We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 out of 5”

Bushfire Flame Grill
Ranked #32 of 596 Restaurants in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Brazilian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Bushfire Flame Grill guests enjoy a Brazilian-inspired, Australian-style barbecue. Metre long skewers of succulent Australian beef, pork, lamb and chicken are seasoned, marinated and gently roasted on the churrasco grill. Waiters slice sizzling hot roasted meats from the skewers directly to your plate. The restaurant also offers an a la carte menu. Restaurant closes on most Australian public holidays.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“10 out of 5”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

AMAZING restaurant!! Service was quick efficeint and friendly, even the mightiest of food lovers won't beat the eat as much as you can, a MEAT LOVERS HEAVEN!! all the meat is tender cookedto perfection and seasoned out of this world, with cheeky little deserts if you can handle it!! BEST PLACE IN TOWN although is $40-$50 per head

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dog_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    212
    85
    35
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Loved the food, loved the way it is served at your table and the staff are attentive and interesting. All round great dining experience. Highly recommend this restaurant.
The Wilkinsons

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenandcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“50th Anniversary Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary. We chose the Pacific International Hotel with it's locally famous Bushfire Flame Grill Restaurant as the venue. We could not have been happier with the fare. The meats and pineapple was served on skewers and carved at the tables, the portions were more than adequate; and delicious! The service was excellent!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Earl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
160 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Don't eat all day (or week) before you go here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

It's is a typical Brazilian all you can eat meat feast. So if you like meat - go. If you don't like meat, perhaps still go for the desert Pineapple - yummy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travellersforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor service outweighed the food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I ate at the Bushfire Flame Grill with six friends on a Saturday evening on the basis of several positive reports from friends that had dined there. We were seated in an elevated area with a table overlooking the Esplanade; whilst this provided a nice view of the Esplanade it left us as the only diners in the area, which may have had an effect on our subsequent experience.

Around ten minutes after seating we were joined by our waiter.Enthusiastic and friendly, he informed us that he was in fact a cocktail barman and doubling as a waiter for the evening, and offered us a sample cocktail before he would return to take our food order. So far, so good, and the two friends that ordered cocktails were served quickly.

Upon his return, however, the challenges began. Six of us elected to try the signature Churrasco - a set menu of barbecued meats brought to the table on skewers - which presented no problem, but one friend wished to order off the menu, and her selection required our native-Brazilian waiter to return to the table three times to clarify what she requested. With this out of the way, we awaited our food, happily hearing that we (by now quite hungry) Churrasco diners would be served side dishes and the first meat dish "immediately" with our off-menu friend receiving her food a little later.

As the minutes wore on and our table remained empty, we watched as large portions of meat on skewers were proffered from table to table, everywhere it seemed except ours. We continued to wait while our waiter and others stopped by repeatedly to offer drinks. As we looked on, other diners appeared to be thoroughly enjoying their barbecued meat. The food seemed appetising, but is it difficult to eat vicariously through others.

After around thirty minutes the subject of our still-absent but apparently "immediate" dinners had passed "humorous" and were approaching "frustrating"; we were in no way short of drinks service but were now eyeing off each other's ice cubes as a source of something to chew on. At around this time two small plates of pork crackling were placed in front of us with the assurance that food would soon follow. We were not quite convinced but ate the crackling in the interim.

By now we were joking that our non-Churrasco-ordering friend - whose food was supposed to take ten or fifteen minutes longer than ours - would probably be eating first and may have to fend the rest of us off. We watched as waiters and waitresses occasionally stopped to offer drinks and more crackling as we awaited our dinner.

At around forty-five minutes after ordering, we were so frustrated that we elected to leave and seek food elsewhere. One of our friends actually called another nearby restaurant and was in the process of asking if they had a table available when our off-menu friend's dinner arrived, followed shortly thereafter by our promised side dishes so we stayed in place.

Not too long after, the first of the skewered meat arrived, in a pattern that persisted for the evening. We would be set upon by three or so staff members with meat and additional side dishes for a short while, followed by a long absence of attention from the wait staff. It appeared that each burst of food and service would come after one of two waitresses in particular had visited us; it seemed that they would be the force behind us receiving service before the next lull.

On the postive side, overall the food was better than average. The majority of the meat dishes were in fact very good or excellent, but unfortunately the first beef we were served was dry and overcooked; we were offered our preference in the cooking level but on the plate there was no difference between my "rare", my next friend's "medium" or the following friend's "medium rare".

I would finish by saying that when the food was coming it was coming quickly and enthusiastically, and most of it was very enjoyable. The experience though was soured overall by the excessive wait and the subsequent long gaps, and the overall impression from staff that this was not a problem. Even that would not necessarily be a deal-breaker in another setting, but at around fifty dollars a plate we expected a little better than that.

I hope that our visit is not the normal standard but unfortunately I would struggle to recommend Bushfire to others based on our experience and I'm reticent to consider returning there very soon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BW_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalPacific, General Manager at Bushfire Flame Grill, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear BW Qld

Thank you for the comprehensive feedback. We apologise for the service you encountered and are sorry that you had a long wait before your meals were served. We are working on ways to rectify the service problems you encountered so that every guest has an exceptional dining experience at Bushfire.

Thank you also for your positive comments on the food offering and we are glad that you found it enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bushfire Flame Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bushfire Flame Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing