We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So far the best beach I saw in Cairns” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fitzroy Island Adventures with Raging Thunder

Fitzroy Island Adventures with Raging Thunder
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.40*
and up
Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Attraction details
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So far the best beach I saw in Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Haven't done any east coast trip yet so couldn't compare, but Fitzroy Island now became my No. 1 beaches, with crystal clear water, unafraid people fishes, and so easy to do all activities, snorkel, Kayak, or just swim in the clear warm water~

It was suppose to be a raining day, but we just got lucky that once arrived there, weather just perfect to us!

It is somewhere would make you want to stay one more day~ just too beautiful to be true. Even the fishes were fearless and play with us! How amazing was that?

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peggy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    94
    27
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Different, fun, good staff and heaps to do in the day trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Me and the girlfriend did the fitzroy island day trip with the sea kayaking option on 4th of dec and was def one of the highlights of our cairns holiday! We wanted to go somewhere different from the touristy green island so fitzroy island it was. While the price seemed expensive at first we found it great value after enjoying the island. the Kayaking tour was great fun thanks to the funny tourguide Jeff and was really informative with good facts about the island and a few bullcrap joke facts too haha
The sea kayaking goes for about 3 hrs takes u half way around the island to a nice secluded beach where u go snorkling all gear included and can even swim to little fitzroy island for a better snorkling spot.
Other activities on the island are the lighthouse and summit trail but it takes about 2hrs to do if your slow and u need to take water as nothing along the way and its hard work but great views from lighthouse and summit and barely anyone around

Helpful?
Thank benconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely location with easy snorkel access to coral/fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed this tour to Fitzroy Island - good boat trip out and kayak tour with friendly staff. The coral/fish are very good just meters off the beach, just as good as the trips out to the main reef itself. We paddle boarded, snorkelled and also used the ocean trampoline - a superb day out (albeit we had really good weather). Recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank A_Couple_On_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pick a Sunny Day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The weather unfortunately let us down on our day trip to Fitzroy Is, as we paid for the sea-kayaking to little Fitzroy Is and were really looking forward to snorkelling in areas only accessible by doing the kayaking. The salesperson in the the booking office in Cairns did a great job of selling this and though we really questioned him re the weather he assured us the way the winds were southerly & would not be a problem because the resort faces north and where you kayak is more protected. We were only beginners at this so didn't want anything too adventurous and the other 5 people doing it were also first timers. The wind and rain on this day really made it very difficult and the guide did her best to paddle up to a beach further away from the resort to an area where we could snorkel. Unfortunately the weather had stirred the water up and visiblity was not great. Needless to say we didn't get to Little Fitzroy Is and have lunch and snorkel in the promised cave etc. Our guide told us they very rarely do get there because of the winds ..... so much for the agent in Cairns! Once we paddled back to the beach shack with kayaks, we were told they would take us out in the glass bottom boats in the afternoon (not incl in our tour price of $134pp) to compensate for the shorter kayaking trip - great we thought - except the weather was so bad the glass bottom boats were cancelled as well. We were not offered even a small refund as a gesture of good will. Quite a few people we spoke to were annoyed with the disappointment of the day. Bottom line is I guess you just take pot luck on the weather and it is the tropics after all, so just be aware of this. The broken coral on this "beach" as mentioned in other reviews is really true - beware and make sure you have rubber sandals of wetshoes on as it is really, really hard to walk on!! The staff did their best with what they could offer in the conditions for the day, just disappointing, but on a sunny, less windy day would be great! Our opinion is that some of the "agents" in Cairns are only concerned in getting the sale and will talk it up to tourists to get their commission - we are not naive by any means and thought we asked all the appropriate questions, won't be taken again on this one - just get the ferry over and do the snorkelling yourself!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank deenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a good cheap day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

awesome little island perfect for some nice walks upto the summit for great views, or snorkelling or having a cheeky beer in the bar on the island!! all for $69 DONE DEAL!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dog_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzroy Island Adventures with Raging Thunder also viewed

 

Been to Fitzroy Island Adventures with Raging Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing