We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs an update”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Ranked #51 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hotel needs an update”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as a last minute booking as this was relatively cheap. Firstly, the reception lady was really friendly when we checked in and out. But the hotel itself needs some renovations done....we also felt very unsafe as the first thing she told us was to always make sure the door is closed as 'they are quick'!! eeek!! so we freaked out as soon as we got there. also the back sliding door lock could easily be wedged open with a pencil the gap was that big. i took my valuables with me all day. it was right near the beach which was a plus, but it was about a 25 minutes walk along the esplanade to the main city centre. the toilet was also having flushing issues which kept us up all night. so yes, until they renovate i wouldnt recomend this hotel, and would also stay somewhere closer to the city centre as its a bit of a walk in the warm weather.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince P, Owner at Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are refurbishing the rooms as we are replying to you. All rooms have new toilet cisterns. We were in the process of changing ownership, some staffs were new and gave you the wrong impression. The room is safe to place your valuable items. The hotel has all the amenities near by i.e. post office, shopping, fast food outlets, etc... We are looking forward for your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    26
    24
    13
    14
See reviews for
24
31
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Located in 30 minutes from the center of tourist area and the pier.
There is a feeling that everything is aged- not redecorated for years. Room is simple, not too bad but not very clean. Has a small kitchenette. Reception works till 6pm. No free wifi.
Does not cost the money paid, to be frank.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trubo4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vince P, Owner at Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your comment. We were in the process of changing ownership. It is now completed. We do offer free public wifi. Rooms are under refurbishment. Office is opened till 8:30PM. There is also a phone handset locate outside the reception to call us if you need help. All late arrival are automatically check-in via PIN number to access rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunterville, NZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Booked here as friends we were to meet had done so. Very disappointing. Rooms were shabby, cleanliness marginal. Pool had not been cleaned for some time. Traffic noise was horrendous. Fans too noisy to live with. Hair dryer burnt out. Seems to be an hotel used by locals who loiter about. Much, much nicer places to stay for similar $ in similar location.

Room Tip: I wouldn't book this one online. If travelling, always ask to see the room before you agree to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiBruces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Bathurst
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We recently stayed here for 3 nights - it was supposed to be 4. The hotel was very rundown and dirty. The place was full of long term residents who just hung around all the time. Our room had threadbare sheets and holey curtains, lumpy beds, the floors were filthy, the pool was dirty, the fan threatened to fall off and the room furniture was very worn and dirty. No locks on doors. We couldn't open the doors as there were chain smoking residents sitting within arm reach of our tiny verandah. Reception is only from 8am to 6pm.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BathurstMum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here in March 2012, both receptionists (one named Tanya) were rude to our family. However we witness how they treated Australians, versus we Americans. The receptionist even said to my spouse when a question was asked of her, that she had already answered that question for me. The receptionist told us that all bookings for the Kundra rainforest was book, but when we went into town, the guide at the information building, got us on a bus to the Kundra rainforest in 10 minutes. It seems as though they do not appreciate the business from American Tourist. do not recommend this property for any American tourist.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City, State
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Wanted a cheap place to stay close to the airport which this place certainly is but you get what you pay for. Lumpy beds, noisy air conditioners, far from downtown, not so nice pool. The service was nice at the desk.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Stayed for a few nights in a double room. It is a good place to stay, nothing special, just a clean comfy not too expensive hotel room. Location is not bad, because close to the Esplanade, but a fair walk to the CBD. Hotel staff is nice.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenobimaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
2.0 mi away
Cairns Tropical Garden Motel
0.2 mi away
Cairns Queenslander Hotel and Apartments
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Tower Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acacia Court Hotel
Acacia Court Hotel
#59 of 64 in Cairns
272 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cairns Southside International
0.5 mi away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment

Property: Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment
Address: 287 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable, tropical by design, offering self-catering rooms at a very affordable price. Located within easy walking distance to the Cairns Esplanade waterfront, numerous restaurants and City CBD, the Tropical Queenslander offers inexpensive accommodation for singles, couples and families. The property boasts two swimming pools, guest internet facilities, barbeque areas, tour desk and daily mini room service is provided. Experience the casual and rewarding lifestyle of the tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Queenslander Cairns Holiday Studio & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing