #23 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A quiet and comfortable stay"”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for 6 days during our sons State Football carnival. We were looking for self contained apartments that were not to over the top as we have young children. What we wanted is what we got. The room size was good.(we had a family of 4) It was close to all amenities. We found everything clean and comfortable. We would definitely recommend it to any one looking for this kind of accommodation. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArdenandRenee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thanks for a great review, hope to see you again and all the other fellow footballers we regularly get for various carnivals through out the year. Just book direct via phone/email for the best price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    40
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
65
13
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for a week in a two bedroom apartment. The apartment was a good size the kitchen was great with a full size fridge, the lounge had very comfortable sofa and TV. Air conditioning and fans in both bedrooms and the lounge.
It was a comfortable 20 -25 minute walk to town along the Esplanade. Local shops are very close and Wayne was very helpful pointing out how to get to these. The secure off street parking was a big advantage. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thanks for the great review, was a pleasure having you here with us. We are glad you utilised the very convenient shops/take aways just over the road. Hope to see you again one day in the future, just book direct via phone/email for the best price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I am simply can't get over the other reviews on this place, i must be the exception i guess. The room was a bit on the "tired" side of things. Bed was REALLY uncomfortable which is why i'm surprised by the other reviews. I must have got the room that hasn't been done up yet. This place wasn't bad but it was far from great. I think the biggest thing that got my goat was all the threats of extra charges if you dont do this or dont do that. Don't ring the office after hours or there will be extra charges. BBQ was filthy so didn't use it which upset the kids a little. As far as the "tell us and we'll improve" chiche, i'm not a believer in it. Do it right the first time, im your customer not your coach. The rating does not deserve a rating as good as "average" but it doesn't deserve "poor". I based my decision to stay here based on the reviews here. Boy did I read it wrong.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majordog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for your review, you definitely must of had one of the older apartments not fully refurbished yet by the sounds, there is only 2 of them left out of 32 to be refurbished, but they are still quite good apartments, but a bit tired as you mention.
The beds I do not really understand either as they are all new, but everyone has their own likes and dislikes when it comes to beds, our new beds are medium firmness sealy's which suit the majority. If you could contact us regarding this I would be grateful to find out what room you were actually in to see for myself, maybe a bed is faulty and in need of replacement?? There is no way we can fix it if we do not know and we rely on feedback at check-out or during the stay from guests in order to fix issues, and issues are fixed almost immediately where possible.
We have been working tirelessy over the last 4 years to bring this hotel from the very below average condition, it was once in, up to an above average condition now, and spending hundreds of thousands of dollars in the process. Yet we have kept the prices down at the same levels they were 4 years ago, and we are on the cheaper end of the scale of apartments in Cairns but give great value for money. We have recently bought the hotel up to a 3.5 star standard and not going any further, again to keep costs down for families with kids who's budget doesn't suit the price of 4 or 5 star apartments and those who do not need all the frills of serviced apartments.
After hours phone contact with reception, emergency calls are fine when needed, we like to keep to absolute minimum as we have young kids and being disturbed middle of night is difficult. And to keep costs down for everyone we can't afford to hire extra staff to answer the phone 24hrs. All after hours procedures are in the in-room compendium, it almost covers everything you need after hours unless it is an emergency, we have a 24 hour shop over the road also for those little things needed.
The BBQ is a concern, still works perfectly, when time permits it will be refurbished, I have last week ordered a granite top for it ready for its refurbishment in the next couple of months, just been put off for a while now due to more importantly needed apartment refurbishments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights in a two bedroom apartment.

The apartment was a good size, there is a well equipped kitchen, a dining area and a lounge area with a tv.

I was impressed by how comfortable the beds were, providing a great nights sleep.

The bathroom is a good size and also houses a washing machine and clothes drier.


I would happily recommend a stay here, they would make a great base for exploring the region.

The manager was extremely friendly and helpful, and a great source of information.




  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thanks for the great words. Glad to hear you loved our new Sealy beds, we have been getting lots of great feedback regarding them from guests.
We are very pleased to have been able to help you out and assist you with our local knowledge as the amount of tours available can be overwhelming if you do not know what is what.
Book direct with us for the best prices if you want to return some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancefield, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We recently had a 'flying' visit Cairns and Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments provided us with every need. The apartments are functional, comfortable and very clean. It was wonderful to kick back by the pool and simply enjoy the surrounds. Excellent location for walking along the famous Cairns Esplanade and great base to explore the beautiful Northern Beaches. Well done Wayne and Linda on running a very tidy operation. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancefieldOldBank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for the wonderful review, we are glad you enjoyed one of our many newly refurbished units we have been working soo hard on for the last 3 years not to mention our huge swiming pool.
When you return for another holiday in Cairns, just book direct for the best price and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I would stay again, the room was nice, my girlfriend, mum and I went up to cairns from brisbane now i knew this wasn't going to be any hilton, But. everyone was saying the beds are very nice to sleep on, but we didn't find this the bed was very hard woke up with a sore back every morning. The air con wasn't working very well in the rooms they would turn off at like 2 am and i would woke up sweating at around 2:30am every morning and had to turn it back on I don't know if the was management or not. there was a white box next to every air con with a sensor so I don't know what that is for The air con in the living room never got cold couldn't use the pool after 9pm and up north it is never cold for people who don't live up there so it would have been nice to be able to use the pool later on . also I was reading the room info booklet, and it stated the management could come into the room and turn the air con off if it was left on when you weren't there, when we went out we opened up to room without the air con on and it was so hot in the room and took a very long time to cool down just a little I don't know if it was because of the air con not working or maybe that the air cons need to be serviced

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for your review, glad you found our refurbished apartment nice, but as you say we are no comparison to the Hilton at all, totally different style and classification of accommodation, incomparable.
Nearly all of the issues you encountered could have easily been fixed if immediately reported and that would have made your stay much more enjoyable. We are budget friendly accommodation, no bells and whistles but far superior than a lot of others in the same price range.
As for airconditioners, yes the apartment you stayed in had an airconditioner fault reported by the next guest after you, verified and fixed the same day within hours of being reported, but in no way does management turn an airconditioner off in the middle of the night. The boxes you mention next to the airconditioner will, DAY TIMES ONLY, turn the airconditioner off ONLY when there is NO ONE HOME in the apartment to save power to keep accommodation costs down for everyone, and work very well, and we have never yet until now had a complaint about them as many people leave airconditioners on all day when they go out so these turn it off automatically. I believe the aircon fault attributed to them turning off. Rooms normally take about 5 minutes to get cool once they are switched on as we have very efficient modern airconditioners.
As for the pool hours, 7am-9pm, these are set by the body corporate and in line with majority of other hotels and suit the majority of our guests. Being near the pool as you were, I bet you would not want kids jumping in, running around and people having a party in the pool area at midnight when you are trying to sleep. This is why hotels have set pool hours, so people can have a good nights sleep, goto bed early and get up early for their adventures and have an energy filled day and not be tired.
Look forward to seeing you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Myself and two of my family members were fortunate enough to stay at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments for 12 nights during our trip to Cairns and found it to be a fantastic experience.

Wayne (hotel management) was extremely pleasant to deal with and provided much valued local knowledge of tours and the best possible days to make bookings (in relation to weather conditions and availability etc). Booking your tours and hire cars through Tradewinds also helped to qualify for discounts that we were not available through the likes of information centres in town.

The rooms were very spacious and contained everything you could possibly require for a fully self-contained apartment. The only thing which we noticed (once some people moved into the room above us) was the moving/scraping of chairs across the tile floors making a fair amount of noise (this could easily be fixed by placing small spots of felt on the chair legs though). Aside from that small factor the rooms were fantastic!

The location of the hotel was great as there was a small convenience store and various food outlets literally right across the road or simply a short walk away. The walk into town was a decent length but we quite enjoyed getting a little exercise whilst on holiday and having the pool at the hotel to cool off in after our walk was a definite bonus!

We also found the availability of secure parking at the hotel very convenient - especially considering any concerns people may have in relation to hire cars and possible damage which could occur if you were forced to park on the verge.

I'd like to thank Wayne for his fantastic service and hospitality throughout our stay and wish him all the best in the running of the hotel - we hope to return again some day!

Room Tip: If you are able to book early enough to get a room on the ground floor this could be beneficial as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for your great review, it was a pleasure to assist you daily in your adventures around Cairns and we are glad we could be of great assistance for you. Look forward to one day seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor in Cairns
Grosvenor in Cairns
#32 of 85 in Cairns
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
201 Lake Street
201 Lake Street
#30 of 85 in Cairns
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Plaza Apartments Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
0.9 mi away
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cairns Central Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Property: Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Address: Tradewinds 191 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments are ideally located just on the fringe of the city with its location adored by many due to its close proximity to shops, restaurants and just out of the hustle and bustle of the city night life to provide quiet relaxing enjoyment and a good nights sleep. After hours, 24 hours check-in is available only with prior arrangement with hotel. Also on offer is FREE Super High speed WiFi. Free secure car and trailer parking is available on-site with plenty of truck parking outside on the street. The 2 bedroom apartments including a full sized kitchen are suited for families with children where meals can be cooked in room without the added expense of dining out daily. With a huge tropical swimming pool and BBQ area for the entire family with plenty of shade, you can enjoy an afternoon lunch or dinner into the night with the fantastic pool and garden area being lit up when the sun starts to go down. The complex is kept immaculate with a regular refurbishment program in place to ensure that apartments are kept to a high standard as well as the surrounds being kept clean and tidy with the tropical gardens being kept well trimmed and looking fantastic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing