We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments
Nearby Hotels
$108
$100
Novotel
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$149
$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$109
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$247
$138
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$95
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$110
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$98
$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$159
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$113
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
57
40
8
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
40
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstour bookingswashing machine and dryerexcellent location for walkingfurnished apartmentshort or long staylovely pool and bbq areathe main city areaself containedsecurity gatewhole complexfridge freezera great nights sleepwet seasonnorthern beachesvisit cairnsshort walkgreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 111 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Generally a good place to stay. There is a nice swimming pool. Very friendly staff. Reasonable price and location. Hot water pressure is good, but for some reason, every second person having shower will end up with cold water. Although water heats up quickly again, it's quite annoying! Beds are ok, however, blankets are quite old and dirty. There is also a washing machine and dryer which is very handy. Cooking utensils are not very sufficient, non stick pan is dented and 'sticky'. But in general reasonable value for money, management could do some minor improvement to make it better.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Taffy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tradewinds_McLeod, Manager at Tradewinds McLeod Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thanks for your constructive feedback.
We are currently slowly refurbishing all the apartments and yes you are right, some utensils are insufficient and we are in the process of standardising and replacing all the utensils, pots and pans throughout, your comment will help us speed up this process.
The electric water heaters are fast recovery and of around 60L, normally sufficient for around 3 showers in a row unless longer showers are taken, we made a note based on your feedback and if further reports received it will be upgraded. Thanks again for your priceless feedback, we hope you will choose to stay with us again when you return to Cairns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We (2A / 1 teenager) stayed in the Tradewinds for two weeks in July. The hotel might not be what you call romantic, fancy or unique, but this is not what we were after anyway. The idea was to find a good base for exploring the Great Barrier, the Daintree and the Atherton Table Lands. Price, value for money, cleanliness, good functionality, a location away from Cairns downtown party goers were a few other decision points.

The Tradewinds fulfills all those requirements. The 2-bedroom apartment we had was roomy, bedrooms were large, bathroom / toilet clean and functional, kitchen well equipped and large, big balcony, washing machine and dryer, big flatscreen TV, everything you need is in place. Not more, not less.

A 10m pool with a small BBQ area is also part of the amenities provided.

The Tradewinds is a good 20 minute walk away from Cairns downtown. A good pub, pizza, fish and chips, kebab shops and liquor store are reachable within 5 minutes walking. Plus a delicatessen and a smaller supermarket.

Tradewinds is definitely worth your consideration if you are looking for a nice base in Cairns and / or a good quality holiday apartment complex for the family.

Room Tip: Basement, first and second floor apartments are available (no lift). Depending on your preference and circumstances you might want to mention your preferred choice with the booking.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wassmann-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed here with Family - good apartment & kitchen. A great base to explore Far north qld from. Nice Pool. Good value.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We (2 adults and 2 kids aged 7 & 8) stayed here for 7 nights, and the apartment was a perfect base for us. The apartment was exactly as described and shown on the web, with no nasty surprises. We all slept very well, and there was little or no noise. The apartment had a good kitchen with enough utensils for us to prepare dinners. We also gave the free barbecue a good workout - cooking dinner while being able to supervise the kids in the pool was a bonus. The pool is probably one of the best features of the complex, and was a great meeting place for all the kids staying there. The staff are very friendly and helpful and made the kids especially feel welcome. As for the location, we found it convenient for both the esplanade and city centre. If we get back to Cairns, we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve_Lynn_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed here in November 2011, 3 adults and 2 kids. The rooms are spacious and clean and have a full kitchen if u want to cook. The air conditioning works well and the pool is very enjoyable. Location is good, a quick 2 min walk to a small supermarket or 5 mins to a great pub. The area is quiet and the beds are comfy. The owners, Wayne and his young family are fantastic hosts and were very helpful with choosing tours, getting hire cars etc. and any other queries we had. Look forward to staying here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesnDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews