We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JJ's!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #6 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“JJ's!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

An nice little hostel which is 25 minutes out of town. The kitchen is ok but needs cleaning more often and they need an extra fridge! The rooms are a bit small and very dated. The washing lines are above the bins!??? Not good if you would like clean non smelly clothes! The lounge is dated and the TV is older than most visitors. The wifi is expensive short term but cheap long term but it is very very slow!
The reception is shut between 12-4 which is really annoying! The staff are really knowledgeable about the local area which is good and unusual for a backpacker hostel I have found.
The security needs upping, during my stay there were two break-ins resulting in a phone, tablet and wallet getting stolen.
Simon the owner is rude and only cares about money. I know he has upset a lot of people staying there.

The people that stay here are normally a good bunch which makes it a good stay if you can ignore the above.

The free Woolshed meals are ok. If you upgrade between 5-8bucks you get a really really good meal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 597Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and comments. We have looked at what you have written and taken all into consideration. When guests are not happy we really wish they would talk to us when they are here as we can usually make everything better for a more pleasant stay :o)
In response to your comments;
Our kitchen is cleaned several times a day, once by reception in the morning then by our cleaners after 9am breakfast time, then at 1pm, 4pm and 9.30pm by our driver. We must have had a few guests in at that time who didn't like to clean up after themselves?
We are not sure which room you was in however our dorms are only 3, 4 or 5 share and sizes range from 9sq m for the twin rooms up to 15sq m for the 5 share. This is usually enough space however we will ask future guests what they think too.
When reception is closed we are usually on the end of the phone and our driver is also available during the middle of the day for any inquiries :o)
Regarding the "break ins", there was a spate of burglaries throughout Cairns homes and accommodation places during that time. The hostel was not broken into as the room doors had been left wide open whilst the occupants were out. The valuables were left on their beds and not put out of sight or in our safety deposit. We spoke to as many guests as possible and put notices up all around the hostel to advise of the situation and to make sure all doors were closed and locked and any valuables were either put into our safe or put out of sight. The signs are still up around the hostel now.

As join owner of JJ's we assure you we are not just in it "just for the money". We love what we do and enjoy sharing our experiences and helping our guests to have the most wonderful time whilst in Cairns. We usually find guest's take a dislike to us if we catch them doing something naughty or are asked to abide by the rules if not doing so. :o(

On the up side.......we will look at moving the bins from the laundry area AND we are updating the TV room as we speak, yeehaaa :oD

Thank you so much for your time in adding your review and we hope from this our future guests can have a more pleasant stay.
Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    77
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
56
90
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Hi All!
Me and My girlfriend Dream stayed over the New Year's for 14 nights and it was just amazing! It is a small, quiet, clean and very friendly place to stay! Big thank you to Mr Driver for having my stay more chilled out and Jordan for trip advices! We spend great time in Cairns and looking forward to come back one day for holidays!
Cheers guys!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thanks for spending New Year with us and for sharing your experiences with others!
It is great you had a good time up here and we love that you call him "Mr Driver" hee hee. Might make it his new name :o)
We wish you all the best and definitely look forward to seeing you again if you make it back to sunny Cairns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed in this backpackers for 2 weeks at the end of November, I had a single room which was clean had air conditioning which was very much needed!! The owners of the backpackers was very good as a few times I was late being picked up for trips and helped me by ringing my tour guide etc!! It was all very clean had toast etc for you every morning in the kitchen!! I would recommend this place to everyone who stays in cairns, as it is walking distance to the centre and harbour!!


Tom

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomgratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thanks squillions for your review!
Yes, you definitely need the a/c in the summer months, can be a little sticky!
It's great you enjoyed your time here and have recommended for other to stay with us, thank you.
We wish you all the best in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is the only Hostel I've ever had a hard time leaving. Every body there made you feel so welcome, so much so that i ended up staying for over 5 weeks. Simon, Tracy, Jordan, George and the rest of the team were always pleasant and helpful, and really made me feel at home. the rooms were nice, fairly sized and clean. there was also a real sense of community there, which i have not found at any other hostel I've been to. the massive plus was that its not too big so you actually get to know almost everyone there. JJ's helped me make memories that i will keep with me for ever and i already want to go back! It was definitely the highlight of my time in Australia and i would recommend it straight away to anyone travelling up to Cairns.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charie-Layton1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
WOW!!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you for your amazing review!
We love it when we hear this about our little hostel as this is exactly how we want our guests to feel, part of the family :o)
We really appreciate you sharing your memories with others and hope that everyone who stays with us in the future feels the same way!!
Hopefully, we will see you again if you make it back to Cairns.
Lots love, Tracy, Simon, Jordan, Georges & Luisa xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubize, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great place for backpackers. Excellent staff, excellent partnership with Woolshed restaurant with excellent food. Good facilities. A lot of helps to book trips. Situated at 15-20 walk from the center. Free shuttle to go to Woolshed.
Excellent recommandation !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Quentin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we think you are a superstar!!!!
We are so happy you enjoyed your time at JJ's and Cairns.
Safe travels, from the JJ's crew :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Nice staff and clean facilities. The price includes breakfast and dinner in a pub downtown (rice or pasta for free or a discount in other dishes). It's 15 minutes walk from the center, but they have a free shuttle service that is very useful. If you book tours with them they give you a lift to the meeting point of the tour. The only " but" is that there were quite a lot of little ants in the room.
Staff was very nice and helpful all the time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It is great you had a good time when you stayed with and thank you for sharing :o)
Ants in the tropics are attracted to the slightest thing be it food, dirty laundry, empty wrappers/cans in bins. We encourage everyone to eat in the dining area rather than in their rooms to help a little. Please also always come to see us if anything like this happens as we would be happy to sort the problem out straight away. This would make you stay that little bit more comfortable.
safe travels and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

JJ's was hands-down the best place I stayed at during a recent month-long tour of Austral-asia. The facilities and location are top-notch, but what really set this place apart were:
1) the staff. Easy to see why JJ's won the Best Customer Service award. Tracy, Simon (I think), Martin, et al bent over backwards to make me feel welcome, and went WAY beyond the call of duty to help with not one but two or three unusual issues I had. They're also ready with useful, impartial advice on request, though not pushy about it.
2) the atmosphere this creates among the guests - I immediately felt at home.

PLUS there's a ping-pong table, cereal in the morning, a great book-shelf, a voucher for a local bar, and they run a frequent shuttle to help you get around town.

The above speaks for itself but friend of mine who lives in Cairns actually corroborated my opinion so it's got local cred as well - what more could you want!

Room Tip: i stayed in two different rooms which were much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samuel_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
WOW WOW WOW thank you soooooo much for your amazing review!!!! Your requests were not too bad and as it turned out it made your holiday just as you needed it to be :o)
We all love what we do and it is up to us to help all our guests have the best possible time whilst in Cairns and at JJ's.
It is great to also hear the locals are happy to recommend us, that really is a great bonus!
Thank you again for this and we wish you safe and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
584 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
1.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.2 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
1.1 mi away
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ's Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Property: JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Address: 11 - 13 Charles St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — JJ's Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few smaller hostels in Cairns, JJ's offers a friendly, social atmosphere and fantastic service. This owner/operated hostel is perfect for meeting people, having fun and has that family feel you are looking for. Breakfast & WiFi included, all bed linen is provided and dorms are only 3 or 4 share! Doubles, twins & singles available and a free courtesy bus, train and city pick up. Secure off street parking for those self-drivers. All you will need for a safe and comfortable stay whilst in Cairns. JJ's operates a comprehensive Tour Booking Service offering discounted tours and adventures. Local, experienced Staff will give you honest advice on tours, transport options, where and what to see and do in Cairns, Queensland and the rest of Australia. Other services available at JJ's include; Fully equipped kitchen & BBQ facilities * Swimming Pool & Table Tennis * Games, X Box, DVDs, TV room & Book Swap * Air Conditioning for summer * Blankets for winter * Photocopy, printing & scanning * Laundry * Towels ($2 hire) * Free Safety Deposit & Backpack Storage* Hair-dryer/straigheners * Free tea & coffee. Close to Esplanade, gym, supermarket, takeaways and pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your JJ's Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing