We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location with easy snorkel access to coral/fish”

Fitzroy Island Adventures with Raging Thunder
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.03*
and up
Fitzroy Island Day Trip from Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Attraction details
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely location with easy snorkel access to coral/fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed this tour to Fitzroy Island - good boat trip out and kayak tour with friendly staff. The coral/fish are very good just meters off the beach, just as good as the trips out to the main reef itself. We paddle boarded, snorkelled and also used the ocean trampoline - a superb day out (albeit we had really good weather). Recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank A_Couple_On_Holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    94
    27
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pick a Sunny Day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The weather unfortunately let us down on our day trip to Fitzroy Is, as we paid for the sea-kayaking to little Fitzroy Is and were really looking forward to snorkelling in areas only accessible by doing the kayaking. The salesperson in the the booking office in Cairns did a great job of selling this and though we really questioned him re the weather he assured us the way the winds were southerly & would not be a problem because the resort faces north and where you kayak is more protected. We were only beginners at this so didn't want anything too adventurous and the other 5 people doing it were also first timers. The wind and rain on this day really made it very difficult and the guide did her best to paddle up to a beach further away from the resort to an area where we could snorkel. Unfortunately the weather had stirred the water up and visiblity was not great. Needless to say we didn't get to Little Fitzroy Is and have lunch and snorkel in the promised cave etc. Our guide told us they very rarely do get there because of the winds ..... so much for the agent in Cairns! Once we paddled back to the beach shack with kayaks, we were told they would take us out in the glass bottom boats in the afternoon (not incl in our tour price of $134pp) to compensate for the shorter kayaking trip - great we thought - except the weather was so bad the glass bottom boats were cancelled as well. We were not offered even a small refund as a gesture of good will. Quite a few people we spoke to were annoyed with the disappointment of the day. Bottom line is I guess you just take pot luck on the weather and it is the tropics after all, so just be aware of this. The broken coral on this "beach" as mentioned in other reviews is really true - beware and make sure you have rubber sandals of wetshoes on as it is really, really hard to walk on!! The staff did their best with what they could offer in the conditions for the day, just disappointing, but on a sunny, less windy day would be great! Our opinion is that some of the "agents" in Cairns are only concerned in getting the sale and will talk it up to tourists to get their commission - we are not naive by any means and thought we asked all the appropriate questions, won't be taken again on this one - just get the ferry over and do the snorkelling yourself!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank deenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a good cheap day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

awesome little island perfect for some nice walks upto the summit for great views, or snorkelling or having a cheeky beer in the bar on the island!! all for $69 DONE DEAL!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dog_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Island Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I had never been to Fitzroy Island before but had been to Lowe Isle twice and thought the general area is beautiful. Each of these Island trips are similar but the beauty of Fitzroy Island is you arrive around 10.15am and the return leg doesn't leave until 4.30pm. It gives you so much time to explore, swim, snorkle and just relax. We took a picnic lunch but there are facilities to buy lunch though quite expensive I've been told. We saved $100.00 per person by going to Fitzroy Island compared to Lowe Isles (who supply lunch). Remember to take reef shoes or at least thongs as the beachs are all coral and rather uncomfortable to walk on. Raging Thunder boat and staff could not be faulted. This trip is suited to all ages of general fitness and swimming ability. May sure to check the weather and pick a good day to go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FreemoFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medemblik, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

In the morning the Ferry left right on time for Fitzroy Island. The staff were incredibly kind and very helpful. Once on the Island you get plenty of things do to. The water is clear blue and perfect for snorkeling. Also, there are quite a few hikes to the secret garden, the lighthouse and the summit. You do need a good level of fitness for those last ones though! Nudey beach, not really a nude-beach, is probably one of the most beautiful beaches I have seen in Australia so far. The breeze is perfect on a hot day. I will return to the island in a couple of weeks for another nice day!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisanne6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fitzroy Island Adventures with Raging Thunder also viewed

 

Been to Fitzroy Island Adventures with Raging Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing