We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money. Budget style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Ranked #27 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Value for money. Budget style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Suitable for long term one month plus. Generally quiet apart from flight path. Dated decor but that's not what this is about. It's clean, good location (car or bike) and very practical. U could do alot worse.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgr_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for a good review, were glad you recognised our good quiet practical location and our family budget friendly accommodation. Unfortunately Cairns being a small city with the airport next to it, the planes fly right over the centre of the city and there is no escape unless you were to go to the outer suburbs. Regarding decor, some maybe a bit out dated in some apartments, we are still in the midst of a slow refurbishment, there is plenty to look forward to in the coming months and years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
63
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was my 2nd stay and was discounted lower than my first stay , the price was very low and I think the apartment was great value. Apartment was very clean and had very thing I needed for my 7 day stay. Wayne and his family were very helpful when needed. Its close to the Cock & Bull hotel great meals good prices and a great fish&chip shop

Room Tip: Pool (south) facing rooms are better no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Were glad you had a great time staying with us that you came back for more, we were more than happy to see you back for the second time. Yes we look after repeat customers with great prices, only avilable when booking direct with us, and tour discounts and we work hard to ensure each room is clean and that everything works before you arrive.
Plenty of shops, take-away outlets and restaurants within close walking distance, were glad you found 2 of the great ones. Return any time you like, always welcome, just book direct for the cheapest price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our first experience of this place was at 10.30 on the 23rd july when we arrived from the airport.We knew we could NOT check in so we left our cases at reception.
We came back after 2pm,and the conversation was as follows-
ME- We have come to check in.
WAYNE-That will be $775.00
ME-Can we not take our bags to our room first?
WAYNE-That will be $775.00 NOW
I then had to open my bags to get my credit card out to pay before we had even seen the room.(WELCOME TO CAIRNS)?????
That set the tone for the week.
On the wall of the flat there was a sign detailing the cost of replacement items-everything from Coffe Sachets to a special offer on toilet rolls (3 for $2.00) If you wanted a dvd player you had to hire it (8.00$ per day or $30.00 a week. (what a bargain?)
To say that Wayne was miserable and sulky would be an understatement,and I cannot understand why this looks like the first negative review that this place will have had on trip advisor.
The flat itself was reasonable but the contents left a lot to be desired-namely I don't think there was a complete set of crockery,and some of it had seen better days.
When we asked about Cable tv in respect of Fox Football we were told it was too expensive to get. $2000.00 was the sum mentioned.
I DO NOT BELIEVE THAT ANSWER.
I would recommend purchasing a CHARISMA or sending Wayne on a People Skills Course.The swimming pool was good,but the BBQ could have done with a good clean.
The location says that it is 15 minutes walk to town-Only if you are USAIN BOLT.
I am a FIT guy but it could not be done in less than 25minutes at a good pace.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erskine129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, General Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thankyou for the time you have taken to write a review.
I would be worried if counter staff were not following hotel Policy and Procedures in the check-in process and that is that no guest may be given keys to the apartment without first paying for the accommodation and signing the check-in form.
As you also pointed out, being "Self-Catering" apartments there are prominently displayed extra charges for certain things e.g. dvd player hire, toilet rolls, coffee/tea, internet, this is what makes our accommodation cheaper than other places that are catergorized as "Serviced Apartments" where you get all the above for no extra charge but you pay for it in the higher nightly rates.
For those people who will not use all the added extras there is no need to pay a higher nightly rate in a "Serviced Apartment" when a "Self Catering" apartment will do fine saving you a bundle. We cater for the people/families who do not want all the added extras and only after budget friendly accommodation with full kitchen facilities, but the extras are there and available for when you do at a small cost to keep most people happy.
Being budget Self Catering accommodation, Foxtel has recently been removed to keep accommodation costs low for everyone as most people do not watch it, if there is enough demand it may be reinstated, but your right not to believe the $2k cost mentioned, it costs FAR more than $2k for every room in the hotel, try adding a 1 in front of it.
A walk into the city is around 20 minutes as stated on our website, but the far corner of the city is a bit longer.
But as the saying goes, you can't please everyone all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is a bit far but it's a nice walk down the esplanade to the city centre. The rooms are big and comfortable. The service is good and the rooms are very clean. It's very handy having the laundry and dryer services. I spent 2 weeks at the Tradewinds and was very pleased with the services.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GosiaP50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Hi we enjoyed our stay at trade winds , the manager Wayne booked our reef trips with discount for us was very helpful. Pool great clean ect. Beds good so slept well.
The only thing to make trade winds better would be more or bigger pots, ,colander so you can cook pasta ect,
And have the bbq plate cleaned and have the cleaner vacuum between the couch cushions. Small things that can only make for a better stay at a nice place.
The rest of trade winds is spotless great work .
Thanks for having us, great rates nice place. Regards Peter.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for the good review, glad we could assist in giving you the best value holiday we can.
We are glad you liked the new beds, we have just replaced the majority of beds with brand new good quality Sealy Posturepedics and the feedback from that has been great so far.
We have currently on order new sets of cutlery and cooking utensils for ALL apartments but just awaiting delivery and that should fix the majority of your cooking issues.
The BBQ is getting a bit old and will be replaced in the next few months and the area refurbished inline with our refurbishment program we have in place.
Welcome back any time. Just book directly with us for the best price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at the Tradewinds McLeod Holiday apartments in late June 2013. It was very comfortable, had everything I needed, and the staff were friendly and helpful. This is a great place to stay as it's close to all the main attractions in and around Cairns and has a lovely relaxed feel about the place :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineNZ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2013. A second floor apartment, spacious and very well presented had everything we needed. The stove was probably in need of replacement, but overall absolutely good value and we would definitely recommend this place to anyone. The managers are helpful and obliging.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.4 mi away
Reef Gateway Apartments
Reef Gateway Apartments
#51 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor in Cairns
Grosvenor in Cairns
#35 of 89 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#16 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southern Cross Atrium Apartments
0.6 mi away
Citysider Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Property: Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Address: Tradewinds 191 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments are ideally located just on the fringe of the city with its location adored by many due to its close proximity to shops, restaurants and just out of the hustle and bustle of the city night life to provide quiet relaxing enjoyment and a good nights sleep. After hours, 24 hours check-in is available only with prior arrangement with hotel. Also on offer is FREE Super High speed WiFi. Free secure car and trailer parking is available on-site with plenty of truck parking outside on the street. The 2 bedroom apartments including a full sized kitchen are suited for families with children where meals can be cooked in room without the added expense of dining out daily. With a huge tropical swimming pool and BBQ area for the entire family with plenty of shade, you can enjoy an afternoon lunch or dinner into the night with the fantastic pool and garden area being lit up when the sun starts to go down. The complex is kept immaculate with a regular refurbishment program in place to ensure that apartments are kept to a high standard as well as the surrounds being kept clean and tidy with the tropical gardens being kept well trimmed and looking fantastic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing