We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Ranked #28 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good value here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2013. A second floor apartment, spacious and very well presented had everything we needed. The stove was probably in need of replacement, but overall absolutely good value and we would definitely recommend this place to anyone. The managers are helpful and obliging.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
63
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gracemere, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Would highly recommend Tradewinds In Cairns to anyone - they are perfectly situated within easy reach of everywhere and are positioned in a quiet location just off the busy street. The apartment had everything that we could need as well as extra comfy beds for the perfect nights sleep! Our son even put the pool to use and enjoyed it thoroughly. This was the first place we had stayed at that had thought of little things like glad wrap and they also had good quality fry pans (it's nice to be able to cook breaky without half of the eggs being stuck in the bottom of the fry pan). Not only were the rooms of high quality but so to was the service and advice.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor to get the most of the breeze and view - we were looking out over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Knowledgeable staff who were able to book our tours and suggest what we could do in Cairns and the area around. (Was very handy having people who took tides and weather into consideration.) Clean and well sized rooms- comfortable, with everything you'd expect. Walking distance to the shopping centre, take-aways, groceries and to the middle of town. Great secure parking for cars. Very friendly staff who were always on hand and were happy to help with any enquiry. Lovely pool and bbq area- very family friendly, but would suit couples or small groups also. Would highly recommend staying here- excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margipacceber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had the privelage to stay at Tradewinds in Cairns. The unit was clean, fully furnished with two comfortable couches and a modern dining table. It was furnished to the point where I didn't need to purchase anything extra for the finest details. Wayne and Linda were always approachable and accessible and only to eager to help if needed. Whilst there, it felt like a real home and the swimming pool is huge with lovely surroundings. The location is only a stone throw away from Cairns central and the esplanade in town. I have been back twice and il definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Street unit catches the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Having previously visited Cairns on a number of occasions, we were well equipped to embark upon the holiday that we had already planned, yet Wayne was happy to assist when local advice or bookings were required.

We found that the apartment was well presented with mostly modern furnishings. The complex is located a couple of kilometres outside of the CBD, therefore you may be disappointed if you seek to be on the doorstep of shopping / nightlife etc.

We found the complex to be well maintained and reasonably peaceful, yet friends who stayed opposite McLeod St advised us that the traffic flow caused quite a disturbance for themselves. Tip: Request a poolside apartment upon making a reservation.

Many thanks to Wayne and family. Looking forward to returning again soon....

Room Tip: Poolside apartments are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riddell1blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We found Wayne very helpful in planning our tours of the Barrier Reef and the Cairns area in general. He gave us good advice on the best days to do the various activities which suited us as a family (2 adullts and 2 children aged 13 and 12 years).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossman
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a lovely, modern unit which was fully equipped. The staff member we dealt with was very friendly and helpful. We needed to get away for the weekend and this was perfect. It was close to the centre of Cairns. We have already recommended it to a friend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MossmanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Koala Court Holiday Apartments
0.6 mi away
Getaway On Grafton
Getaway On Grafton
#15 of 89 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grosvenor in Cairns
Grosvenor in Cairns
#32 of 89 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Plaza Apartments Cairns
0.3 mi away
Tropic Towers Apartments
Tropic Towers Apartments
#41 of 89 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
North Cove Waterfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments

Property: Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Address: Tradewinds 191 McLeod St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments are ideally located just on the fringe of the city with its location adored by many due to its close proximity to shops, restaurants and just out of the hustle and bustle of the city night life to provide quiet relaxing enjoyment and a good nights sleep. After hours, 24 hours check-in is available only with prior arrangement with hotel. Also on offer is FREE Super High speed WiFi. Free secure car and trailer parking is available on-site with plenty of truck parking outside on the street. The 2 bedroom apartments including a full sized kitchen are suited for families with children where meals can be cooked in room without the added expense of dining out daily. With a huge tropical swimming pool and BBQ area for the entire family with plenty of shade, you can enjoy an afternoon lunch or dinner into the night with the fantastic pool and garden area being lit up when the sun starts to go down. The complex is kept immaculate with a regular refurbishment program in place to ensure that apartments are kept to a high standard as well as the surrounds being kept clean and tidy with the tropical gardens being kept well trimmed and looking fantastic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing