We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, but bland”
Review of Cock & Bull

Cock & Bull
Ranked #46 of 597 Restaurants in Cairns
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Big, but bland”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The meals are huge, but unfortunately I was less than impressed with how the taste. I think it must be pretty hard to make a bad chicken parmigiana but they managed it. My vegetables were tasteless and straight out of the packet and the pepper sauce I ordered was bland and tasteless.

The atmosphere is nice and a few of my friends looked like they had good steaks on their plates. The portions were huge.

An odd thing about this place is that there are two counters at which to order food - steak at one and pub meals at the other. This isn't well advertised and I wasted about 10 minutes in the steak line before I was told that I needed to place my order at the other end of the pub.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrekBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    231
    99
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent pub meals, but look out for rude security!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The food at the Cock and Bull is nothing spectacular, but if you're really hungry, their huge pub meals could be exactly what you want. A good range of chicken, steaks, bangers and mash, and even shepherd's pie which is not something I see in restaurants often. It's nothing special, but it's a good feed and my friends and I love starting a night out at the Cock and Bull.

However (I assume due to licensing laws), they have bouncers out the front checking IDs. This strikes me as odd, because I can't think of any other restaurants in the area that do this, but I don't really have a problem with it. The problem I do have is the attitude of the bouncers. There's no need for them to be as rude as they are to paying customers! And it's not an isolated incident either, this is a regular occurrence. I have no problems with having security on the door, but some customer service training wouldn't go astray.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cameron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good steak”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Decent food, if a little expensive for the average backpacker. The steak was good, and it was right beside our hostel

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmmaPDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good honest pub food”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Large meals - nothing fancy, but good honest pub food. Good value for meals and drinks. Staff are friendly and efficient. Ample parking available.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachbumsCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huge meals!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

My fam loves this place!!!
The meals here are massive. Everybody always gets a kick out of how big their meals are. Reasonable prices, plenty to choose from and have never had a bad meal.
Highly recommend :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casper9030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cock & Bull also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Cock & Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing