We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great trek to the Rainforest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours

Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$154.35*
and up
Atherton Tablelands Rainforest Wildlife Tour by Night
Ranked #9 of 157 Tours in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 'Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours' specialises in small group day and night rainforest wildlife tours. It is magical to be involved in seeing a wild animal unrestricted in its natural environment in the rainforest. We often see platypus, birds, possums, tree kangaroos, insects, frogs, owls, reptiles, various invertebrates and other animals on our tours. As a lot of Australian rainforest animals are nocturnal, a night element and spotlighting is included with a knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great trek to the Rainforest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I took the afternoon-evening rainforest tour during a recent visit. It was at the beginning of a six week trek through Australia and we both agreed that this tour set a high bar as far as tour content and overall activity. We toured with Terry and a small group - stopping first to see some Agile Wallaby and enjoyed a nice waterfront tea as we headed out towards the Tablelands - spotting honey-eaters and some other birds/insects. Binoculars were furnished to help with observation. We managed to catch a quick glimpse of a shy platypus. A boardwalk hike through part of the rainforest allowed us to observe quite a bit of flora and fauna...These included towering bull kauris trees, turtles, water dragons, ducks, kites and some nifty green-headed ants among other things. We made a stop for dinner at Nick's Swiss Italian Restaurant in Yungaburra and enjoyed a nice meal and conversation. (The barramundi was delicious!) We saw a Rufus owl on the way out of the restaurant.
Then, it was off for night spotting in the rainforest. Proper lamps were provided,and we made our way toward a spectacular curtain fig - we also spotted green ring tail possum, coppery brush tail possum, common brushtail possum, a long nose bandicoot, a northern leaftail gekko, a spectacled flying fox, cane toads and Huntsman spiders.

If you want to spot wildlife in it's native habitat, this is a great tour!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ColorMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    21
    10
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time! Great Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I loved this tour! A friend and I came from Chicago to go on this tour and it was exactly what I was looking for. The owner of the company took us out in the van and parked at locations near the rainforest. From there we took foot paths through the forest. You are given lunch and a good dinner and at dusk you search for a platypus until nightime, when you are given spotlights to look for those night creatures! We saw kangaroos, a rare, smaller kangaroo, fruit bats, possums, a tree frog, lizards, turtles, birds and many more! I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It's all about nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Terry was an interesting guide that really tried his best to show us as much of nature as possible. Unfortunately the night we went out it was a full moon so there wasn't as many animals as they might have been. he did show us green ants, kangaroos, lira (sp?) birds, various possums, platapuses and other lizards and birds. Also knowledgeable about plans (I feel I learned more about botany on this trip than I ever learned in school!). We went to a beautiful volcanic lake and had a proper tea which was idyllic. expensive but worth it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ERISADIVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Definitely worth getting out of Cairns for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We started off with some wallabies on the city's edge (interesting location, but perhaps less exciting for those who have already seen lots of marsupials on their travels) and a huge colony of flying foxe,s before heading up into the forest itself. This is a good tactic to ensure you see something, because animals at these spots seem to be guaranteed, which of course the rest of the tour isn't. Unfortunately the weather turned against us so we didn't see our prime objectives of a platypus and a tree kangaroo but we did find a very wet coppery brushtail possum and some sort of rodent (maybe a melomys) and there are turtles, lizards and a huge cream tea at the first out-of-town stop.

Terry is a great spotter and also good on the forest plants – some of his comments on the animals suggest his wildlife knowledge is not as great (he's not a naturalist). It's definitely a good option to check the forest out after dark, although you could easily compress the tour to skip the two food stops, especially when it's dark around 6pm. Quite a late finish (back at 22:40).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank P_n_R_Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great guide, very informative and showed up loads of interesting wildlife:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great guide. Very knowledgeable and entertaining. Terry had lots of patience:) Excellent commentary. Good sightingsof promised wildlife. Good breaks and food. Thanks:-)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blossomau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours also viewed

Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing