We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #6 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great friendly hostel!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I loved JJ's backpackers! Friendly, clean, small but meant that you got the chance to meet and chat to everyone. Had a real family feel to it with the staff and owners. It was a little out of town, but I enjoyed the walk in. If you don't feel like walking then you can jump on the free shuttle into town. It was great value for money with a free feed at The Woolshed and a basic breakfast in the mornings. I originally booked for a week and stayed for 2! It's great for the budget traveller.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezdog_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you so much for writing your reviews for your future guests to read, it is greatly appreciated!!!
We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and to extend for another week, is fantastic, thank you!!
We are only a small hostel which does make it a great place to meet new friends and also our staff can meet and greet everyone on a more personal level.
Happy travels, from us all at JJ's x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    76
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
55
90
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our first destination in Australia, obviously not as good and cheap as places we stayed in Asia but I actually really like this place! The owners were lovely and settled us in to the Australian way! JJs is a little way out from the centre but the walk was really nice along the beach, always jump on the free shuttle! Used the free shuttle to head into the centre for our free dinner at The Woolpack. I think Cairns is a cute little town the outdoor swimming pool is good for a dip after walking around in the sun!
The rooms are basic and on the small side but that wasn't a problem for us as we were out on the reef diving and snorkelling or exploring! The owners are helpful with trips and info and always on hand to help which is useful. They also have a tv room with DVDs which was good way to get chatting to other travellers! The kitchen is big with good facilities, it wasn't too busy when we stayed there so we didn't have any overcrowding issues when cooking which we were later to experince further down the coast...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slipski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add your fabbo review, it is really appreciated!!!!!!!
It is always great to get feedback especially when guests have stayed at other hostels and can compare what we offer our guests.
We love what we do and hopefully this does rub off on our guests.
Have fun down the coast!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed here over xmas and were treated very well. Got a free bbq dinner and even a little gift from the owners!! Rooms are pretty basic but you dont exactly spend long in them so you dont need anything flashy!

A bit of a walk from town centre, but the shuttle is really useful and it is walkable too.

Nice small swimming pool

All the staff are great and made a few friends in this hostel which I still keep in touch with.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
YEAY!!!! Glad you had a great Christmas with us and liked your little gift!!!
We do keep rooms basic so they get thoroughly cleaned between guests arrivals/departures. Comfy mattresses too, we hope ;o)
We are situated only a 15 minute walk to the centre of town but understand that not all of our guests want to walk this so.....we offered the free bus transfers - YEAY US!
Don't forget though, we are only a couple of minutes walk to the Esplanade.
We have had many a JJ's reunion from guest's who have met here and then caught up with each other again in other parts of the world! A couple of marriages and familes too, ha ha ;o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

We parked our Jucy campavan at JJ Backpackers and used their facilities. The hostel was very clean and well maintained. Their location is slightly out of town but we didn't mind the walk as it was along the beach which is beautiful in the winter sunshine. There is a free bus if people don't like the exercise. The best thing about the hostel is it's staff, all were very friendly, helpfully and approachable. They gave us so much valuable advice and went out of their way to keep us happy. We loved it so much we returned after 2 nights away touring Cape Trib. It's the prefect base and we would definitely return if in Cairns again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny and Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Wow, what a great review!!! Thank you so much!
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and it is always a pleasure to see guests return after thier travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Nice hostel, Good value , clean and staff very nice . A bit far from the city center but there is a shuttle every hours. Small but nice swimming pool. Bedroom and bathroom clean.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your reviews!!!!
We are so happy you liked staying with us at JJ's!
Getting this feedback really helps us to continually improve our little hostel however we can!
Safe travels x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I had a wonderful experience with this hostel, and enthusiastically recommend to fellow travelers. It is a bit outside of the downtown area, but they have an hourly shuttle...however I chose to walk most days because the boardwalk is beautiful along the waterfront. Simon and Tracey are absolutely incredible and will do anything to help you enjoy your trip. Place was incredibly clean. Kitchen big, basic, but everything you need (no oven, but why heat up a place with an oven when it's so hot outside, anyway?!). Breakfast is basic (toast, tea, coffee, cereal), but free and all I needed. Enthusiastically recommend this to any fellow traveler.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
We love you we do!!!
Thank you sooooo much for a fantastic review! We hope this does help our future guests to decide to stay with us at JJ's.
THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed on many occasions! you will find rooms no bigger than 4 bed dorm and cheap as!! staff are friendly and extremely helpful! My advice is to pick this place over the rest!! as a traveller you will meet far more nice people staying in small hostels like this!! See you again some day JJ's Backpackers

Room Tip: This is the place to pick over the rest!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markharrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjsbackpackers, Owner at JJ's Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Can't get better than this! Wow, thank you soo much for this great feedback. Don't really know what to say now :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
576 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dreamtime Travellers Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tropic Days Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
1.0 mi away
The Northern Greenhouse
The Northern Greenhouse
#10 of 85 in Cairns
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JJ's Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Property: JJ's Backpackers Hostel
Address: 11 - 13 Charles St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Cairns
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — JJ's Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the few smaller hostels in Cairns, JJ's offers a friendly, social atmosphere and fantastic service. This owner/operated hostel is perfect for meeting people, having fun and has that family feel you are looking for. Breakfast & WiFi included, all bed linen is provided and dorms are only 3 or 4 share! Doubles, twins & singles available and a free courtesy bus, train and city pick up. Secure off street parking for those self-drivers. All you will need for a safe and comfortable stay whilst in Cairns. JJ's operates a comprehensive Tour Booking Service offering discounted tours and adventures. Local, experienced Staff will give you honest advice on tours, transport options, where and what to see and do in Cairns, Queensland and the rest of Australia. Other services available at JJ's include; Fully equipped kitchen & BBQ facilities * Swimming Pool & Table Tennis * Games, X Box, DVDs, TV room & Book Swap * Air Conditioning for summer * Blankets for winter * Photocopy, printing & scanning * Laundry * Towels ($2 hire) * Free Safety Deposit & Backpack Storage* Hair-dryer/straigheners * Free tea & coffee. Close to Esplanade, gym, supermarket, takeaways and pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your JJ's Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing