We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel i have ever stayed in!!!”
Review of Caravella Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caravella Central
Ranked #41 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Reviewed May 17, 2011

i got recommended this hostel by a friend and i am pleased i took her advice, it did say $15 on the internet when we got there it was $10 a night which included a free meal at the woolshed. the meals are very basic but you can upgrade for a few extra dollars. the rooms are clean and are all 4 bed share. the 2 girls on reception are really friendly and helpful, if you book any tours with them they will give you 10% discount. its right opposite the famous gilligans party hostel and they are paying about $30 a night, you can hear the music from the hostel (it had a night club inside) but the fan in the room drowns the noise out. you get to meet loadz of amazing people, i had the best time ever.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellenad_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 142 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2011

Corona backpackers has got to be one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Hannah and rthe office staff are amazingly helpful, way beyond what you normally get in any hostel. They book any trips and organise anything you need (with a 10% discount). The rooms are spacious and the whole hostel is clean -and cleaned thoroughly every day. All rooms have large ceiling fans, there's a kitchen as well as free evening meal coupons to get every day. It's a brilliant, friendly place. I stayed here for two weeks and would go back again without a second thought!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpacker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

The owner of this place is the most obnoxious person i have ever met, which is a shame because the girl he employs is such a nice person.

The reception is closed most of the day so it makes it really hard to check out and he then uses this as an excuse to keep your deposit.

My sheets had dried blood on them so I had to ask for some new ones, I dont think the room had been cleaned.

There is a fan which does not really work so the room is very hot and uncomfortable. You can stay at other hostels nearby for the same price for cheaper which have swimming pools and air conditioning

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danieluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

At one of the lowest prices in Cairns CBD ($16), this little place across the street from the famous, or infamous, Gilligans really surprised me. The manager is Hannah, and she is so amazing, really makes the place for what it is. She'll remember your name, and even asks how your trip to XYZ went. Couldn't ask for more help and flexibility.

The rooms are very spartan, there is no main sitting area, and you will have to use one of the crazy, unisex, dual stall showers with no divider between the showers. The kitchens are not fun, and there is no air con. But, for the price and cleanliness, as well as free dinner, the place was a hidden gem.

On the inverse, there are several great options for Hostels that are very comfortable and nice, but the price will be around $30. For $16, you got about as much as you can cram into the price.

Pros:
+Price Price, and Price
+Front Desk
+Super Clean
+Location is VERY central
+Free Dinner at Woolshed

Cons:
-No AC
-One outlet for the room
-Strange bathroom/shower configuration
-No main sitting area to socialize

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoSleepTillMnhtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank margot35526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Delfin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dromana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.1 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#10 of 82 in Cairns
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Jack Backpackers
The Jack Backpackers
#27 of 82 in Cairns
221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Njoy Travellers Resort
Njoy Travellers Resort
#11 of 82 in Cairns
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
0.1 mi away
Inn Cairns Boutique Apartments
0.3 mi away
Villa Vaucluse Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravella Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravella Central

Address: 72 Grafton St | Shop 6, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia (Formerly Corona Backpackers)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range: $12 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caravella Central 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caravella Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing