We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way to much food!!!!”
Review of Cock & Bull

Cock & Bull
Ranked #42 of 613 Restaurants in Cairns
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Atherton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Way to much food!!!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went to dinner there last night, everything about the venue is very good. My only complaint/concern is the size of the serves, I had the lamb shanks, 2 shanks for one person, then along with mashed potatoes, peas and carrots, you could say good value for money $22.90 however, it was enough food for 3 people. They do not have a license to allow you to take the leftovers away, so 2/3rds of my meal was wasted. My advise is if you are going there, order one meal and share it, you will have plenty unless you need to eat for 3. In today's environment, with the number of hungry people why must we waste so much???? Wouldn't it be better to serve smaller meals or get a license to have take away for those who can't or don't want to eat that much?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    242
    103
    27
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Massive Meals @ Decent Prices”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I left Cairns 15 years ago and whilst I lived there, the Cock and Bull was a pub which we (group of friends) visited often. Returning with my husband and "talking up" the Cock and Bull, I'm glad it did not disappoint.
The meal size was massive, my husband could not finish his meal. The prices are very reasonable and the service is great.
Visit the Cock and Bull if you're hungry and want to enjoy a beverage in a comfortable and relaxed environment.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBug735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Decent prices”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stopped to eat at the Cock and Bull. There's an enormous Redcoat standing outside the restaurant, so you can't miss it.
I wanted a salad and the soup of the day. That was ham and minestrone, very good, but I wish the bread that accompanied it was more than a dinner roll. Somehow, soup, even in a hot climate like Queensland, demands a hefty hunk of bread.
My salad was lackluster. I forgot to say no cheese (I love it but can't eat it). It came liberally covered with cheese. I tasted a few, oh, my , very good cheese...but I dare not eat it, not and go out into public later on.
My husband ordered the fish and chips. Quite the disappointment, the fish was Spanish mackerel, the species it seems every fish and chips plate I ate in Oz was composed of. Rather than a filet, his fish came in two long, skinny rolls, heavily breaded. This means it's been processed at least three times. Consequently it was overcooked and virtually tasteless. However his fries (chips) were perfect.
We didn't receive the plate groaners others have written about (meaning a lot of food). I left a little hungry.
Overall, decent pub grub but not up to the standards we have found elsewhere in Oz. Go if you're dying of hunger, but Cairns has tons of great restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleMeadowlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Value and Good Food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Visited with wife and young daughter 3yo. Food was plentiful, good quality and very reasonable. i had lovely tender bbq pork ribs and still not sure how they loaded them all on my plate. Mrs had
Bangers and mash which was very good in her op[inion and from my small sampling. Daughter shared our meals. Staff friendly, only unusual thing was we had to order our meals from different places, if you wanted kitchen meal versus a grill meal ?

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MmmmFood19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food at fair prices, always struggle to finish the meal. With decent beverage prices also who can complain. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank Christos1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock & Bull also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Cock & Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing