We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$141
$134
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$93
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Park Regis City Quays(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$86
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Balinese Motel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$88
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cascade Gardens(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$185
$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$81
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Il Centro Apartment Suites(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$130
$126
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Inn(Cairns)
$65
$62
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
57
40
8
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
40
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstour bookingswashing machine and dryerexcellent location for walkingfurnished apartmentshort or long staylovely pool and bbq areathe main city areaself containedsecurity gatewhole complexfridge freezera great nights sleepwet seasonnorthern beachesvisit cairnsshort walkgreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 111 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

As they say 'you get what you pay for', and that rang true at this place. The holiday apartments on the whole need a good refurbishment, everything looks dated and in need of some TLC. If I had a guess, it would be that people own these for their rental return but don't want to spend any cash in making the place any better.

The apartments have everything you need for your stay, but ours was a bit dirty and dated. The carpet had dirty marks ingrained in it, the net curtains had holes and the towel rails placed directly above the toilet were unhygenically placed. That said, the kitchen, which we used for all but one of our meals had everything we needed.

The hot water situation also needs to be rectified. If you assume a 2 bed unit has 4 people staying in it, all needing a shower at the end of the day, then the water tank is not sufficient. We only got 1.5 showers at a time (.5 cause half of it was cold!) as the water tank was so small.

Aero plane noises also notable here some mornings around 6.30am, but on the whole the complex (which is more motel than hotel) was very quiet.

For August the pool is really too cold for swimming. Our eldest went in for a very short swim in his wetsuit but there wasn't much enjoyment to be had as it was so cold. Solar heating would be a fantastic addition to this pool so it can be enjoyed all year round.

The usual owners must have been on holidays because the guy who checked us in and who we enquired about tours with could not have been more disinterested. His parting comment of "was the place good enough for you?" kind of summed it up for me. We ended up going to the official tourist info centre in the big white building on the Esplanade and got great objective info from there as the management of the 'hotel' were so inept.

If you after somewhere to share with some backpacking friends, or are in need of a holiday but can't afford one, then this place will do the trick, just don't expect too much. We had a car for our stay, with 2 kids (aged 4 and 6) the walk in to town would have been too far.

We did the Green Island trip with Great Adventures and loved it. The coral is nothing like you see on the outer reef, but for a family with 2 young kids it was just the ticket. Not too far by boat, glass bottom boat tour and snorkelling were fun and kept the interest of us all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TempLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thanks for your personal opinions and review, it will help us improve the customer service and the apartments in the future. The particular unit you stayed in is one of the semi-refurbished ones and due for full refurbishment in the very near future inline with our refurbishment schedule. Most of your comments will be rectified as part of this refurbishment to bring this units' standard into line with all other refurnished units and towards the higher standards we are aiming at for the entire complex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for 7 days with 2 small children & found it fantastic! A very quite location, no street noise at all, the swimming pool is great, quite big & really clean. Town is a short walk away or buses are about a 2 minute walk down to Sheridan Street, really handy! The apartments are great, nothing super flash, but everything we needed, kitchen was very well stocked with all you need to cook your own meals. A flatscreen T.V & Austar which had heaps on channels. Bathroom has just a shower, no bath, but we never use the bath when we travel anyway, dryer & washing machine in bathroom. Bedrooms had super comfy beds. We found apartment to be extremely clean, nothing dirty or dusty at all, Top marks there! This was by far the most reasonable price in the whole of Cairns for 2 bedroom apartment. The host are great & really helpful, we booked our tour from here & received 5% discount. Would stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eden9825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thanks for your great review, glad our apartments were perfectly suitable for you and your family, hope to see you again in the future. We try our best to be one of the cheapest and best quality 2 bedroom apartments in Cairns continually improving the complex and the majority of guests love both the accommodation and tour discounts when booking through us directly that they do not get elsewhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Generally a good place to stay. There is a nice swimming pool. Very friendly staff. Reasonable price and location. Hot water pressure is good, but for some reason, every second person having shower will end up with cold water. Although water heats up quickly again, it's quite annoying! Beds are ok, however, blankets are quite old and dirty. There is also a washing machine and dryer which is very handy. Cooking utensils are not very sufficient, non stick pan is dented and 'sticky'. But in general reasonable value for money, management could do some minor improvement to make it better.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Taffy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thanks for your constructive feedback.
We are currently slowly refurbishing all the apartments and yes you are right, some utensils are insufficient and we are in the process of standardising and replacing all the utensils, pots and pans throughout, your comment will help us speed up this process.
The electric water heaters are fast recovery and of around 60L, normally sufficient for around 3 showers in a row unless longer showers are taken, we made a note based on your feedback and if further reports received it will be upgraded. Thanks again for your priceless feedback, we hope you will choose to stay with us again when you return to Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We (2A / 1 teenager) stayed in the Tradewinds for two weeks in July. The hotel might not be what you call romantic, fancy or unique, but this is not what we were after anyway. The idea was to find a good base for exploring the Great Barrier, the Daintree and the Atherton Table Lands. Price, value for money, cleanliness, good functionality, a location away from Cairns downtown party goers were a few other decision points.

The Tradewinds fulfills all those requirements. The 2-bedroom apartment we had was roomy, bedrooms were large, bathroom / toilet clean and functional, kitchen well equipped and large, big balcony, washing machine and dryer, big flatscreen TV, everything you need is in place. Not more, not less.

A 10m pool with a small BBQ area is also part of the amenities provided.

The Tradewinds is a good 20 minute walk away from Cairns downtown. A good pub, pizza, fish and chips, kebab shops and liquor store are reachable within 5 minutes walking. Plus a delicatessen and a smaller supermarket.

Tradewinds is definitely worth your consideration if you are looking for a nice base in Cairns and / or a good quality holiday apartment complex for the family.

Room Tip: Basement, first and second floor apartments are available (no lift). Depending on your preference and circumstances you might want to mention your preferred choice with the booking.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wassmann-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed here with Family - good apartment & kitchen. A great base to explore Far north qld from. Nice Pool. Good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews