We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for an Evening”
Review of Cock & Bull

Cock & Bull
Ranked #45 of 606 Restaurants in Cairns
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Renton, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun place for an Evening”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Last night in Cairns and we picked this pub to enjoy some good fare and we weren't disappointed. I had the mixed plate with the kangaroo and croc. Food was flavorful and plentiful. It's off the main drag of tourist places to eat, but well worth going out of the way.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NWPackerBacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    237
    101
    26
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We highly recommend this PUB. For the faint hearted just ask for 1 serving with an extra plate .You can always go back for another !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“Decent food terrible service”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Food is alright pub food, but under 18's are not allowed to be there without a parent or guardian! My girlfriend and myself (both 17) were not even allowed to have water with our meals!!!! And then to top it off we were asked to leave straight away! Rude! Bad service! Alright food! No water! What a disgrace! Definitely do not recommend for under 18's when not supervised! Seriously not giving water is terrible.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrewdddddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good fare”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Loved the atmosphere at the Cock & Bull, with lots of wild game and examples of sports fishing on display. The steaks were huge - I'll choose a pub like this any day over a restaurant which serves arty food but hardly anything on the plate.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love a bit of Cock and Bull”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Spent six nights in Cairns and ate here for four of them. I think that tells you all you need to know. The servings of food are absolutely huge, probably too large even for a typical American to finish. I sampled the Big Game Combo which was a massive kangaroo steak and a massive crocodile steak with all the trimmings. Struggled to get out of my seat afterwards and all for the equivalent of about £15, washed down with a decent variety of beer. Now I'm back in England it is not uncommon for me to dream of Cock and Bull. Amazing

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smccarthyplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock & Bull also viewed

 

Been to Cock & Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing