We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“False advertising”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is old and shabby. It had recently been painted however the fridge froze our food, the toilet would not stop running of a night and the curtains didn't cover the window and were threadbare and had holes in them. Advertised with ipod dock not available, Foxtel not available, radio not available. Room serviced daily for first three days then not for the last two.Used as a halfway house for indeigenous australians which I have not problem with however the mobs mingling around the entranceway were quite unsettling. The pools and gardens are a disgrace with faded and broken pool furniture and not chairs to sit around the tables.
Restaurant disgusting with the same two meals on the menu for the 5 days we stayed. Breakfast non existant even if you had wanted to eat there. Wil never go back to this hotel as it is not as advertised and below par. This is lucky to be 2 stars.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and don't even book in. Aircon from next room could be heard all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlwaysHawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince P, Manager at Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your review.
After informed by the customer, we immediately replaced new fridge, new curtain (even though the old one only 6 month old), new toilet cistern within 2 hours. After all works have been done, guests demanded to upgrade to VIP room or apartment at free cost. We could not offer it because all VIP rooms were booked beside there was nothing wrong with their room. Note that we do not advertised the facilities they asked for in our budget room range.
Customer has never dinned in or have breakfast in our restaurant neither have seen our menu.
Our breakfast menu offers continental and cooked breakfast every morning.
Every Wed night week we support Autism Charity Dinner, run by ex catering @$10/person
We have fixed 14 days dishes menu that offers 2 hot dishes every night beside regular steak/fish/chip, yes we are catering for hospital patients. Most our customers are Indigenous people, staying for hospital treatments. Our outdoor environment including 2 pools is clean, nice and friendly. Furniture here and there may get broken but we have it replace immediately by simply notifying us. Customer may find uncomfortable with many Indigenous around but please mind you this is Far North Queensland. Our final words to this customer, please do not ask for something you are not prepared to pay for. We treasure you to stay with us and prepare to go all the way to ensure you have a happy experience and memory staying with us, please give us an honest review without exaggeration. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
24
31
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Supposed to be renovated but were not, paint coming off the doors very old laminate with chips out of it!Very old kitchen utensils! Uncomfortable bed, rubbish around the pool! Was looking forward to spending time round the pool but was not a bit inviting!Never stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraineprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince P, Owner at Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. The renovation has been done in the last 6 months. All rooms have at least soft refurbishments with new LED TV, new air-conds, new fridges, new white goods, hot plate burner, etc...as the minimum. This is a large complex and each room are having its turn with new painting, furniture upgrade. Pool is chemical checked and cleaned by reputable local pool service company once per week and pool area are cleaned daily. If you wanted King Size bed room and Deluxe rooms or Apartments, please paid for it. You purchased budget studio room and asked for Deluxe Room or Apartment, and when demanded was refused you lambasted us with negative review with things that did not exist. If you have the issue with old laminate chip from somewhere in the room in which we could not locate it at all, you should advice our staff or bring to our attention we will ensure you that we will fix it for you if we cant then we will then offer you another room or refund. In fact, we did offer you the refund to go to other Motels when you asked to change room but you decided to stay not 1 night but 3 nights then got cranky with our staffs. Your comforts like any customers stayed with us are always our first priority unfortunately in this case we could not make you happy neither served you to your satisfaction, we are sorry for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Gold Coast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Cairns is an expensive place to stay if you dont want to share your bathroom with 5 others. So we found the tropical queenslander, nice and helpful family, rooms are clean and getting renovated. If you are looking to spend the whole day at the swimming pool and your room, this is nothing for you. Great if you need a place to sleep and organise your stuff. Free wifi and clean towells every day! Note, is a nice but longer walk to the centre, no problem for younger people!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DylanWebbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooktown, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I stayed here twice in the last three weeks. We go to Cairns regularly. Rates are reasonable. As most other reviews state the rooms need a good clean and update.More kitchen gear is needed and old stuff replacing. No security screens or doors.Can be a bit noisy at times. Vin and his staff are very friendly and obliging. I wish them luck with their refurbishment and new venture.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooksy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights, and returned to Cairns for my last night... Called ahead and Vince had my room waiting for me. Excellent family run business, no frills, reasonable price and removed from the noise. Kitchenette is reasonable size and so is the room. As a traveler who has been couch surfing, tenting, and van sleeping for a month, this was just what I needed. I clean room that I could spread out in, a place to cook my own meals, laundry facilities, and a room off to the side where I could get some rest. It's only a 2 minute walk to the top end of the Esplanade which makes it a perfect spot for a morning run or walk. Staff/owner was super friendly and helpful...the family has it's hands full with renovations. By the way, I am a US citizen, and in deference to the post below, I was not treated with anything but respect.

Downsides... just those that you would expect at this price point. Bedroom window faces the parking area, so had to keep the shades drawn for privacy. They forgot to clean my room one of my 4 days, but I am sure they would have upon request. Pool was small, rooms are dated in decor... but none of this affected my sleep or relaxation.

I'd stay again, for sure. Thanks Vince and family

Room Tip: Ground floor facing the pool was the most private for front of room. Just have to be ok with bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Tropical Queenslander, Cairns, QLD, Australia in January, 2013. Although branded as a 3 1/2 star lodging it was anything but. Mold, dirt, shopping carts were just a few of the views we had from our 2nd floor balcony. Although we changed rooms, attempting to get a better room, that was impossible. Whatever you do, avoid this lodging!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wooddove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince P, Owner at Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are the new owner at Tropical Queenslander and we are taking our customer comment seriously. To be franked, the customers checked-in while the hotel were in the middle of renovation process. They were offered a choice to stay at the Hotel including free upgrade to deluxe suite & free wifi OR to have their money fully refunded. The customer stayed for 4 nights then asked for compensation when leaving on the 5th morning. After being refused, they had threaten us with negative response on Tripadvisor. Their room was cleaned daily, no moldy and dirty story. There were some shopping carts on the ground floor as the shopping centre is located nearby but the carts were well placed in their parking slots - not sure what the customer was really complained about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

So I was a little nervous about staying here after reading most of the negative reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised. I should also note beforehand that there is new management at this hotel and they seem serious about getting this hotel up to par.
The rooms were comfortable and clean and staff were always very friendly and ready to help.
I didn't come to Cairns to stay in the room 24/7 either and hey, you get what you pay for, and i paid for budget accommodation.... just a clean, comfortable place to sleep. And it met my expectations.
I should note however, that if you are not prepared to walk into the central area... approx 1.5km... then either be prepared to pay for a taxi... approx $8-10 or don't stay here.
Renovations... yes, the hotel does need some renovations, and according to new management they are on the way. So this hotel seems to be going in the right direction. All in all I enjoyed my stay, so thank you Tropical Queenslander!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
2.0 mi away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Balinese Motel
Balinese Motel
#35 of 64 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.0 mi away
Palm Royale Cairns
Palm Royale Cairns
#31 of 64 in Cairns
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment

Property: Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Address: 287 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, tropical by design, offering self-catering rooms at a very affordable price. Located within easy walking distance to the Cairns Esplanade waterfront, numerous restaurants and City CBD, the Tropical Queenslander offers inexpensive accommodation for singles, couples and families. The property boasts two swimming pools, guest internet facilities, barbeque areas, tour desk and daily mini room service is provided. Experience the casual and rewarding lifestyle of the tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing