We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairns City Apartments
Nearby Hotels
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$155
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Cairns(Cairns)
$126
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$187
$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$243
$141
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$114
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cairns Plaza Hotel(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$93
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Palms(Cairns)(Great Value!)
$105
$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
41
15
4
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
15
4
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentthese apartmentsregency buildingkitchen waremain bedroomshopping centrerusty's marketsuited our needsshort walkcentral locationhuge balconywashing machine and dryeryour doorstepgreat holidaynight staylocation is greatspence
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 73 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Not far from the Cairn airport. Was very convenience for we go sky diving and flying back to Hong Kong. That apartment was big enough for us 6, three rooms inside, our apartment was 20 metres walk to the swimming pool. Also, basic and enough kitchen facilities for cooking 3 meals a day.

Room Tip: no one clean up room while you staying. Skydive Cairns provides good services and experience.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devilcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very roomy and my colleagues and I enjoyed our stay.
All comfy and felt we had lots of room so close to the city. It was very convenient with only 5-10 mins walk to the convention centre and 10-15 mins to the Marina.
There was a bit of a smell in the hall ( I forget to mention to staff) but that didn't make it into the room.
All the staff very friendly and helpful.
Apart from having a dodgy TV in my bedroom and being assured that there was nothing wrong with the TV it was me that couldn't get it to work , eventually they looked at it and the set top box was changed immediately.
Would definitely stay again as it was extremely good value for money!!

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor facing street in Clarendon which gave a nice view streetscape and surrounding hills.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marbrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My friends and I stayed at the Clarendon on Spence for three nights recently. The apartment was very clean and spacious and we were very comfortable there. The girls at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. The location is also good. A nice walk down to the waters edge and a shopping mall across the road. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Here on a travel agents famil, I'm currently 2 nights into a 4 night stay in what I imagine (and hope!) is the worst 3 bedroom apartment in the complex. The furniture is old and outdated, outdoor furniture is torn, linen doesn't properly fit the beds, there is a small screen but large prehistoric tv which makes a piercing and humming sound when it's on (so its off). The pool is rather small also.
I booked another group of agents into a 2 bedroom unit here which has a much better layout, 2 modern tvs and furnishings although they say it smells like a motel...
Having spent the majority of the stay so far in bed due to illness today I'm feeling better until I had a really good look around and just became annoyed by it all. I phoned thru to ask if we could have a replacement tv as this one is noisy and enquired as to another room but when the guy came to "look at the tv" he just said he couldn't hear the noise I was referring to!! And that nothing could be done about it until Monday so to let him know Monday if it's still playing up! (hilarious considering its Saturday and we leave Monday..) and that they can't change apartments as there's no availability.. Wish I'd booked the sebel as they had a great industry rate but my partner was adamant we book an apartment since we brought the kids along :( oh well next time.. Will post pics

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frombyronbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate all feedback and are continually working to improve the experience for our guests whilst staying with us at Cairns City Apartments.

*Please note that this guest did not stay with us on a "Travel Agents Famil" they were a full paying guest who booked their accommodation directly with us and their affiliation with any travel company has nothing to do with this particular booking.

We apologise that the Apartment was not up to your standard but this is by no means our "worst apartment". All of our Apartments are individually styled and we believe this makes our accommodation unique, as all of our apartments differ in furnishings and layout. Our apartments are more of a 'home away from home".

Perhaps the furnishings in this particular apartment weren't to your liking, but we often have great comments about this particular Apartment especially from international guests as it has beautiful original Aboriginal art on the walls and a matching decor.

In regards to linen not properly fitting the beds, there are 3 Queen Beds in this apartment all being fitted with Queen sheets so we are unsure as to why you would think that the linen did not fit? Perhaps you messed up the sheets and you did not re-make the bed properly.

You stated that the Apartments smelt like a Motel? If you mean smelt like it was recently cleaned then we will take this as a compliment. We use high grade cleaning products on our Apartments to ensure that all facilities are hygienically cleaned and sanitised before our guests check in.

In regards to the TV our Maintenance crew was called to inspect the TV at 8.30pm on the Saturday evening and could find no fault with the TV or no strange noise coming from it. As to the TV being unsatisfactory, it was in full working condition and you had all digital channels. This particular TV is not a flat screen but will be replaced with a flat screen in the coming week. We do not advertise that flat screens are in all apartments, they are in 90% of them and will be in all apartments in the very near future.

In regards to the ripped chair, a new outdoor setting has now been placed on the balcony and looks great! Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

The pool at Clarendon is 4m x 11m and is in no way small. Perhaps you found it small as you had six children swimming in it at the same time. We regularly get great feedback from other guests as to how this is a great pool area and how nice it is to relax around to have a swim and a spa.

In regards to bringing your children I am sure you had much more space in our 3 Bedroom 2 Bathroom Apartments than if you stayed in a small hotel room. Perhaps next time you stay in Cairns choose a Five Star Hotel as you seem to have quite particular taste.

Again thank you very much for your review your feedback is extremely valuable to us.

Kind Regards Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

This place was a complete joke. If you like ants all over your apartment then look no further, this is where you need to be. They also like to advertise things that they don't actually have, like a bbq grill, a friendly staff, or a clean pool. Don't bother complaining about anything either, they proved to be the most unhelpful, condescending, rude hospitality staff I've ever had the pleasure of staying with. Don't write anything on this website they don't like either, cuz they'll threaten you with a lawsuit. If you're looking to enjoy Cairns, stay at the Casino or Gilligans, at least they can offer you free food and drinks during your stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brandon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CairnsCityApartments, Manager at Cairns City Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not have the experience you were looking for but perhaps your group should have booked at a Backpackers like Gilligans as our Apartments are not catered to your demographic of young backpackers. We are a corporate and family orientated establishment and pride ourselves on this. We do not offer “drink specials” and are not a party hotel, in fact we have a very strict no party policy which you were informed of when booking and checking in.

Readers of this review should note that on departure the apartment was left in an unsatisfactory condition which took Housekeeping an extra 2 hours to clean including that we had to hire carpet cleaners to clean all the carpets.

On check out this guest was informed that the apartment was in an unsatisfactory condition and given the chance to come back to clean the apartment, in which they declined. They were then informed there would be an extra cleaning charge which they accepted as they were aware the apartment was in an unsatisfactory condition which was in breach of the booking conditions.

Also, at no time did this guest contact us with any issues including ants and on cleaning the apartment we found no evidence of ants.

We pride ourselves on our being a corporate and family orientated accommodation provider and our customer service and satisfaction is of our utmost priority.

Again thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Kind Regards Zara
Sales and Property Manager
Cairns City Apartments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews