We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wait a While tour”

Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$155.21*
and up
Atherton Tablelands Rainforest by Night from Cairns
Ranked #14 of 160 Tours in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: 'Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours' specialises in small group rainforest wildlife tours with a twist! As a lot of Australian rainforest animals are nocturnal (at least 80% of them) a night element and spotlighting is always included with a knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide. It is magical to be involved in seeing a wild animal unrestricted in its natural environment in the rainforest, especially at night with all the new sights and sounds around you. On our tours we can never guarantee what we will see but we do promise you will see something! As an example we often see the elusive platypus (we have at least a 90% success rate) and the rare Tree Kangaroo as well as rare birds, musky rat kangaroos, possums, frogs, owls, reptiles, bandicoots and various invertebrates. Your wildlife adventure starts early afternoon with pick ups from your Cairns hotels and returns you around 10pm. Included is binoculars, wet wether gear, afternoon tea in the forest and dinner at a country restaurant.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Terry was the best! This is a " Must Do" tour where safety is a priority and the tour guide was top notch..
We saw the Platypus, the tree climbing Kangaroo
(night tour) as well as many other Kangaroos and the best was the 1000 year old Curtain (?) Banyan tree............We enjoyed a delicious meal in a 4 star restaurant and had some delicious scones and cream with our tea.
Thanks a million Terry for a terrific day and night tour!!!

Evelyne and Rick.

Thank coquotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaitaWhileCairns, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hi Evelyne and Rick. Platypus in the wild...gotto love that, and the Curtain Fig tree, wow. Offering the best of both worlds is something quiet unique. Day and night time wildlife spotting. Thanks for your review, it's amazing what nature throws at us.
All the best, Regards Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 356 of 457 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

So today we spent the day with Terry of Wait-a-While, and we needed to wait for nothing despite the name of the tour (you will learn along the way where the name comes from).

Shortly after picking up our last few people in Cairns we were quickly onto the wildlife just a few minutes drive outside of the city. After that we stopped at so many places the other tours miss, and saw so many animals the other tours don't show you. I sit here tonight reviewing the pictures and am simply stunned at how well our day went and the number of beautiful creatures we saw. Don't hesitate and book this one if you want to see animals outside of the zoo, have a dinner with delights not to be missed and want the experience of walking through the road, holding a spotlight and seeing eyes peer back at you from the rainforest.

Terry knew exactly where to find the animals, provided for our every more human creature comforts along the way, and had an easy going nature that made us feel like we were catching up with an old friend along the way as we chatted between stops. I could list all the wildlife we saw but will leave that up to what nature has to offer when you spend your day with Terry. Don't miss this one during a stay in Cairns, and I assure you at the end of the day you will have a camera full of stunning images and a head full of memories to treasure for some time to come.

Angela and Joe 11/25/2012

Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaitaWhileCairns, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hi Angela and Joe, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Spotting wildlife in the wild is something to remember and cherish. So glad to hear you both enjoyed your tour with us and we look forward to a return visit one day. Merry Xmas.
Regards Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Terry was such an enthusiastic guide we couldn't help but be infected. Kangaroos, bats and lychees in the suburbs, scones, wait a while trees and honey eaters at Lake Barine. My dream sighting of a wild platypus - it took patience but the excitement and magic made this the best tour ever for me. Dinner was tasty and well appreciated. Thank you so much. Irene

Thank ireneflynn2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaitaWhileCairns, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hi Irene, we did see some amazing animals on your tour and I'm glad you enjoyed yourself. Many thanks for your review. Merry Xmas.
Best regards Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We did the Rainforest Wildlife Tour 1 - 4WD option on 6 September 2012. Being from Australia we took the tour with no particular expectations but hoped to see some nocturnal animals in their natural setting. This is exactly what we got. It was an easy paced tour, no strenuous walking or climbing was involved.
Terry our guide was relaxed, friendly and informative. He was passionate about showing the variety of wildlife that is endemic to the region. We came away with a realisation of how much we do not take notice of in our own backyards!

We were lucky enough to encounter wallabies, a variety of birds including the azure kingfisher, platypuses at sunset and while spotlighting we saw a Green Ringtail possum, a Bronze Glider and leafy gecko(s). A tree kangaroo topped off the tour.

Afternoon tea and the evening meal were first class, the dinner at Nick's Restaurant Yungaburra was tasty and filling.

All in all, we highly recommend this tour. Deb and Alan

Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaitaWhileCairns, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hi Deb and Alan, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your tour. Aussies enjoy our tours and your review helps others make a decision on what to do in Cairns. I really enjoyed my time with the both of you and I look forward to a return visit from you one day. All the best, Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I completed this tour last night. As there were only 3 of us we were upgraded to the 4wd version which was very comfortable. The late start is such a bonus and who knew people really had kangaroos in their back yard.
The binoculars they loan you are of a high quality with great reference material at hand. It is fantastic to visit Lake Barine without the busses and other crowds of people. After afternoon tea we completed a lovely walk where we saw some Bower birds (sound amazing!) a python and some other smaller animals. Great views and rainforest. We visited Lake Eacham where we saw a water dragon, crayfish and archer fish. Being as Australian I couldnt believe there were 2 platapus so close. Very hard to get a photo of though. Dinner was at the historic herberton hotel and after some friendly local hospitality and a full tummy we headed off in search of the illusive tree kangaroo. Spotlighting was fun!

If you want a tour that is different, lets you have a sleep in, is informative and gets you off the beaten track and away from the crowds and normal toursit beaten path, then this is it!
It was fantastic to be out of Cairns and up in the beautiful tablelands. It is sooo different at night time.

2  Thank Travelgypsyisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaitaWhileCairns, Owner at Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thanks for your great review travelgypsyisme. Spotlighting is fun :-) and a great experience for all. Travel safe and we will see you again some time.
Team Wait-a-While

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours also viewed

 
Cairns, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Wait-a-While Rainforest Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing